Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

hdmi 5.1 or 2 channel


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sb40

sb40

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 16 January 2011 - 10:38 AM

Stupid question-but it seems that I don't get any 5.1 thru the HR 22.

Is HDMI 2 channel ?

The setup is HR22 - Reciever - TV .


Or does D* not have that much 5.1 ?
HR20
100/700

Miele The BEST Vacuum you can buy.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,646 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 16 January 2011 - 10:59 AM

Make sure Dolby digital is on in the setup menu.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,544 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 January 2011 - 11:07 AM

Easy way to test for 5.1 is turn to ESPN HD on 206. They always seen to broadcast in 5.1, except some commercials.
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 January 2011 - 11:08 AM

HDMI is not the problem. Even in its most primitive implementations, HDMI fully supports 5.1 audio as a licensing requirement. If there is a question, you might test audio through the TOSLink or digital coaxial outputs and see if the situation changes.

In addition to the advice that Stuart offers, you should also insure that your audio system is configured to inter operate with the settings on your DIRECTV receiver.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#5 OFFLINE   sb40

sb40

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2005

Posted 16 January 2011 - 11:15 AM

Set up is OK ....206 was a easy test Thanks !

I was watching 567 Palladia the sound is not great so I was thinking something was set up wrong.
HR20
100/700

Miele The BEST Vacuum you can buy.

#6 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 January 2011 - 11:48 PM

I was watching 567 Palladia the sound is not great so I was thinking something was set up wrong.

The sound on Palladia is typically good, but it is not often surround sound matrixed (whether or not it is being sent as 5.1).

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 17 January 2011 - 09:30 AM

Set up is OK ....206 was a easy test Thanks !

I was watching 567 Palladia the sound is not great so I was thinking something was set up wrong.


I find stuff on Palladia to be hit or miss as far as how good the sound is...one concert will sound great, the next will be terrible, telling me clearly that the issue is with the source material and not the station.




spam firewall