Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM8 Location


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 12:00 PM

Where is the best place to put the SWM8. I plan to locate it inside. Also, If I provide the installer with a SWM8, will he put it in, or will I need to tell the CSR that all the tech has to do is put in a dish??
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 12:14 PM

In general the installers don't install equipment if they don't bring it themselves. However, some kind words and fresh-baked cookies might help them be a little more flexible. The SWiM can be anywhere within about 50 cable-feet of the dish and should have access to reasonable ventilation and also be within about 50 cable-feet of a power outlet.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   mashandhogan

mashandhogan

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 12:17 PM

I Plan to install it myself, all the tech will have to do is hook up the dish. Is it also ok for the PI to be in a room with a reciever??
R22-200 (HD)
(3) HR24-500

R22's are NOT Worthless:)
Yes, I know I can't spell:grin:

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 12:40 PM

Oh yes,absolutely.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 01:19 PM

This thread should just be merged wth http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=189341 as it's the same OP dealing with the same situation.

#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,055 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 26 January 2011 - 01:25 PM

The only possible issue might be if the installer does not have a conventional (non-SWM) LNB with him available to use.

#7 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 26 January 2011 - 04:09 PM

The only possible issue might be if the installer does not have a conventional (non-SWM) LNB with him available to use.


Which he won't be able to use due to reasons discussed in the other thread.

#8 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 26 January 2011 - 04:10 PM

The only possible issue might be if the installer does not have a conventional (non-SWM) LNB with him available to use.


Sure they have them. That's how they align the SWM LNB dishes. The put their legacy LNB on, align, pull it off, then put the SWM LNB on. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 26 January 2011 - 04:18 PM

Well... should and does are two different things. Installers have what they're allowed to take from the warehouse, plus whatever they've managed to squirrel away.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...