Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Picture quality using Flat Panel TV with old RCA receiver


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   CharlotteBuckeye62

CharlotteBuckeye62

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2006

Posted 17 January 2011 - 04:48 AM

I've been using my old RCA receiver (silver in color) with an old big box TV for much of my 15 years with Directv.
I recently got a second LD 26inch flat panel to use beside the old box but an using an antenna to get local Hi Def. Works great.
I recently replaced the big box with another LG 26 flat screen. I'm using this setup thru a DVD/VCR combo.
I also have a DVR in another location connected directly to a 32 inch LG.
I get a great picture here but the new one connected thru the combo using the 8 years old RCA is kind of fuzzy. (I've made several adjustments to the LG but no improvement)
Do you all think the problem lies with the old RCA receiver or the combo, which is new, or a combination of the two?
Would a new standard Directv receiver to replace the RCA help?
I'm thinking of switching the two LGs which are beside each other to see if it might be the TV that is the problem but I don't think so.
Any idas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 17 January 2011 - 07:39 AM

Time for a new DirecTV receiver. :)
Might as well go with an HD model.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 17 January 2011 - 07:51 AM

First off, an SD picture on an HDTV is going to look lousy, period. It's going to look worse if you are connecting the receiver using coax, and even worse if you're running that coax through the tuner on a VCR. IMO, you are cheating yourself by not having HD service on your HDTVs.

Anyway, if you get a set of composite video cables
Posted Image
and hook the sat receiver directly to the TV's Video inputs, you're going to get about as good of picture quality as is going to be possible from DirecTV using an SD receiver (a new SD receiver won't look any better). If you can live with that, great. If not, it's time for HD.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#4 OFFLINE   CharlotteBuckeye62

CharlotteBuckeye62

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2006

Posted 18 January 2011 - 06:10 AM

My thanks to both of you, your info helped me a lot.
I had been using RCA cables but not good ones. I replaced them and saw a good improvement.

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 18 January 2011 - 11:40 AM

Do you like the picture you get on the LG TVs when using OTA?
If so, then you need a DirecTV HD receiver. :D
This would require a new DirecTV dish as well.
Call DirecTV and see what kind of deals they can offer you!
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 22 January 2011 - 05:44 PM

I agree. You NEED a HD BOX to have ANY SORT OF GOOD PICTURE on a HDTV.
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:




spam firewall