Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Unbalanced SWM?


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:32 PM

ok, i guess im wrong then

I have NO training on swm, i have done all this by trial and error, started installing only a year ago. Im the top techician in the area. All ONO guys are completely clueless around here and call me when they have problems.

I had no one to ask questions to, i have to figure out all things on my own here. I installed the first swm 16 around here, werent sure what ports were what. Called all directv so called gurus and no one could produce a diagram or know how of what to do with the swm 16, it had just come out. ONO called me the next day after i had mine setup to ask how i did it.

So im not to sure if any directv classes would have done me any good. If the corp guys that took the class ask me for help.....whats that tell ya?

Maybe the stuff i tried this summer just didnt work, or we had bad equipment, all i know is when i installed the 8 way it all worked.

I do know i had 9 tuners active, maybe a couple were on the same channel or something, guess that makes sense now.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:36 PM

Well, the Good News is you can learn an awful lot here at DBSTALK.COM by listening to veryoldschool and others as I have learned so much from them that saved me alot of anquish and pain so feel free to participate in our Forum and Learn from others who are ahead of you and me on the Path!!! :)
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#28 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:38 PM

ok, i guess im wrong then...

I completely understand.
Ask me any questions and I'll do my best to "tell you the truth", since this is "My thing" and I've been in the field test group since '07.
PM me if you'd rather not do this on the forum.
A.K.A VOS

#29 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:42 PM

You don't have to do that but you have to make sure that the number of Tuners is Equal to the Number that the Multiswitch/Splitters can handle.

I have a SWM 16 with 2 8 Port Splitters and only have 4 DVRs on each one.

If I have 5 DVRs on one Splitter than I have 10 Tuners and it will only support 8 of those Tuners so somebody gets dropped.


WAIT!!! hold on......

This is going contrary to splitter have nothing to do with swm tuners.....

a swm 16 can handle 16 tuners. If you say you cant put all on one 8 way, then now theres another myth going on here......

Can someone explain this one.....

This one is funny as this will prove even very old school wrong...LOL

sorry couldnt resist that one.....

#30 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:42 PM

ok, i guess im wrong then...


Nothing wrong with that, this is a good place to learn. Sorry to "jump" on you, but some of us tend to frown upon the dissemination of false information. It's always better to ask; some of the tips/tricks around here will dramatically reduce your callbacks, and can put some extra $ in your pocket :)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#31 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:44 PM

WAIT!!! hold on......

This is going contrary to splitter have nothing to do with swm tuners.....

a swm 16 can handle 16 tuners. If you say you cant put all on one 8 way, then now theres another myth going on here......

Can someone explain this one.....

This one is funny as this will prove even very old school wrong...LOL

sorry couldnt resist that one.....


Actually it doesn't prove VOS wrong. A SWM16 is 2 SWM8's combined into one case. There are two ports on a SWM16 and each lead to one of the internal SWM8's. A single SWM8 cannot provide more than 8 SWM tuners which is why two separate splitters are necessary on the SWM16 (one on each port) to provide all 16 tuners.

As an FYI the two SWM16 SWM ports are bridged by a bandpass filter to allow MRV between each.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#32 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:47 PM

WAIT!!! hold on......

This is going contrary to splitter have nothing to do with swm tuners.....

a swm 16 can handle 16 tuners. If you say you cant put all on one 8 way, then now theres another myth going on here......

Can someone explain this one.....

This one is funny as this will prove even very old school wrong...LOL

sorry couldnt resist that one.....

A SWiM-16 is based on 2 SWM8, so it has two output and each output can't have more than 8 tuners.
What the SWiM-16 also has is a crossover circuit for the DECA signal to pass between the 2 SWiM "blocks [of eight].
A.K.A VOS

#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:48 PM

Actually it doesn't prove VOS wrong. A SWM16 is 2 SWM8's combined into one case. There are two ports on a SWM16 and each lead to one of the internal SWM8's. A single SWM8 cannot provide more than 8 SWM tuners which is why two separate splitters are necessary on the SWM16 (one on each port) to provide all 16 tuners.

As an FYI the two SWM16 SWM ports are bridged by a bandpass filter to allow MRV between each.

beat me by that " " much. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#34 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:49 PM

A SWiM-16 is based on 2 SWM8, so it has two output and each output can't have more than 8 tuners.
What the SWiM-16 also has is a crossover circuit for the DECA signal to pass between the 2 SWiM "blocks [of eight].


ya that was a mess, we had 4 dvrs all sharing into the swm16 from the 8 apartments.....found out what a band stop does.....

#35 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:51 PM

ya that was a mess, we had 4 dvrs all sharing into the swm16 from the 8 apartments.....found out what a band stop does.....

If/when you run across a SWiM-32, there are NO DECA connections between the SWiM "blocks".
A.K.A VOS

#36 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 10:56 PM

Wonder if we should tell him about the SWM screen and what it shows? :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#37 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:01 PM

This one is funny as this will prove even very old school wrong...LOL

sorry couldnt resist that one.....


You Ain't Gonna Prove or Find VeryOldSchool Wrong when it comes to this Subject so just buckle your seat belt and LEARN FROM THE MASTER!!! :)
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#38 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:04 PM

Jodean: This is what you should have been given when you started. You'll find it quite helpful ;)

http://forums.direct...uleTraining.pdf

Edited by dsw2112, 26 January 2011 - 11:09 PM.

SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#39 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:04 PM

Wonder if we should tell him about the SWM screen and what it shows? :lol:


That would be Nice and I'm sure he would be most Appreciative and you would build Good Karma!!! :)

Edited by Richierich, 26 January 2011 - 11:28 PM.

*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#40 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:07 PM

Jodean: This is what you should have been given when you started. You'll find it quite helpful ;)

http://forums.direct....leTraining.pdf


404 error here...
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#41 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:08 PM

Jodean: This is what you should have been given when you started. You'll find it quite helpful ;)

http://forums.direct....leTraining.pdf


no worky

#42 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:08 PM

404 error here...


Me Too so Bad URL!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#43 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:10 PM

404 error here...


Hmm, try again -- it's working here
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#44 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:13 PM

Hmm, try again -- it's working here

bad for me too, but this one isn't:
http://forums.direct...uleTraining.pdf
A.K.A VOS

#45 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:25 PM

That would be Nice and I'm sure he would be most Appreicative and you would build Good Karma!!! :)

In my years, I've learned you need to wait for the question to be asked, before you can give the answer, otherwise they don't hear the answer.
A.K.A VOS

#46 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,161 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:27 PM

This one is funny as this will prove even very old school wrong...LOL

sorry couldnt resist that one.....

The only way you'll come close is if you can ask a question that I can't answer correctly. :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#47 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:27 PM

In my years, I've learned you need to wait for the question to be asked, before you can give the answer, otherwise they don't hear the answer.


EXACTLY!!!
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#48 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,488 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 11:31 PM

In my years, I've learned you need to wait for the question to be asked, before you can give the answer, otherwise they don't hear the answer.


As they say "The Teacher Only Appears When The Student Is Ready and Willing". :D
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#49 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 262 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 27 January 2011 - 01:06 PM

Jodean am I to under stand that you are not recieving training from your HSP/employer?
That is not good. I would be changing who I work for. You should be getting on going training from your HSP/employer on the new equipment/systems. There is a training site that you can go to for training at this site, login and stay up to date www.satinstalltraining.com this should help.

#50 OFFLINE   jmf243

jmf243

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 157 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2004

Posted 27 January 2011 - 02:36 PM

Take a look at the setup menu/SAT levels/SWM.
There should be 9 channels displayed.
Each tuner connected can "take" a channel and cause it to show a zero on the setup screen of another receiver.
If you put ALL receivers on this setup screen, you should have no zeros.
What are the numbers you have?
Monitor this receiver's screen and then exit the setup menu on another receiver and recheck "this" receiver's screen. Did one or two zeros appear?
One by one, have each receiver exit the setup menu and monitor the SWM screen.
What did you see?


Before I had a chance to do this another exceptionally cold night occured and 2 of my other 3 HD-DVRs (all three of which are in the living room) crapped out with 771 messages with fluctuating signal strengths and pixelating channels after reset. I've determined this to be the cold weather SWM LNB issue and I've continued my discussion in that thread. I have a service call for Sunday when I'll hopefully get a cold weather tolerant swm LNB or a 5 lnb slimline with a SWM 16.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...