Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Ku band install


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Barahkstree

Barahkstree

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2011

Posted 16 January 2011 - 10:33 AM

Is there anyone in the ct. Area that would be interested in putting a ku band dish on my house in southington will pay travel in from out of state . I have not yet bought the dish and would need everything... Thanks Jody < Please PM me. Mod edit >

Edited by Scott Kocourek, 16 January 2011 - 11:47 AM.
Removed phone number


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,252 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 January 2011 - 10:40 AM

Have you called DIRECTV and asked them? They have a special program (with some limitations) for those who have moved.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,551 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 January 2011 - 10:41 AM

Have you called DirecTV for this? (Dang, late again:))

BTW, you should remove your phone number so that you don't start getting a lot of junk calls.

Ask people to send a Private Message (PM).
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#4 OFFLINE   Barahkstree

Barahkstree

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2011

Posted 16 January 2011 - 12:18 PM

No, I haven't call direct tv. I'am looking to get only one sat. With one channel on in and I didn't want to get a monthly charge it's a free channel in the sky I was told. Is it hard to set a dish up, and tune it ,never did it?

#5 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 16 January 2011 - 12:21 PM

What channel on what satellite? Sounds like you are wanting a FTA dish/receiver. If that is the case, there is a forum for that on this board. To answer your question, if it is an FTA satellite channel you want, it is quite easy to put up a KU dish for one satellite and aim it.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,551 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 January 2011 - 06:17 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...isplay.php?f=67

Edit to say this thread was moved and now my link above is a bit circular. :)

Edited by jdspencer, 18 January 2011 - 11:47 AM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   Barahkstree

Barahkstree

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2011

Posted 16 January 2011 - 08:44 PM

What kind of setup would I need to receive ....galaxy 24 97 degrees west longitude transponder 23 frequency 12115mhz polarity vertical symbol rate 22.425 fec rate 3/4 .....would I have to buy a dish that would always be stationary or could I buy a dish that would move from that sat. To another ? I don't know to much about ku band and I can' find some in my area to install one so i'am stuck with trying to install one myself...... I've been looking for a installer for a year and finally givin up any help would be very much appreciated :confused:

#8 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 16 January 2011 - 09:17 PM

What kind of setup would I need to receive ....galaxy 24 97 degrees west longitude transponder 23 frequency 12115mhz polarity vertical symbol rate 22.425 fec rate 3/4 .....would I have to buy a dish that would always be stationary or could I buy a dish that would move from that sat. To another ? I don't know to much about ku band and I can' find some in my area to install one so i'am stuck with trying to install one myself...... I've been looking for a installer for a year and finally givin up any help would be very much appreciated :confused:


That is actually Galaxy 19 at 97W. The list of channels on that transponder are

Iran Zamin TV,Velayat TV Network,Al Kalema TV,Impact TV Network,Bethel TV
ITC,MEA TV,AssyriaSat,AMGA,AFN Music Channel,GCN,News 1,The University Network
Cornerstone TV,Pirate Radio,Access America,American Voice Radio Network

You can pick them up using a single 39" KU dish with a standard KU LNB, and a standard def receiver. You can buy the items separately, or as a kit such as this one:
http://www.gofastmot...lstarsys200.htm

As to whether you invest in the money for a HD receiver and a motorized dish capable of tuning other satellites all depends on whether you want to watch the stations on the other satellites. Just in my opinion, most all the non-international channels of interest, for the most part are on C band, which would require a HD receiver and a 8 to 10 FOOT dish.
The small single sat KU system is something you could easily install yourself. If you buy it from the link above, and ask, I am sure the dealer would even pre-program your channel in for you, making it easier to aim the dish. If you install a motorized dish or a large C band dish, you will most likely need to hire someone familiar with such installations, as there are several settings that have to be made to the dish, and have to be made perfectly, for it to track accurately, as well as several programming steps on the receiver so it will know what satellite to motor to.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#9 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,824 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 16 January 2011 - 09:20 PM

What kind of setup would I need to receive ....galaxy 24 97 degrees west longitude transponder 23 frequency 12115mhz polarity vertical symbol rate 22.425 fec rate 3/4 .....would I have to buy a dish that would always be stationary or could I buy a dish that would move from that sat. To another ? I don't know to much about ku band and I can' find some in my area to install one so i'am stuck with trying to install one myself...... I've been looking for a installer for a year and finally givin up any help would be very much appreciated :confused:

I can't find any information on Galaxy 24. At any rate the only Galaxy satellite in DirecTV's fleet is Galaxy 3C (Link).

DirecTV equipment (dishes, receivers, etc.) will only work with DirecTV's satellites. However, DirecTV doesn't have a satellite at 97°.

This appears to be an FTA discussion so I’m moving it to the FTA Forum.

Mike

Edited by Mike Bertelson, 17 January 2011 - 04:40 AM.

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#10 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 17 January 2011 - 08:07 AM

There are several installers that affiliate with Globecast World TV, in your area:

http://www.globecast...nInstaller.aspx

Any of them should be able to do the work, even if you have to order the equipment. Some probably have stock.




spam firewall