Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP 722K - Sling Adapter Will Not Work


  • Please log in to reply
272 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Jerry56

Jerry56

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2010

Posted 18 January 2011 - 12:28 PM

When I try to access via my laptop and DRA, I don't get the option to watch live TV. When I try to access on my IPod, I know my Internet connection is working because when I select watch on IPhone, the blue TV light comes on the receiver comes on. If the red light on the sling adapter is on, it works flawlessly. If the red light is not on, I get a black screen that says unable to connect. As long as the red light is not on, it will not work. If I call customer service they say they are filling out a TSR and that I should get an update within 24 - 72 hours. The next day it will work, red light on, for about a day and then it quits. It hasn't worked for over about a week now.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,263 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 18 January 2011 - 08:00 PM

What browser are you using on your laptop? Chrome won't work without the IE extension.

#128 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 19 January 2011 - 05:38 PM

I didn't really do much except add the Sling Adapter tag to the account (some people swear that it is required for proper operation, but I think it is just to notify a CSR you have one). I also changed position of the receiver on the account (which has allowed them to show up on the equipment tag online) but I really don't think that was your issue. I think the cable change is where it got fixed, suggested by Stewart.



Still, your help is much appreciated! As was Stewart's suggestions! Thanks to you both!


This seems to be a common issue. I know the Sling Adapter "confiscates" the feed to TV2 and should make TV2 display the screen saver. Does it do that, or do they both operate at the same time? Another silly question, but one I wanted to ask... When accessing DRA, is there anything scheduled to record on TV2 at the same time?


I had some time during lunch today to tinker around w/ the phone - I wasn't at home so no access to the receiver or the TV. What I found though is that the problem appears to be accessing DVR events only. Live TV works...there is a slight delay in which the last channel watched will start, but then w/in a few seconds switches to the channel I selected. DVR events though...it doesnt want to switch over. To answer your question though...nothing scheduled to record that I know of. Not sure what you mean though about a screen saver on TV2? I don't have the receiver connected to any other TVs...just one...if that may answer the question?

#129 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 19 January 2011 - 05:45 PM

One thing I noticed when I went into DRA under the receiver tab was this: L672RJQD-N 41
BOOTING

There was no option to watch TV on the web. There was a green light on the left side of the screen that is green meaning that the receiver is online. I tried hooking directly to the dsl modem and there is no difference.

Any thoughts?


Wow, Jerry your issues are almost identical to what I was getting, although I think as we saw before we were each getting a different status and sling adapter version. I know its been discussed quite a bit, but as Stewart mentioned, maybe the wifi adapter is the answer. At this point, its probably worth a shot...if you can.

#130 OFFLINE   trmpt4him

trmpt4him

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2011

Posted 20 January 2011 - 10:32 AM

I took the powerline adapters upstairs and connected my computers to it and verified the powerline adapters were working. I then did a reset on the wifi router back to factory defaults. I also made sure that the router's nat was open. I then came back downstairs plugged in the powerline adapter and went into settings and did a connection reset in dish. and then I had a ip address and the light on the adapter came on. I also did a web connect and it gave me a code to enter online which I did. I can now watch the programs on my phone. Howere I have not had luck watching on mycomputer. I also have to do a connection reset several times a day as it seems to lock out the connection and gives me a error on my phone saying the steps needed to setup on my receiver box. After I do the connection reset it seems to work fine for a while. I also noticed that while I am watching a program that the sling adapter light starts to blink to let you know it is in use.

#131 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 23 January 2011 - 10:36 AM

Thought I'd share this...not sure if I was the only one having issues with watching DVR events on my iphone...

I've got a 722k (only hooked up to 1 TV) and until today couldn't get DVR events to play on the iphone at all. It works great once I switched to dual mode before trying to watch anything, but since I was home, it wasn't an issue. After testing this for awhile this morning, here's what I *think* I've found (at the risk of stating the obvious), and of course none of this may be set in stone:

- If the receiver is in single mode, you can't watch DVR events at all on the iphone;
- If the receiver is in single mode, it looks like you can watch any live TV you want (though it might not work if someones already recording one channel and watching another - didn't test this yet);
- If the receiver is in dual mode before you login to Dish Remote Access, you can access DVR events without any problem;
- If the receiver is in dual mode, it looks like you can watch any live TV event without issue.

The problem with being in dual mode though all the time, is that the anyone wanting to watch TV on that receiver is limited to watching one channel and only being able to record the same channel they're watching (of course I think that's the same dilemma regardless of whether an iphone is being used or not when its in dual mode).

Anyway, there ya go for what its worth!

#132 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 23 January 2011 - 11:15 AM

- If the receiver is in dual mode before you login to Dish Remote Access, you can access DVR events without any problem;


Bingo! That works on my 722. First time I have gotten a DVR event to play on my iPhone.

It works on an iPad without having to do this.

It is not acceptable to me to leave the receiver in dual mode all the time but hopefully Dish can use this data to fix whatever is wrong.

#133 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 23 January 2011 - 02:58 PM

It works on an iPad without having to do this.

It is not acceptable to me to leave the receiver in dual mode all the time but hopefully Dish can use this data to fix whatever is wrong.


Totally agree. Tony, any ideas about this...if you're still monitoring this thread?

I wonder if I could use this to convince my wife its time for an iPad? "Honey, to really take advantage of my $100 sling adapter, I need the $700 iPad! Whattya say!??" :D

#134 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:20 PM

I wonder if I could use this to convince my wife its time for an iPad? "Honey, to really take advantage of my $100 sling adapter, I need the $700 iPad! Whattya say!??" :D


Just say it is for her. :grin:

#135 OFFLINE   TonyT@DISH Network

TonyT@DISH Network

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 23 January 2011 - 10:13 PM

Tony, any ideas about this...if you're still monitoring this thread?


Always monitoring LOL. I think the destructions say the receiver must be in Dual Mode (as it takes over TV2) in order for the app to run correctly and the Sling Adapter to function correctly. I understand it may not be "convenient" but the mode should not change anything if the receiver is not connected to a second TV and you can operate it in DUAL MODE same as single (maybe a few menu options to get it 100%). The 922 Sling function works very similar to the adapter. Dual mode is required for Sling functions to work 100% the way they should. A common issue we ran into here was the "MODE REMINDER" message randomly via the app on both units. The app has a SAT button on Droid (hopefully on all).

I certainly agree though that two things should change here. Changing modes should be a menu option so that it can be changed without a trip to the box, and full menu integration should be allowed as well. I think the issue with doing that was that the phone may not be able to handle all that in the operating memory or app size would be huge using the phones memory. I haven't really checked to see if it will run on SD card, so bear with me. I will do that when I can see my phone.

BTW, if you can talk your wife into $700 for an adapter to work (after spending the $100 for the adapter) you, my friend, are a Jedi.

Edited by TonyT@DISH Network, 23 January 2011 - 10:19 PM.

Anthony Thomas
DISH Network Customer Service
2:45PM to 11:15PM Sunday-Thursday

#136 OFFLINE   Eudemis

Eudemis

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2011

Posted 23 January 2011 - 11:14 PM

Hi Tony, I appreciate your response but I cannot send any PM's yet. I'm unable to get any online viewing when I click "watch on the web". I get the same error message that Duck did, "Our systems are being updated (7). Please wait a few minutes, then try again." Of course, nothing is resolved by waiting. I believe the problem might be updating related simply because so many people have resolved their problem by unpluging their sling device and then later reconnecting it. I haven't been able to get it to work at all yet for online viewing. Everything else seems to be working well. I also have a Vip 722k. If you have any suggestions please let me know.
Tom

#137 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 24 January 2011 - 08:29 AM

Always monitoring LOL. I think the destructions say the receiver must be in Dual Mode (as it takes over TV2) in order for the app to run correctly and the Sling Adapter to function correctly. I understand it may not be "convenient" but the mode should not change anything if the receiver is not connected to a second TV and you can operate it in DUAL MODE same as single (maybe a few menu options to get it 100%). The 922 Sling function works very similar to the adapter. Dual mode is required for Sling functions to work 100% the way they should. A common issue we ran into here was the "MODE REMINDER" message randomly via the app on both units. The app has a SAT button on Droid (hopefully on all).


I have the Quick Start Guide for the Sling Adapter in front of me and it does not say anywhere to manually put the receiver in dual mode.

The act of connecting to the Sling Adapter automatically changes the receiver to dual mode. After disconnecting the receiver reverts back to single mode if that is where it was.

The problem is the that only for the iPhone do we have to manually put the receiver in dual mode in order to view DVR content. Watching live TV works just fine.

#138 OFFLINE   LtMunst

LtMunst

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,264 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2005

Posted 24 January 2011 - 02:37 PM

Changing modes should be a menu option so that it can be changed without a trip to the box


This has been on my wish list since the 942 days. :)

#139 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 24 January 2011 - 06:41 PM

Just say it is for her. :grin:


HAHA!! Funny you say that...I tried that 2 years ago at Christmas when I got her a laptop! :lol:

#140 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 24 January 2011 - 06:51 PM

The act of connecting to the Sling Adapter automatically changes the receiver to dual mode. After disconnecting the receiver reverts back to single mode if that is where it was.


When I was toying around with this yesterday I checked that very thing. At least on mine, when I stopped playing whatever I was watching on my phone (only with DVR events after first manually changing the receiver to dual mode) then closed out of the Dish Remote Access app, my receiver remained in dual mode.

The problem is the that only for the iPhone do we have to manually put the receiver in dual mode in order to view DVR content. Watching live TV works just fine.


Exactly. It must be, as Tony described, an issue with the phone being able to handle it. Still frustrating though!

#141 OFFLINE   TonyT@DISH Network

TonyT@DISH Network

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 24 January 2011 - 07:52 PM

Not sure its the phone and I think I need to clarify something here. I got the instructions and the tech spec stuff from a class we attended where we heard about how the sling adapter worked. I guess I assumed too much. The sling adapter takes over TV2 and if in single mode there is no TV2. That being said, single mode plays like TV1 is using the second tuner as well (or at least it is seen that way by the app) and therefore there is not legitimate all-access control over the box. You are basically accessing it as PIP. When on TV1 and PIP is up, get the PIP to change to a DVR event without toggling what's on the main screen. The issue here is not the capability of the adapter, it is the capability of the box which has been that way since inception. The app, when the box is in single mode, is basically a remote to change the PIP channel.

I will say I was not aware of any "auto-change" function on the receiver and perhaps that may be a step in determining if the receiver sees the device or not. Attaching the adapter while in single mode, as you put it, should make it automatically drop out of single mode to dual. I did not see anything on this end about it doing that but hey, our instructions and yours are apparently different.

I do not think the Iphone has any limits to using this app at all, but I know that some problems are specific to that platform, just as some are specific to Android or Windows platform phones. I have been working on an account that can access the app through any other mobile device and get it on a PC but the app on the Iphone and Ipad (his two devices or the two I have access to) crashes after the point when it checks settings. Other accounts on the same device work fine. So right now on that platform, I am looking into a specific conflict between his account, the app, and those two devices. Talk about strange.

Edited by TonyT@DISH Network, 24 January 2011 - 08:14 PM.

Anthony Thomas
DISH Network Customer Service
2:45PM to 11:15PM Sunday-Thursday

#142 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 24 January 2011 - 08:15 PM

Not sure its the phone and I think I need to clarify something here. I got the instructions and the tech spec stuff from a class we attended where we heard about how the sling adapter worked. I guess I assumed too much. The sling adapter takes over TV2 and if in single mode there is no TV2. That being said, single mode plays like TV1 is using the second tuner as well (or at least it is seen that way by the app) and therefore there is not legitimate all-access control over the box (PIP stuff basically).

I will say I was not aware of any "auto-change" function on the receiver and perhaps that may be a step in determining if the receiver sees the device or not. Attaching the adapter while in single mode, as you put it, should make it automatically drop out of single mode to dual. I did not see anything on this end about it doing that but hey, our instructions and yours are apparently different.


Sorry, I'm not saying 'attaching the adapter' causes the change to dual mode. Using the adapter remotely, the receiver changes from single to dual on the fly. For instance:

My 722 is in single mode.
I go to the Dish website and pull up the contents of that receiver.
If I chose 'Watch live TV' the receiver will switch to dual mode and the channel will start playing in my browser.
I can also play a DVR event instead of 'Watch Live TV'.
When I stop the playback of either Live TV or the DVR event, the receiver changes back to single mode.

If I start out in dual mode, the receiver will remain in dual mode after slinging is complete.

The app on the iPad works exactly the same.

The app on the iPhone will do almost the same but just will not play back a DVR event. The receiver switches modes but doesn't play back the DVR event, it just shows whatever channel tuner 2 is tuned to.

Is that more clear?

#143 OFFLINE   TonyT@DISH Network

TonyT@DISH Network

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 24 January 2011 - 08:26 PM

Got it.. But not more clear. That is to say I understand the issue better, but now REALLY have no idea why its different. Maybe something in the way the networks connect (mobile phone 3G/4G versus Ipad maybe?). If the Iphone is on wi-fi on the same network does the receiver do the swap?
Anthony Thomas
DISH Network Customer Service
2:45PM to 11:15PM Sunday-Thursday

#144 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 24 January 2011 - 08:56 PM

Got it.. But not more clear. That is to say I understand the issue better, but now REALLY have no idea why its different. Maybe something in the way the networks connect (mobile phone 3G/4G versus Ipad maybe?). If the Iphone is on wi-fi on the same network does the receiver do the swap?


There is a dedicated iPad app. Something subtle may be different?

My testing is with all these devices on my home network.

#145 OFFLINE   andrew40

andrew40

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 25 January 2011 - 02:00 PM

There is a dedicated iPad app. Something subtle may be different?

My testing is with all these devices on my home network.


Same here...I was running off my wifi when I was testing things over the weekend, but I'm still seeing the same issues when using 3G. If I could only get my hands on an iPad I could test that as well! :)

#146 OFFLINE   nightfly85

nightfly85

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 26 January 2011 - 01:52 PM

I have the sling adapter on my 722. I access it via iPhone wifi/3G and wirelessly via laptop and wired via desktop.

I get the same behavior regardless...My 722 is by default in single mode; when using the sling adapter to view live TV or view DVR content, it switches to dual mode. When I stop watching live TV/DVR it switches back to single mode.

My older version of my iphone Dish app allows me to watch DVR and live TV. I also have a SQ/HQ option (HQ is higher quality and does provide a better picture). On my wife's phone, she has the latest app and she cannot play any DVR content - only live TV. When she goes to play some DVR content, it always just shows whatever channel was last on TV2 live.

When I first got the sling adapter, everything generally worked ok - there are/were some quirks...where for whatever reason the dish software couldn't "find" my 722. But after maybe a minute, it always could eventually "find" it.

Recently, though, that problem as gotten worse. Via iphone wifi/3g, laptop wifi, desktop wired - the dish software (via IE or Firefox or iphone app) can't find my 722 receiver. I can ping it from all devices and it is up; the receiver says it's connected, but the apps can't find it.

After a bit, sometimes, something changes and the apps can find the receiver - they are happy. I use the sling adapter for a bit and then shut it down. If I go back in 15 minutes later the apps can't find the 722 again.

Frustrating. It may be related to the fact that dish doesn't think my receiver is registered as a week or two ago, I was getting prompted to register the receiver when I first loaded dish anywhere app on my PCs. Wen through the Web Activation process several times over a period of days and finally it stuck - but it has me thinking that my problems could be related to some Dish-side configuration issue.

#147 OFFLINE   nightfly85

nightfly85

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 26 January 2011 - 07:20 PM

Thought I'd share this...not sure if I was the only one having issues with watching DVR events on my iphone...

I've got a 722k (only hooked up to 1 TV) and until today couldn't get DVR events to play on the iphone at all. It works great once I switched to dual mode before trying to watch anything, but since I was home, it wasn't an issue. After testing this for awhile this morning, here's what I *think* I've found (at the risk of stating the obvious), and of course none of this may be set in stone:

- If the receiver is in single mode, you can't watch DVR events at all on the iphone;
- If the receiver is in single mode, it looks like you can watch any live TV you want (though it might not work if someones already recording one channel and watching another - didn't test this yet);
- If the receiver is in dual mode before you login to Dish Remote Access, you can access DVR events without any problem;
- If the receiver is in dual mode, it looks like you can watch any live TV event without issue.

The problem with being in dual mode though all the time, is that the anyone wanting to watch TV on that receiver is limited to watching one channel and only being able to record the same channel they're watching (of course I think that's the same dilemma regardless of whether an iphone is being used or not when its in dual mode).

Anyway, there ya go for what its worth!


This is clearly a DRA issue as the older version of the iPhone app that I run doesn't have this problem. V 2.2.49/1.0.11

#148 OFFLINE   TonyT@DISH Network

TonyT@DISH Network

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 26 January 2011 - 07:45 PM

There is a dedicated iPad app. Something subtle may be different?

My testing is with all these devices on my home network.


Itunes shows the app as all inclusive between Iphone, Ipad, and Ipod Touch. Version 2.2.71 It does say it requires iOS4.1 or later. Anyone not running that? Apparently it is common across all devices that if you do not sync them they will not download any updates. Perhaps those with the Iphone app not working could do that or verify the iOS. Same with the Ipad? Between the Iphones that are working I show version iOS4.2.1 (which is likely the most current, but I am not sure). Per research 4.3 is beta as of January 12th this year (not sure if limited release issue like Android 2.2 was on my phone during Beta). Is it possible you have that? I also found that the iOS is universal across all Apple mobile devices, but that of course is subject to the sources I found that information using.

This of course is not necessarily the cure for any of this, this is more curiosity on my part. If it is possible you have an older iOS that the app does not support or a new one in Beta, its possible a simple update will correct the fix. Again, theoretical and sheer curiosity at this point.

The problem with being in dual mode though all the time, is that the anyone wanting to watch TV on that receiver is limited to watching one channel and only being able to record the same channel they're watching (of course I think that's the same dilemma regardless of whether an iphone is being used or not when its in dual mode).


This should not be the case at all. Enable Record Plus to TV2 (Menu- 8-5) and all should go fine. It works exactly the same as having the receiver in single mode, except of course that if there is a TV2 it is not doing the same thing as TV1.

Edited by TonyT@DISH Network, 26 January 2011 - 08:04 PM.

Anthony Thomas
DISH Network Customer Service
2:45PM to 11:15PM Sunday-Thursday

#149 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,376 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 26 January 2011 - 08:30 PM

...
This should not be the case at all. Enable Record Plus to TV2 (Menu- 8-5) and all should go fine. It works exactly the same as having the receiver in single mode, except of course that if there is a TV2 it is not doing the same thing as TV1.

I mean this politely and with all due respect, but this is not correct.

#150 OFFLINE   TonyT@DISH Network

TonyT@DISH Network

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2011

Posted 26 January 2011 - 09:23 PM

I mean this politely and with all due respect, but this is not correct.


Explain please. The issue is that he cannot change the receiver channel in dual mode when recording. If this option is enabled, a timer set AFTER this setting is changed will automatically default to TV2 (or whichever TV it is set for) and the opposite TV can change channels as normal (I guess I left this out as the explanation for how it works is on the setting page itself). Also, if recording the "remainder of an event" you can choose which location to record to in Dual mode.

He has been operating in single mode and switching to Dual Mode permanently has limited functionality at the TV when recording. This is a work around, but if you could explain how this is incorrect I would appreciate it. It would be easier if there is only one TV, and it could default to a particular TV all the time. Clarity on whether or not there is a second TV connected could be beneficial, but you could still do it this way and it operates as I described.

Edited by TonyT@DISH Network, 26 January 2011 - 09:32 PM.
Incomplete

Anthony Thomas
DISH Network Customer Service
2:45PM to 11:15PM Sunday-Thursday




Protected By... spam firewall...And...