Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Help


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 06 February 2011 - 07:43 PM

They may be out there but I haven't found it. I am doing a self install and i have hit the bird but i am only getting the even number transponders. Any reason that I would be missing the odds?:confused:

I came inside and checked and i can get a few channels but not all are coming in due to the odds. My evens are in the 95+ range. All my odds are at 0. Any ideas of what may be going on?

I am using a Slimline 5 lnb into a Swim 16. I can see my boxes on the network and can watch from box to box.
LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 06 February 2011 - 08:07 PM

What bird did you hit? What transponders? Why a SL5?

#3 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 06 February 2011 - 08:16 PM

Check your cable/fittings on the 13v line. If any of the braid is touching the center conductor, it will cause that problem.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#4 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 06 February 2011 - 08:18 PM

What bird did you hit? What transponders? Why a SL5?


I have hit 101, 119, 99c, 103ca & 103cb

Nothing on 110

i am getting signal on the evens (85~95) only, all 0's on the odds.

I haven't tried to tweak in better yet because i don't have any of the odds.

SL5, just what i had before and wanted to keep what i had.
LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV

#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,849 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 06 February 2011 - 09:45 PM

As RobertE noted, the problem is on one (or both) of your 13V lines. Or possibly a bad multiswitch (not likely).

#6 OFFLINE   thewallfisher

thewallfisher

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 07 February 2011 - 12:53 AM

As far as I can tell you probably have the dish pointed correctly so I wouldn't try to tweak it any more. The problem could be a few things. It could be the wire or the termination of the fittings, the SWM16 itself, or the settings on the receivers.

Are you upgrading the multiswitch or is it a brand new install? If these receivers were active on a different switch try resetting the receivers and redoing the sat setup.

If you explain your connections from the LNB all the way to the receivers I might be able to help a little more.

#7 OFFLINE   LoweBoy

LoweBoy

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 07 February 2011 - 03:10 AM

Ok I ended up finding a shield wire that was touching in one of my fittings. One I removed the whisker from the center conductor it worked like a champ. Thanks for all the help and ideas.

You guys are a big help.

Thanks all.
LoweBoy
1 HR34-700 -- Pioneer VSX-1021 -- Samsung 55" B8k
1 HR24-500 -- Samsung 46" C8k
1 HR20-100 -- Vizio 32"
1 H25-700-- Vizio 32"
1 H25-500-- Samsung 40"

nomad & MRV all self installed
iPads & iPhones & AppleTV




spam firewall