Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New to Ota....


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   satguy79

satguy79

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 14 December 2010 - 06:07 PM

Quick confirmation needed...purchasing the Ota module for my 722k...want to confirm that I can record 2 sat shows with 2 Ota shows at the same time or record 2 sat shows and watch Ota show? Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 14 December 2010 - 08:54 PM

Can record to all 4 tuners and watch DVR, or record 2 sat and watch one of the OTAs

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#3 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 14 December 2010 - 10:55 PM

How bout recording 2 sat tuners and 1 OTA tuner, and watch the 2nd OTA tuner?

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#4 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,153 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 14 December 2010 - 11:26 PM

With a 722k, yes.

#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,010 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 15 December 2010 - 09:07 AM

IF you have the OTA module installed and scanned for OTA channels...

then any combination of all 4 tuners (2 SAT + 2 OTA) can be used at the same time.

You can record them all and watch a 5th thing pre-recorded on your DVR... or you can record any of the 3 and watch the 4th... and of course you could be recording all 4 and be watching one of those in-progress.

FYI, the 922 behaves the same way as the 722K.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#6 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 15 December 2010 - 11:21 AM

it would b nice if the rcvr could open up the pip while in dual mode, that the rcvr would b smart enough to open an OTA tuner since tv2 was in use.

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#7 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 15 December 2010 - 05:46 PM

it would b nice if the rcvr could open up the pip while in dual mode, that the rcvr would b smart enough to open an OTA tuner since tv2 was in use.


Yes, that would be nice.

One thing I have noticed is that the OTA tuners seem to have Record Plus enabled even though it is disabled for the Satellite tuners. I have seen two of my conflicting OTA timers, entered from TV1, record at once. :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver




spam firewall