Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

MUST I upgrade to SWM/DECA hardware for Whole Home DVR?


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,338 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 22 December 2010 - 07:06 AM

So, I'm going to roll the dice and at least try it. If I run into performance or quality issues then I will go with DECA. And I will report back on my results. I'll be calling D* tomorrow to order the additional HD-DVR and get the ball rolling...

As several folks stated...there's no risk or problem using your own network (make sure when you call DirecTV you let them know its the "unsupported" MRV you wish to activate). You can always switch and have them install DECA in the future.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,706 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 22 December 2010 - 08:51 AM

Agreed, you are correct.

Again, both will work at this time.

However, when we find out why DECA becomes required for more things in 2011...guess who gets to be first to say "I told you so..."? :D:lol:


If it becomes required I hope that the CSRs and installers will know how to handle an order by that time. I tried to have it installed twice when it was cheaper now that it's double I'll stay with the cat-5. If they "require" it maybe that will lower the cost, they won't just say give us $250 or else.

#53 OFFLINE   mjwagner

mjwagner

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 521 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2005

Posted 22 December 2010 - 09:00 AM

... it is a 100Mbit network not GigE....


This will not be a problem as the Ethernet ports on the D boxes only support 100 Mbps anyway.
Mark

HR34-700, Epson PowerLite Pro Cinema 1080 UB Projector
HR21-200, Samsung UN-60ES8000
C31, Samsung PN-42A450
H25-700, Samsung LN-S3296D




Protected By... spam firewall...And...