Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Old DVR's and moving cards around


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HuweyII

HuweyII

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 February 2011 - 11:41 AM

I've got an R10 DVR still enabled. I also have a spare HDVR1 sitting here not doing anything. If I take the card from m R10 and stick it in my HDVR1 will the HDVR1 work?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,640 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 February 2011 - 11:51 AM

It is very likely that it won't. And, if it does, that will be only temporary. At somepoint it will stop.

And :welcome_s to DBSTalk!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,372 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 04 February 2011 - 12:23 PM

Access Cards are "married" to their specific Receiver/DVR. DirecTV will send you a new one if needed for ~$20. But note that older "non-RID" equipment will no longer be activated, unless it originally on your own account.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 04 February 2011 - 12:27 PM

Cards are married to units, and depending on the age of the cards, they may not even be current....it is possible in certain circumstances to move cards between units with the help of the access card team, but you cant do it without their help.

#5 OFFLINE   HuweyII

HuweyII

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 February 2011 - 01:48 PM

Good data, thanks everyone!

I'll just have the unplug the R10 and take it out to the motorhome whenever it's time to go somewhere.

I don't want to activate another receiver. DirecTV is already nickle and dimeing me to death. And the motorhome only has a single LNB dish so no HD anyway.




spam firewall