Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Trying to Help a friend with a question


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 08:52 AM

A friend has to get a new STB is there a series manager for the SD DVR like in the HDDVR?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,154 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 18 January 2011 - 09:01 AM

There is on my R15. Can't speak to other series receivers.
When news breaks...we fix it.

#3 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 09:16 AM

There is on my R15. Can't speak to other series receivers.


Is it under manage recordings like the hddvr's
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 January 2011 - 09:17 AM

The two current models of SD DVR are the R15 and R16. They both operate the same, except the R16 is SWM capable (in simple words, that means it can be used in a mixed SD / HD installation with a certain type of dish).

Non DVR SD receivers are the D11 and D12.

#5 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 09:36 AM

The two current models of SD DVR are the R15 and R16. They both operate the same, except the R16 is SWM capable (in simple words, that means it can be used in a mixed SD / HD installation with a certain type of dish).

Non DVR SD receivers are the D11 and D12.


ok but that doesnt answer my question which is were the series manager is on those boxes

#6 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:24 AM

Should be something like Menu>>Manage Recordings>>Series Manager. I don't have one in front of me but it's something like that.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#7 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,154 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 18 January 2011 - 10:52 AM

On the R15 it is Menu>>Manage Recordings>>Prioritizer
When news breaks...we fix it.

#8 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,812 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 January 2011 - 11:00 AM

ok but that doesnt answer my question which is were the series manager is on those boxes


I know, and actually my post was in response to your original post, adding a little information over the first response. Your second question wasn't posted at the time I was writing my reply.

Unfortunately, I do not have an SD DVR active on my account to check the menu structure with, sorry. It looks like your question was answered though by someone who does.

Hopefully you have found all the information you need. If not, please feel free to ask further questions.

#9 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 11:00 AM

On the R15 it is Menu>>Manage Recordings>>Prioritizer


Thanks she will look for that tonight

#10 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:14 PM

There is on my R15. Can't speak to other series receivers.


Is it under manage recordings like the hddvr's
[URL="http://www.dbstalk.com/showthread.php?p=3113347&posted=1#post311334""]My Setup[/URL]

#11 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:17 PM

On the R15 it is Menu>>Manage Recordings>>Prioritizer


Thanks Jon, it has been a while for me.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#12 OFFLINE   Jon J

Jon J

    Grouch Extrordinaire

  • Registered
  • 1,154 posts
  • LocationMusic City, USA
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 18 January 2011 - 01:35 PM

Thanks Jon, it has been a while for me.

I wish it were the same for me. I have 3 HRs and the difference between them and the R15 is night and day. When the PP recently replaced a dying TiVo-based DirecTV SD DVR I tried my best to talk them out of an HR of any variety. No go. I hate programming commitments but I'm getting closer to agreeing to one just to retire this R15. ;)

Edited by Jon J, 18 January 2011 - 02:52 PM.

When news breaks...we fix it.

#13 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 18 January 2011 - 06:45 PM

The "prioritizer" on the R15/R16 series works exactly like the "series manager" on the HD DVR's with a couple exceptions.

1. When you click twice on a show in the guide, it is added to the prioritizer as the TOP PRIORITY show unlike the HD DVR's which place the show at the BOTTOM of the list. (lowest priority)

2. You won't be prompted about this and given an option to go to the prioritizer like you are on the HD DVR's. You have to go there yourself to move the newly-added show to the spot you want. (The R15 assumes the user knows what they are doing) ;)

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#14 OFFLINE   jford951

jford951

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 447 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 19 January 2011 - 09:27 AM

thanks everyone we found what we were looking for




spam firewall