Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

DishPro Switches


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 06:47 AM


Has anyone seen any pictures or any other info about these new switches/lnb's? The tech chat was somewhat vague on the issue of capabilities.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 08:08 AM


The DISHPro switches really aren't that complex. The output from a DISHPro LNBF is actually splittable. The only reason for a switch is to switch between satellites. The old method was a multiswitch. It actually had to both switch between satellites, and switch between polarities. The main advantages to the new system are ease of installation, and better install reliability (no more need to worry about the voltage not getting through). So it offers no real advantage to an existing install, but is an installer's or a new satellite owner's dream


#3 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 04:04 PM


www.pbase.com/image/222906
www.pbase.com/image/222907
www.pbase.com/image/222909
enjoy


#4 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 04:11 PM


Very nice, Thank you for sharing those pics with us.:)


#5 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 05:25 PM


Nice looking switch, too. I would assume that this onew reqires power, but I don't see any markings for an inserter... any info?


#6 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 18 February 2002 - 05:28 PM


I don't know why it would need powered. There is no reason it should, but I don't know for sure. I do know I'd be very suprised if it needed power. That would defeat part of the purpose of stacked technology. Of course, knowing DISH - all things negative are possible!





spam firewall