Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wireless networking to a Droid X


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:04 PM

The Directv Deca Broadband adapter is plugged into my WRT610N.
I have tried everything I can think of. I think the problem is that when the phone (Nexus1) is in wifi mode 3g is disabled, the WRT detects the phone.. When the phone is in hotspot mode the WRT does not detect it nor my broadband adapters, but my laptops do, of course.
The broadband adapter is connected to the WRT via ethernet connections, which I'm wondering if that should be the case since I don't have cable internet.


I'm wondering if the Linksys Valet is needed.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   bobukcat

bobukcat

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,965 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:51 PM

Does your N1 create an AdHoc network when you put it in "Hotspot" mode? If so it could be that the wireless adapter on the D* box doesn't support AdHoc. I know on my rooted Droid using the Wireless Tether application it only does AdHoc and I have seen a few devices that won't support that connection.

#23 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,261 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 21 January 2011 - 01:21 PM

Does your N1 create an AdHoc network when you put it in "Hotspot" mode? If so it could be that the wireless adapter on the D* box doesn't support AdHoc. I know on my rooted Droid using the Wireless Tether application it only does AdHoc and I have seen a few devices that won't support that connection.


The network SSID can be named anything one wants to name it. Also security can be set to open or to WPA2 PSK.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...