Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Compression Connector help


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 08 January 2011 - 04:59 PM

Ok,
in my new planned SWM system, i have compression connectors. On most of them, the dialectric is not flush (a few milimeters under) with the center ring. Is this really a problem??

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   futurerebeldr

futurerebeldr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 84 posts
Joined: Jun 08, 2010

Posted 08 January 2011 - 05:15 PM

No. this should not be a problem whatsoever. Just make sure that none of the wire braiding, or diaelectric, is touching the center copper conductor. Do this and everything should work fine.

#3 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 08 January 2011 - 05:20 PM

thanks, also each line has 2 3ghz barrels on it (one in the line [I used old PrimeStar wire in part of the run:lol:], and one in the wall plate. will this pose another problem?

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,564 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 08 January 2011 - 06:27 PM

As long as the connectors are good and there is no corrosion on the barrels, you should be fine.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   liquidctv

liquidctv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 11 January 2011 - 08:36 PM

Really, gapping is not a problem? Gapping is nearly the #1 problem. It doesn't always cause signal issues, but I've seen it take down TV's, so I replace gapped fittings every time.

Barrels are OK. I have not seen them affect signal in any number (unless water damaged).

FYI, the tools you need to replace fittings are a stripper ($10-15), crimper ($20), and the fittings themselves. Can be found at Home Depot. I see a lot of push-on fittings because ppl don't want to spend $30 on tools lol. Compared to some of the other tools we use, these are a no-brainer, cost wise.




spam firewall