Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC v7028 - Issues & Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
220 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Smthkd

Smthkd

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 925 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2004

Posted 14 January 2011 - 06:42 PM

Still got my original key! Installing now!
Media/Family Room:
Panasonic TC-P65S1 Plasma , Toshiba XA2 (28 HD DVD's),Sony 60gig PS3 (80 Blu-Ray/16 Games), Onkyo 705, Infinity CC2, 4 Infinity RS5, 2 Infinity Overture 3,Velodyne DDS12, Directv HR20,Monster Power HTS2500 MKII, SlingBox ProHD
Master Bedroom:
Hitachi 55HDS69 Plasma, Sony STR-DA4ES, Toshiba A2, Directv - H21
Seating Room:
Panasonic 34" HDtv, Toshiba A2, Directv H21

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,651 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 06:43 PM

It's been so long I don't remember if the other installs required a reboot -- but probably did!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#23 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 06:50 PM

I do not recall having to reboot in the past. My last version worked fine, this one not so. Reboot did not help.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#24 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,651 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 06:58 PM

Uninstall, reboot, and re-install - maybe a new download.

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#25 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 14 January 2011 - 07:08 PM

Nice wasn't sure this program would ever be updated again. Any way to stop it from disabling Aero?

#26 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,986 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 07:12 PM

Facing lots of issues here.
Had to manually uninstall older version 5717, it wouldn't do it automatically.

After uninstalling, installed new version OK.
It takes 3+ minutes to check for updates and looking at the modem, its doing nothing for about the first 2 minutes of it. Its not pinging the internet.
After installing it, it accepted by 2008 key ok and then downloaded additional drivers.

Then had to relaunch it and put the key in again and it was OK. Checking for updates over 3 minutes.

Found my receivers but won't play anything.
Gives me the message "The video content stopped playing because because your monitor or driver does not support the playback of the protected content......."

Exited the application and got a pop up that my Display was reset to Win7 Basic Drivers.
Haven't yet rebooted to try again so I could log all of this.

PC is running Win7 64 Bit Home Edition
Quad 4 Intel 2.4Ghz, 4GB memory.

PS: After having WHDVR for so long, the Directv2PC GUI interfaces that were an annoyance before are much more of an annoyance now. Like not seeing a Unified playlist. Suggest Directv not only worry about IE9 but put some efforts into this application to be similar to the home expierience.

Edited by NR4P, 14 January 2011 - 07:14 PM.
Corrected old version nbr


#27 OFFLINE   loudo

loudo

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,480 posts
  • LocationCentral Maine
Joined: Mar 24, 2005

Posted 14 January 2011 - 07:41 PM

Downloaded and installed it using my previous key. Working fine and finding both of my receivers.

H44-200 - Samsung 1080p 46" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Samsunbg 32" LED - HDMI
C41-100 - Mitsubishi 1080p 57" DLP - HDMI - Pioneer Home Theater Sound

LG 20 LCD" & Viewsonic 17" HDTV LCD - Component via Cat 6 baluns from HR44-200
Slimline w/ SWM3 LNB. OTA master antenna system to all sets.


#28 OFFLINE   VLaslow

VLaslow

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,285 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 14 January 2011 - 08:38 PM

The new version uninstalled the old one and installed the new one with no issues. Odd, however, that it seemed to install codecs twice. It is working fine on my desktop.

#29 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 09:03 PM

Improved/Updated

  • IE9 Activation


Woohoo!

Will give it a try after this weekend.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#30 OFFLINE   barryb

barryb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,935 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 09:25 PM

All good now. It came down to a router issue.
Barry
MY SETUP
You can usually find me helping out in the Quiet Room on Friday chat night.

#31 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,986 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 14 January 2011 - 09:39 PM

Rebooted my PC.
Still getting this when I try to play any content: "The video content stopped playing because because your monitor or driver does not support the playback of the protected content......."

Video Driver Card is ATI2900XT with DVI Connection to Dell 22" monitor.

All worked under version 5717.

#32 OFFLINE   waynebtx

waynebtx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,462 posts
  • LocationKingsville,Texas
Joined: Dec 24, 2006

Posted 14 January 2011 - 10:20 PM

The new version uninstalled the old one and installed the new one with no issues. Odd, however, that it seemed to install codecs twice. It is working fine on my desktop.


Seemed to do the same thing on mine but plays back great.

Wayne

Slimline dish SWIM16
Sharp LC-60E78UN
HD-A30 w/ Harmony 880
HR34-700/AM21 w/ Harmony 880.
1 C31-700

HR44-200

HR24-100

H25-100

Marantz NR1603 A/V 7.1

All Wired Networked
Xbox 360
retired USN , retired Boeing, retired L3COM, just plain tired


#33 OFFLINE   ejjames

ejjames

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 14 January 2011 - 11:13 PM

I don't use IE9, so what does this version do?
Former USSB uplink operator.

USSB from '95 to '99

DirecTv since '95

#34 OFFLINE   ersmith

ersmith

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 15 January 2011 - 10:44 AM

All good now. It came down to a router issue.

barryb - What was the router issue? I'm having the same problem.

#35 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,860 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 January 2011 - 11:40 AM

barryb - What was the router issue? I'm having the same problem.

In Barry's case, it needed to be connected. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#36 OFFLINE   ub1934

ub1934

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
  • LocationUpState NY
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 15 January 2011 - 12:31 PM

Rebooted my PC.
Still getting this when I try to play any content: "The video content stopped playing because because your monitor or driver does not support the playback of the protected content......."

Video Driver Card is ATI2900XT with DVI Connection to Dell 22" monitor.

All worked under version 5717.


Same thing for me , it used to play back ok NCIS , CSI ,ect. but now can not even play back HDN color test bars .:mad:

#37 OFFLINE   SParker

SParker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,558 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2002

Posted 15 January 2011 - 03:01 PM

The last version of this always seemed to crash my network on the PC while playing. Now it seems to work fine while playing.

#38 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 15 January 2011 - 09:53 PM

I would recommend that people not install this new version of DirecTV2PC unless there is something wrong with your existing set-up. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

This new version adds nothing and will just cause you frustration if you are already up and working properly.

#39 ONLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,986 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 15 January 2011 - 10:06 PM

I would recommend that people not install this new version of DirecTV2PC unless there is something wrong with your existing set-up. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

This new version adds nothing and will just cause you frustration if you are already up and working properly.


Its OK if you choose not to partipate.

I am happy to answer the request of the Moderator to give this a test run before being released to the general public. If it is frustrating, its not difficult to roll back.

#40 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 15 January 2011 - 10:20 PM

If people want to act as guinea pigs for an experiment, that is fine. But nowhere does it say that we are testing this software for DTV.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...