Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

922 resets every morning


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   rice0209

rice0209

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2005

Posted 06 May 2011 - 10:40 PM

lol, you are right, not completely worthless. Now i can switch inputs every time i want to use my google tv AND not have it integrated with my dvr.

I like the revue overall, but mostly as an entertainment piece for groups of people. Its great for sharing you tube videos or watching VOD through amazon and netflix, but its not that good for browsing the internet. The keyboard is better than most, but its still more difficult to navigate website without switching over to a stand alone mouse, which again takes away from the convenience of this device.

The beauty and convenience of having google tv on stand by was great and is gone until Dish figures this out.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   rice0209

rice0209

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2005

Posted 10 May 2011 - 09:25 AM

5th day since I unplugged the revue completely and I have had 5 days without issue with the 922. For now, its cured I believe. The wife is much happier that she doesn't have to fuss with the unit every morning just to watch tv as she rushes around getting our daughter ready.

#28 OFFLINE   akble

akble

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2011

Posted 17 November 2011 - 07:05 AM

At Team Summit - the Dish Dealer meetings - they specifically told us the 922 and Google Revue were NOT compatible and the to use the 722 in installs with Google

#29 OFFLINE   billyfury

billyfury

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2004

Posted 17 January 2012 - 08:26 PM

This has been happening to my 922 for months. the unit has been replaced 3x. Each time it happens at the same time even with the new unit. Techs have been here 3x. I have called dish perhaps 20 times on this. Unit is plugged directly into the wall. It is in open air not a cabinet. I do NOT have a logitec revue. The update happens every night at 3 am. The unit freezes, is unresponsive to the remote, and eventually reboots itself every night at 6:05 pm. Every night at 6:05. The process takes about 5 minutes. During daylight saving time happens 7:05pm. I have given up.

#30 OFFLINE   garygaryj

garygaryj

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 17 January 2012 - 11:01 PM

Your story is intriguing and upsetting, and I'm sorry for your problems with your 922.

While the aspects about resetting at 6:05 PM / 7:05 PM every night would seem to indicate something about that unit -- I'm noting that it happens approx. 15 hours after the overnight Update -- still, I have some questions or really suggestions, if you haven't tried these things. They may not improve your situation, but may help eliminate some possible causes, and certainly would yield more information about the symptoms.

- Have you tried to unplug from AC and from satellite where you normally have it, and temporarily plug it into AC power from another power segment of the home, and left it there for a day, to see if the power cycling happens at the same evening hour? And another idea (although I wouldn't recommend a regular use of this... just temporary) tried to connect the power through a heavy-duty AC 3-prong extension cord to another home power segment, while still having the satellite connection to the 922.

- Have you tried to change the time of the Update? (Settings > 2 icons down > 1 icon to the right > and change it to a different time? Maybe set it 2 hours later at 5 AM, and see if the reset happens at 6:05 PM, or at 8:05 PM? And then maybe set it to exactly the normal reset time of 6:05 PM, and see if you only get one reset per day at that time?

- Have you tried to check your coax connections all the way back to the Dish, and checked that there are good solid connections, and not much splicing other than a grounding pass-through?

- Have you tried to look at the Settings > Down 4 icons > Diagnostics > View Counters, and checked the high and low temperature settings as well as the average temperature? You have to page down to near the bottom of the list to see that. From what I can tell, an average temp between 110 - 120 F when it is open air would be a normal temp.

Well, you may have have done some of this - but if not, it would be interesting to see what results you got from these tests. And it would give you some additional information to give Dish when you replace again, although normally, the odds are very much against getting a number of bad 922's in a row.

I'm not a pro - just a fellow traveler.

PS: Just thought to add that if there is a Power Quality issue coming from the power company source - depending on where you get your power, you may be able to put in a trouble ticket with them, and ask if they can come out and do a power quality test in your home - esp. at the location where you have your 922 plugged-in, and describe to them the situation of having 3 units in a row that are malfunctioning, and it is against the odds, and points to perhaps some other issue. They might be nice and come out with a fancy power meter to test it. Could eliminate a potential source of the problem, even if they find nothing unusual. It would especially be awesome to see if they would test it at 6:05 PM, when you get your non-programmed reset.

Edited by garygaryj, 17 January 2012 - 11:05 PM.
Added PS


#31 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 18 January 2012 - 05:55 PM

Does anyone know how many 922 are currently in use. With all these reports of oddities and failures it would be interesting to put a percentage to the units in homes.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#32 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • Registered
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 19 January 2012 - 12:35 AM

Less than 1% of the number of 722/722k receivers.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#33 OFFLINE   garygaryj

garygaryj

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 19 January 2012 - 08:07 AM

Just wondering - what is the source for such data. (Don't take this as a criticism at all. Just wanting to dig into how we might know some statistics like this.)

#34 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 19 January 2012 - 09:56 AM

Just wondering - what is the source for such data. (Don't take this as a criticism at all. Just wanting to dig into how we might know some statistics like this.)

+1
Thank you and
Best of luck

#35 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • Registered
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 20 January 2012 - 01:13 AM

It was from a CES conversation when I asked about moving Hopper features to the 922 and the delayed software update. The answer involved allocation of resources to the next big thing (my words) and the boxes used by the most subscribers, with a couple ballpark figures mentioned. I can't verify them, and Dish doesn't reveal such numbers even for broad categories like SD vs HD, so I'm leaving it at that. The numbers were more lopsided than I expected, but given the 922's newness, lack of promotion, and upgrade fee combined with higher monthly fees, they seem possible.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#36 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,641 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 14 February 2012 - 07:46 AM

Does anyone know how many 922 are currently in use. With all these reports of oddities and failures it would be interesting to put a percentage to the units in homes.



Add one more 922 in use,and I like it!;):D

Actually the proper name would be VIP922/wMT2.;)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...