Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OWNING for Guest Room


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:55 PM

Let me get this straight: If I get an owned reciever, can I activate it and deactivate it on my account as many times as I wish without returning the equipment or access card??

Also, when you call DTV to get a new access card, do you have to have the previous card (because the one on eb* I am looking at doesn't [or at least I think])
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 January 2011 - 03:58 PM

Yes.
No.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#3 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:00 PM

Will D* charge me by the day?
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#4 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,892 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:03 PM

Will D* charge me by the day?


For service? Nope.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#5 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:04 PM

For service? Nope.


Different discussion and not relevant to the OP

Will D* charge me by the day?


Yes, basically (at least that's how it worked a couple of years ago, when I used to do it).

If you activate for $5 per month and then deactivate it 3 days later, you'll get a $4.50 credit.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#6 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:06 PM

I am asking, how will theycharge the "mirroring fee.", which would be $0.16/day if my research is correct (partial month charge)
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#7 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:06 PM

Yes, basically (at least that's how it worked a couple of years ago, when I used to do it).

If you activate for $5 per month and then deactivate it 3 days later, you'll get a $4.50 credit.


THANK YOU:)
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#8 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,892 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:07 PM

I am asking, how will theycharge the "mirroring fee.", which would be $0.16/day if my research is correct (partial month charge)


Ah, gotcha. I didn't understand your meaning. Should be a partial credit on your bill.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#9 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:13 PM

Remember, when shopping for a used receiver to always check the receiver ID with the access card distribution team (ACDT). Often, whoever first answers the phone at DIRECTV insists they can help with this, and more often than not, they give inaccurate, incomplete, and just downright wrong information. Make sure you are talking to the access card distribution team when calling. If the first person you talk to won't transfer you there, call back and speak to someone else that will.

The receiver must have a receiver ID
The receiver must have been owned on the last account it was active on
The receiver must disconnected, no longer receiving programming service
The last account the receiver was on must be in good standing and not past due or in collections

Make certain the agent is looking at the last active account. Some agents are new, and even though they should know better, they sometimes mistakenly think if it was ever leased or ever on an account in bad standing ever in its life it is no good. This is completely incorrect thinking. If all four above are good, then you will be able to use it.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#10 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:17 PM

Let me get this straight: If I get an owned reciever, can I activate it and deactivate it on my account as many times as I wish without returning the equipment or access card??

Also, when you call DTV to get a new access card, do you have to have the previous card (because the one on eb* I am looking at doesn't [or at least I think])

I have an owned receiver in our guest bedroom as well and activate/de-activate it as needed. D* only charges me the days I have it activated. Same thing with my Sat-Go portable system when we go on camping trips.

#11 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:26 PM

Remember, when shopping for a used receiver to always check the receiver ID with the access card distribution team (ACDT). Often, whoever first answers the phone at DIRECTV insists they can help with this, and more often than not, they give inaccurate, incomplete, and just downright wrong information. Make sure you are talking to the access card distribution team when calling. If the first person you talk to won't transfer you there, call back and speak to someone else that will.

The receiver must have a receiver ID
The receiver must have been owned on the last account it was active on
The receiver must disconnected, no longer receiving programming service
The last account the receiver was on must be in good standing and not past due or in collections

Make certain the agent is looking at the last active account. Some agents are new, and even though they should know better, they sometimes mistakenly think if it was ever leased or ever on an account in bad standing ever in its life it is no good. This is completely incorrect thinking. If all four above are good, then you will be able to use it.


The CSR (I think I was in the access card department) ran the number and said it would be a good piece of equipment
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#12 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 23 January 2011 - 04:28 PM

Good. :)

Don't be afraid to double check either. :D
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#13 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 25 January 2011 - 06:52 PM

I just ordered a D10, (I am moving soon, and that will be a SWM setup). Will DTV still activate a Nonswm reciever on an SWM setup. (I plan to use two dishes) (I'm too cheap to buy a SWM8:D)
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#14 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,465 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 January 2011 - 07:21 PM

Different discussion and not relevant to the OP
Yes, basically (at least that's how it worked a couple of years ago, when I used to do it).

If you activate for $5 per month and then deactivate it 3 days later, you'll get a $4.50 credit.


So it is Prorated. Good to Know.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#15 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,812 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 25 January 2011 - 09:13 PM

So it is Prorated. Good to Know.


Its pretty quick too.
I temporarily deactivated one receiver two weeks ago and on my bill that came today, the partial month's credit was already there.

Now that's great service.

#16 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 05:49 PM

Do you have to return the access card everytime you deactivate the reciever?
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#17 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,378 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 26 January 2011 - 06:12 PM

No
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#18 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 06:34 PM

I just ordered a D10, (I am moving soon, and that will be a SWM setup). Will DTV still activate a Nonswm reciever on an SWM setup. (I plan to use two dishes) (I'm too cheap to buy a SWM8:D)


The D10 can be setup on the SWM's legacy port. Not sure if it is officially supported that way, so tech might not do it. If allowed, you should be good to go if the installer will do that.
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.




spam firewall