Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SL3 SWM LNB Long Distance Setup Help


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,787 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 30 January 2011 - 09:11 PM

It might not make a difference in this case, but it is usually better to place the amplifier before a long length of cable (in the garage) instead of after (in the house).


Agree. You want to amplify signal, not noise. Almost without exception, the closer you put the amp to the signal source, the better (assuming you don't over drive it).

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 30 January 2011 - 10:43 PM

Agree. You want to amplify signal, not noise. Almost without exception, the closer you put the amp to the signal source, the better (assuming you don't over drive it).

After the first stage of amplification [the SWiM] it has so much less significance that the NF is related to the first input.
A.K.A VOS

#23 OFFLINE   gable74

gable74

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2011

Posted 03 February 2011 - 10:10 AM

I have the parts and will go with the following option. Does the wiring look correct in this diagram?

Posted Image

#24 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 February 2011 - 10:29 AM

Try the amp this way:

sat_setup4.jpg
A.K.A VOS

#25 OFFLINE   gable74

gable74

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2011

Posted 03 February 2011 - 11:46 AM

Got it. Thanks.

#26 OFFLINE   gable74

gable74

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2011

Posted 06 February 2011 - 04:05 PM

Thanks to everyone involved. The last method mentioned worked for me minus the AMP. I tried the amp in thier first and nothing in the house would receive a signal. Removed the amp and everything was fine. Noticed after I had everything buttoned back up that I should have used the power supply with the amp due to the fact that I moved the P.I. to the garage. Since the line feeding the house was coming from the leg of the splitter that does not pass power, the amp would not power up in the house. If everything is working fine, is there any benifit of hooking up the amp? I hate to see a $100 amp just sit there.

#27 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 06 February 2011 - 04:14 PM

If everything is working fine, is there any benifit of hooking up the amp? I hate to see a $100 amp just sit there.

See what happens when it rains. You're right at the limits now so you should be very susceptible to rainfade, and can see if the amp will help by checking the garage verses the house. If you're good in the garage, but not in the house, then I'd use the amp.
A.K.A VOS

#28 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 06 February 2011 - 05:16 PM

As veryold school just said, you are on the fringe right now and 2 more inches of snow and you will be watching a blue screen wondering what happened. Reinstall the amp AT the house and power it up. Make sure you connect it right. As long as the amp sees signal it will increase the output.

#29 OFFLINE   gable74

gable74

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2011

Posted 07 February 2011 - 08:13 AM

Okay I will set it up.

Should I put the AMP before the 160' run in the garage or after the 160' run in the house?

#30 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:32 AM

I would put it on the 2 way at the garage, that way you amp the signal at the source and not the noise at the house.

#31 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:43 AM

I would put it on the 2 way at the garage, that way you amp the signal at the source and not the noise at the house.

It's a tossup from even the amp maker, Sonora.
These systems are fairly noisy to start with, so there really isn't going to be a significant difference either location, after the 2-way or before the 4-way. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#32 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:47 AM

I guess you would amplify less noise closer to the dish?
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#33 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,614 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 February 2011 - 11:04 AM

I guess you would amplify less noise closer to the dish?

You know what the CNR is and you also know what the power levels are.
Once you get past the first stage of amplification, everything kind of ends up being linear, and by this I mean: the noise from the dish is also going to be attenuated through the coax along with the signal. You've seen this on your meter, where the CNR is the same.
When there is no amplification [like an OTA antenna] all the loss before the first amp becomes noise, so this is why a low noise pre-amp is best mounted at the antenna.

If anyone wants to look into this more:
http://www.rfcafe.co...oise-figure.htm

Edited by veryoldschool, 07 February 2011 - 11:33 AM.

A.K.A VOS




spam firewall