Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP 722K - Sling Adapter Will Not Work


  • Please log in to reply
272 replies to this topic

#201 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 06:59 PM

No red light! I pluged in a few times and each time I get the message on the TV saying "Sling installed now enjoy"

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#202 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 07:54 PM

No red light! I pluged in a few times and each time I get the message on the TV saying "Sling installed now enjoy"


The sling came with some information sheets. One of them is titled "Troubleshooting", have you checked all the items on that sheet and run the connection test already?

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#203 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 07:59 PM

Hello Marry,

Can the Sling be pluged into a powered USB hub? Since the 722K only has one USB in the back and I am using an external harddrive for the same unit and its working in the powered hub?

#204 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:30 PM

Hello Marry,

Can the Sling be pluged into a powered USB hub? Since the 722K only has one USB in the back and I am using an external harddrive for the same unit and its working in the powered hub?


Hi!! Yes, the receiver will not power any USB devices, so it should be in a Powered USB hub!

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#205 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:35 PM

Thay is how I have it (pluged into the powered hub) no red light on top of slig. The harddrive is also pluged into the powered hub and works.

#206 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:37 PM

Did you run the connectivity test?

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#207 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:43 PM

Yes I have internet and phone line conected.

I found the watch live tv: installed what it needed to install. I get "Error 31"

#208 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:47 PM

Receiver is in dual mode.

If I plug the sling to the only usb plug in the back og the 722k red light comes on.

#209 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:49 PM

It is connecting properly without the HUB connected?

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#210 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:52 PM

I did not try that, but I Have one recording going on would that stop the sling from working if its in "Dual mode"? If the external harddrive works in the powered hub should not the sling?

#211 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 08:56 PM

Is the receiver currently recording at TV2 because that could be exactly the issue? I have mine connected to a powered USB Hub with the external hard drive so that should not be the problem. I have not had any reports of it not working with any particular hubs.

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#212 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:13 PM

yes, it was recording on TV2. That recording has stoped and I still can't get the sling to power up?

#213 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:14 PM

going to try it pluged direct to the back of the 722k now!

#214 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:16 PM

Ok, let's bypass the HUB for now. Please connect the sling to the USB port on the front of the receiver. Let's get it working, then we can work on the hub issue. Also please place the receiver in the single mode! Thanks!

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#215 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:29 PM

Hello Marry,
I did not get your last message before doing what I did.

I plugged the sling directly to the back USB and it is working! Do you still want me to try the front USB? I really don’t know why I cannot use the sling in the powered hub since the external harddrive works in it. I am able to see all recorded movies on the harddrive using that hub on internet. It’s just not turning on the sling. Any ideas on why the sling is not working in the powered hub?

#216 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:32 PM

No, you are good. I just wanted to keep it simple. it works so now can you try a different port on the hub. Try the one that has the EHD as we know that one works already
!

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#217 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:43 PM

No go!

It’s a six plug USB by Belkin and none on them powers the sling. I even unplugged the harddrive to see if the hub had power issues.

#218 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:47 PM

No go!

It’s a six plug USB by Belkin and none on them powers the sling. I even unplugged the harddrive to see if the hub had power issues.


I am sorry! I do not understand why it is not working in the hub either. I would hook it up and I will try to research the hub issue further. Do you have a model# on the Belkin Hub?

Mary Catherine Brady
Social Media Business Operations Analyst

 

 


#219 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:48 PM

the hub is old about three years old. Does the hub need to be 2.0 or higher. Just over thinking maybe.

#220 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 09:56 PM

Hello again, its a Belkin powered hub. 7-port hub 1.1 model F5U027

What speed in the 722K usb?

#221 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,298 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:07 PM

It might need to be a USB 2.0 hub if it isn't one...

Also... not all USB hubs are created equally. As we have discussed before, for other reasons... the USB spec is not firmly defined regarding power... so it is possible to have a "powered" USB hub that does not provide sufficient power to connected devices.

As an example... I have an iMac, a powered USB hub, an iPad, and an iPhone.

My iPhone will connect via hub or direct to the iMac. My iPad will do the same.

BUT...

My iPad will only charge when directly connected to the iMac. The iPad will not charge through my powered hub. My iPhone, however, will charge via the hub.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#222 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,269 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:10 PM

You forgot about software what is controlling the charge - your ipad build that way, not the hubs.

#223 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:11 PM

That is my thinking also. This hub I have is 1.1 so its fine for the harddrive but won't power the sling in any of the usb plugs. I am thinking I need a new hub that is powered and at less 2.0 high speed.

#224 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:13 PM

any takes on which hub to get?

#225 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,269 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 May 2011 - 10:18 PM

I would go with 2.0 only; and with power connector (better with power adapter, just remember the rule: 5VDC and 0.5A x number of ports, for seven - 3.5 A).




Protected By... spam firewall...And...