Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

DishPro Switches


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 06:47 AM


Has anyone seen any pictures or any other info about these new switches/lnb's? The tech chat was somewhat vague on the issue of capabilities.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 08:08 AM


The DISHPro switches really aren't that complex. The output from a DISHPro LNBF is actually splittable. The only reason for a switch is to switch between satellites. The old method was a multiswitch. It actually had to both switch between satellites, and switch between polarities. The main advantages to the new system are ease of installation, and better install reliability (no more need to worry about the voltage not getting through). So it offers no real advantage to an existing install, but is an installer's or a new satellite owner's dream


#3 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 04:04 PM


www.pbase.com/image/222906
www.pbase.com/image/222907
www.pbase.com/image/222909
enjoy


#4 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 04:11 PM


Very nice, Thank you for sharing those pics with us.:)


#5 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 05:25 PM


Nice looking switch, too. I would assume that this onew reqires power, but I don't see any markings for an inserter... any info?


#6 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 05:28 PM


I don't know why it would need powered. There is no reason it should, but I don't know for sure. I do know I'd be very suprised if it needed power. That would defeat part of the purpose of stacked technology. Of course, knowing DISH - all things negative are possible!





spam firewall