Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD DVR recordings to PC?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   maverick22

maverick22

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 11 January 2011 - 06:29 AM

I have noticed a couple of old threads on this..didn't see anything new.

I have a HD DVR in one room, and I have my PC in another room. Is there anyway maybe I could force recordings to an external hard drive, and then take my external hard drive to the PC and put the recordings there?

What type of format are DirecTV's recordings in? an "editable for PC" format?

I switched to D*TV just a few days ago. I was using the coax plugged from the wall to PC to do recordings in Media Center. I guess Time Warner cut that off though (yesterday).

I am looking for another way to record to PC now OR just get D*TV files to PC.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   say-what

say-what

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,646 posts
  • LocationNew Orleans
Joined: Dec 13, 2006

Posted 11 January 2011 - 06:44 AM

Only way to do this is to use a video capture device and connect that to the outputs of the DVR and record in real time.

#3 OFFLINE   Milkman

Milkman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,055 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 11 January 2011 - 06:58 AM

Not sure if you are aware of this service, but:

http://www.directv.c...logy/directv2pc

This will require your DVR to be plugged into the same network as your PC.

Gator fan for LIFE!!!!
My current setup can be found here!


#4 OFFLINE   maverick22

maverick22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 11 January 2011 - 07:14 AM

Not sure if you are aware of this service, but:

http://www.directv.c...logy/directv2pc

This will require your DVR to be plugged into the same network as your PC.


That looks pretty neat. Looks like you can't record though since they're just streams.

#5 OFFLINE   dualsub2006

dualsub2006

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 805 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2007

Posted 11 January 2011 - 07:54 AM

That looks pretty neat. Looks like you can't record though since they're just streams.


You are streaming from the DVR to your PC. What's more, the D* software disables (or so they say) screen capture and recording. I've yet to find something that I've wanted a copy of badly enough to try to figure out any way around it. With every movie channel, Netflix and even Redbox in a pinch I'm pretty satisfied.

Given what TiVo and Dish do with allowing you to move recordings to a PC or even a mobile device I would think that D* would have to do something with this eventually. Given the contentious relationship that exists between the content providers and the content aggregators I am hopeful that D* will say f it and open up as fully as their contracts will allow them to.

#6 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 11 January 2011 - 08:39 AM

What type of format are DirecTV's recordings in? an "editable for PC" format?


They're in a Linux-based file system and are heavily encrypted, so, no.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#7 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,860 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 11 January 2011 - 08:42 AM

The only way to get to an "editable for PC" format would be an analog capture device, as post #2 says.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#8 OFFLINE   maverick22

maverick22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 11 January 2011 - 08:51 AM

Well my PC has a capture card/Tuner. It's just in the other room as the DirecTV receiver.

That's the one thing I like about Time Warner. You don't have to have a receiver for every room. You can just plug a coax into the wall and at least you get basic cable channels. I was doing this with my PC as well with Media Center. I also have a fitness room with a small TV that was just coax to the wall. That only gets like 14 local channels now.

I had no idea Time Warner had control over that. I guess they "pulled the plug."
My Internet's running through the same coax as my PVR setup was. Now I'm only getting those same 14 channels on my PVR. Sucks!

#9 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 11 January 2011 - 11:25 AM

You're lucky you still get ANY analog channels. Many areas have had their cable companies switch to 100% digital already, which means analog TVs all need a converter box, and TVs with digital tuners need a converter box to get anything but locals.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#10 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,345 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 11 January 2011 - 11:46 AM

I use the Hauppage HDPVR. It will capture analog HD from my DVRs to my pc. They cost less than $200.
my setup here

#11 OFFLINE   maverick22

maverick22

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 11 January 2011 - 11:47 AM

I use the Hauppage HDPVR. It will capture analog HD from my DVRs to my pc. They cost less than $200.


Do you have a link to one?

Thanks

#12 OFFLINE   Ganome_Danome

Ganome_Danome

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 19 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2009

Posted 11 January 2011 - 12:39 PM

Do you have a link to one?

Thanks


http://www.hauppauge...data_hdpvr.html

I have one....it's by no means an elegant solution, but it does work.




spam firewall