Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HDMI for Xbox 360


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,284 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:34 AM

My sister just bought my nephew an Xbox 360 4GB and Kinect for Xmas. When I was over there, I saw he had it hooked up to their plasma TV with just composite cables. I'm sure it is capable of HD, but I don't know if it needs a proprietary connector or if I can just get him any old HDMI cable from monoprice. His birthday is coming up on Jan 8.
Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,519 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:38 AM

It uses the standard HDMI cables.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:23 PM

MS cheaped out with the recent refresh and doesn't supply any type of HD cable in the box. They used to include component cables but since they added the HDMI port they've skipped that entirely and just give you the composite.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#4 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:32 PM

MS cheaped out with the recent refresh and doesn't supply any type of HD cable in the box. They used to include component cables but since they added the HDMI port they've skipped that entirely and just give you the composite.


It includes a composite/component combo cable. Which is proprietary. And has an hdmi port as previously stated.
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#5 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 03 January 2011 - 09:45 PM

MS cheaped out with the recent refresh and doesn't supply any type of HD cable in the box. They used to include component cables but since they added the HDMI port they've skipped that entirely and just give you the composite.


It's not really cheaping out. Most hdmi devices do not come with a cable. They include the component cables since they are proprietary.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#6 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 04 January 2011 - 08:28 AM

No, they don't anymore.

The new Xbox 360 4GB console with Kinect has built-in wi-fi, a black wireless controller, a standard definition composite A/V cable, a Kinect Sensor, the Kinect Adventures game, and even comes with a free one-month Xbox LIVE Gold Membership.


Not even on the 250GB model

Xbox 360 Composite A/V cable: Use your Xbox 360 on standard-definition televisions using this connection over traditional composite connectors. Play high-quality audio with the included stereo connector.


That's what I meant by cheaping out: they're only tossing you composite cables now.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#7 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,881 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:02 AM

It's not really cheaping out. Most hdmi devices do not come with a cable.


I still say Monster pays manufacturers to not put cables in with their devices. :)

#8 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:12 AM

I don't see it as cheaping out... I look at it as controlling costs.

Since the inclusion of the HDMI port, the VAST majority of people buying a XBOX360 now, are going to go HDMI.

What HDMI should they include? a 3ft? 6ft? 9ft? 12ft? so on.

They include the Composite connector, so you at least at a minimum can hook it up to any TV built in say the last 10 years almost. And you can use that connector for the analog outputs for head sets.

What if they included the Component connector in every box... that is a waste.
What they should do though, is lower the cost of that connector to a reasonable price. I believe it is is still like $30 or something like that.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#9 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 04 January 2011 - 09:13 AM

I still say Monster pays manufacturers to not put cables in with their devices. :)


I know the :) is there...

But I don't think it is Monster... but just about everyone one of their retailers probably are on board with that, and is probably one of the major reasons why most components don't include these cables anymore.

Since we all know that "MONSTER" markup on these cables. (pun intended)
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#10 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,370 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 16 January 2011 - 01:54 PM

FWIW, i have an original XBOX 360 without HDMI.

That said, are there any advantages to the HDMI solution?

#11 OFFLINE   mutelight

mutelight

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 16 January 2011 - 02:17 PM

FWIW, i have an original XBOX 360 without HDMI.

That said, are there any advantages to the HDMI solution?


Upscaling of DVDs and 1080p resolution for HD DVDs. (RIP HD DVD)

Then there is the single cable solution for 1080p and 5.1 but as far as game IQ, there are nominal advantages.
HR22-100 50" Panasonic V10 Plasma 1080p (networked)
HR22-100 108" Panasonic AE4000 1080p (networked)
H21-100 65" Panasonic VT30 (networked)

Sirius Stiletto 2 (Premium Web)
..::Main Theater Room Pictures::..

#12 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 16 January 2011 - 07:33 PM

Upscaling of DVDs and 1080p resolution for HD DVDs. (RIP HD DVD)

Then there is the single cable solution for 1080p and 5.1 but as far as game IQ, there are nominal advantages.


I just use the VGA cable and get the same thing.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#13 OFFLINE   mutelight

mutelight

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 17 January 2011 - 10:21 AM

I just use the VGA cable and get the same thing.


Minus the audio portion and also VGA will enable VESA modes on TVs, disabling a lot of the image processing you paid for in the display.
HR22-100 50" Panasonic V10 Plasma 1080p (networked)
HR22-100 108" Panasonic AE4000 1080p (networked)
H21-100 65" Panasonic VT30 (networked)

Sirius Stiletto 2 (Premium Web)
..::Main Theater Room Pictures::..

#14 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 17 January 2011 - 02:19 PM

On an original Xbox, you'd be using either Stereo or optical cables for the audio anyway; it'll still upsample everything to 1080p from the Xbox so you're not losing anything really.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#15 OFFLINE   ncxcstud

ncxcstud

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 591 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2007

Posted 18 January 2011 - 03:12 PM

Upscaling of DVDs and 1080p resolution for HD DVDs. (RIP HD DVD)

Then there is the single cable solution for 1080p and 5.1 but as far as game IQ, there are nominal advantages.


Component cables can do that too if your TV supports it :)
40" Samsung LCD - LN40B640 (living room)
42" Samsung DLP - HLS4266W
DirecTV HR20-700 Receiver
DirecTV H24-100 Receiver
DirecTV HR24-100 Receiver
Pastor of All Saints Lutheran Church in Mason, MI
XBOX Live, Battle.net, and PSN gamertags - ncxcstud

#16 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:13 PM

Component cables can do that too if your TV supports it :)


Component will push 1080p for games, but upscaling DVDs is disabled on analog outputs.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#17 OFFLINE   mutelight

mutelight

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:27 PM

Component will push 1080p for games, but upscaling DVDs is disabled on analog outputs.


Correct, DVDs will only play at 480p over component. However, even when the 360 upscales DVD video to 1080p, it is nothing to write home about. With PS3s and an Oppo to choose from, I never consider the 360 for any video playback.

Also, you are correct about optical as well, there is zero advantage to using toslink over HDMI outside of having a single cable. The 360 only supports Dolby Digital, DTS, and 2 channel PCM, all which carry over optical.
HR22-100 50" Panasonic V10 Plasma 1080p (networked)
HR22-100 108" Panasonic AE4000 1080p (networked)
H21-100 65" Panasonic VT30 (networked)

Sirius Stiletto 2 (Premium Web)
..::Main Theater Room Pictures::..

#18 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,370 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 February 2011 - 09:29 AM

I can tell you that my ancient XBOX360 is really noisy. The drive is loudest, but the fan is pretty loud too. Any improvement in the new generation?

#19 OFFLINE   JeffChap

JeffChap

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2007

Posted 09 February 2011 - 05:40 PM

I'm on my third 360 due to red ring issues, and each one has been progressively quieter than the previous. My first one sounded like a hair dryer.

#20 ONLINE   richall01

richall01

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 283 posts
  • LocationSouth Georgia
Joined: Sep 30, 2007

Posted 09 February 2011 - 05:56 PM

Hay, why don't they give an HDTV to play the Xbox on or some games to play them on?




spam firewall