Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Using spectrum analyzer at a comm site.


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   shortyfred

shortyfred

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 04 February 2011 - 12:18 PM

I,m in Hawaii trying to use a spectrum analyzer (kusat) to locate Galaxy 19, but it seems as though there is so much RF that I cant see anything but noise. It has all kinds of RF there, it is on a comm/repeter site

Any suggestions?

Thanks for the help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   cabletech

cabletech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2011

Posted 04 February 2011 - 03:07 PM

What type of antenna system are you trying to use? Do you have the SA connected to the dish LNB, or are you doing a 'horn' search? What are you trying to find?

There is a Christian TV Network on this bird at freq 12060-horz.

Here is the sight alignment information from your location. This should help.


Address: ewa beach hawaii
Latitude: 21.3169°
Longitude: -158.0132°

Satellite: 97W GALAXY 19 (G-19)
Elevation: 18.6°
Azimuth (true): 101.4°
Azimuth (magn.): 91.5°

Good Luck

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,706 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 February 2011 - 03:15 PM

Use www.dishpointer.com

#4 OFFLINE   shortyfred

shortyfred

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 07 February 2011 - 12:08 AM

I'm looking for the KU band. I have pointed galaxy 19 several times, but it seems that all the RF is showing up as noise on the SA so I can't see any satellite signal.

Thanks,
Fred

#5 OFFLINE   AntAltMike

AntAltMike

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,684 posts
  • LocationCollege Park MD (just outside Wash, DC)
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 07 February 2011 - 09:09 AM

If you are seeing what looks like all noise, then you are not receiving the desired signal. That can be because you are severly misaimed or there is no RF output from the LNB.

Are you sure the LNB is getting DC powering, either from the spec analyzer or from the satellite receiver? Can you arrange to connect your spec analyzer to a DBS DirecTV or DISH Network LNB downlead so that you can see what a robust RF spectrum looks like?

Edited by AntAltMike, 08 February 2011 - 04:34 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   shortyfred

shortyfred

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 07 February 2011 - 12:57 PM

I can go down the from the site and the SA works fine.

#7 OFFLINE   kenglish

kenglish

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 972 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah, USA
Joined: Oct 02, 2004

Posted 08 February 2011 - 07:24 AM

What happens if you use the same RF cable, but put a terminator on it (with the DC voltage turned off, of course), instead of connecting to the LNB?
You may be getting ingress right thru the cable.

If not, it's coming in at L-band, right thru the LNB. You might need a different LNB (something with a better filter on the input, or better shielding.
You might try a few torroids on the RF cable, to see if the L-band interference (from nearby cell and other transmitters) is getting fed back in to the LNB via the cable shield. You'd need to select the torroid's "mix" for L-Band frequencies, though. Call Tech Support at one of the Ferrite makers for their recommendations. (We had a similar problem with a UHF TV channel getting in "the back way" to a microwave receiver. Tech Support was very helpful in selecting the correct torroids. Then, we just ordered them from stock someplace, and got them in a day or two. Wish I could remember the company's name.)

#8 OFFLINE   shortyfred

shortyfred

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:28 PM

Thanks for the answer. I think it will solve my problem.




spam firewall