Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Youtube Videos on DIRECTV HD DVR


  • Please log in to reply
383 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Vinny

Vinny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 11:38 AM

However at the end of the search, it only says Keyword, and at the bottom the bottom of the search I have a red button option for Keyword search but nothing for YouTube.

Thanks!


I have an HR20 and HR23 and neither have YouTube options. Checked Internet connection on both and they are connected.

HR34-700(0x00985)|Networked: Yes via Deca hardwired to Actiontec MI424WR (FiOS)| OTA: No | DOD Enabled: Yes |Mediashare: TVersity |
HDTV: Panasonic Plasma TH-50PZ85U connected via Monster HDMI| Home Theater: Onkyo TX-LR552 connected via coax cable. Whole Home: Yes

HR20-700 (0x07EB)
|Networked: Yes via Deca| OTA: No | HDTV: Hitachi Plasma P42H401 connected via HDMI. Whole Home: Yes

AU9 Slimline | SWM|


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   carlsbad_bolt_fan

carlsbad_bolt_fan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
  • LocationCarlsbad, CA
Joined: May 18, 2004

Posted 08 February 2011 - 11:46 AM

Well, this is a pleasant surprise feature! Love it! :)
HR20-700 Connected to 55" Samsung UN55D8000YF via HDMI
HR20-700 Connected to 24" Samsung P2570HD
R22-200 Connected to 32" Sony
D* Customer since 2000

#23 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 11:58 AM

I have an HR20 and HR23 and neither have YouTube options. Checked Internet connection on both and they are connected.


Hmmm .. If it doesn't show up soon, you may need to restart.

'Youtube' shows up under the list of programs. If it's too long to fit on the the screen, you may have to scroll down.

I know I was able to find the DBSTalk show which looks pretty good on the big screen.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#24 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,912 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:15 PM

I have an HR20 and HR23 and neither have YouTube options. Checked Internet connection on both and they are connected.


Same here (HR22-100). Been internet connected for months. Everything works (VOD, Music, Photos & More) but YOUTUBE not showing anywhere. :mad:

DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#25 OFFLINE   msfaulk

msfaulk

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:17 PM

I already have that right now with a HR24 and a H21. See the PNG diagram in my sig. I am using my workstation as the DLNA server, it has 3 TB of storage, and I have been digitally converting my DVD's to MP4 files (that seemed the easiest when I was looking for software), and also some.... err.... "borrowed" materials. :D

The HR24 and H21 both do DLNA. It isn't perfect (fast forward and rewind can't be done) but it works. I am using the Playon.tv software (I purchased it), and it also allows you to add things like Netflix and Hulu so you can watch those.



Most of my stuff is MKV. I have a few AVI. I've tried in the past to stream from my home server, but all it would stream was mpeg and mp3. But that was with an HR20-700. I have not tried it with my HR24-500.

So do you have to know what you are searching for, or is there a browes feature as other Youtube enabled devices have?
LG 55LX9500 3D LED, Samsung 52" LCD, Vizio 26" LED,
HR24-500, HR20-700, H21-100, R16 X3, MRV
Harmony 900, DTV since 1999
Beer...The elixir of life

#26 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:20 PM

This should be enabled for everyone at this point. Verify that your DVR is connected to the Internet. Press & Hold {INFO}, then choose "More Info" and scroll down. It should tell you whether or not it's connected to the Internet.

There's an even easier way to verify internet accessibility. Just hit the right arrow key. If you can access TV Apps, you can access YouTube.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#27 OFFLINE   Vinny

Vinny

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,095 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Sep 01, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:22 PM

Hmmm .. If it doesn't show up soon, you may need to restart.

'Youtube' shows up under the list of programs. If it's too long to fit on the the screen, you may have to scroll down.

I know I was able to find the DBSTalk show which looks pretty good on the big screen.


Thanks, Doug. I'll give it until tonight; if YouTube is a no show I'll restart.

HR34-700(0x00985)|Networked: Yes via Deca hardwired to Actiontec MI424WR (FiOS)| OTA: No | DOD Enabled: Yes |Mediashare: TVersity |
HDTV: Panasonic Plasma TH-50PZ85U connected via Monster HDMI| Home Theater: Onkyo TX-LR552 connected via coax cable. Whole Home: Yes

HR20-700 (0x07EB)
|Networked: Yes via Deca| OTA: No | HDTV: Hitachi Plasma P42H401 connected via HDMI. Whole Home: Yes

AU9 Slimline | SWM|


#28 OFFLINE   jmunick1

jmunick1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:44 PM

Hmmm .. If it doesn't show up soon, you may need to restart.

'Youtube' shows up under the list of programs. If it's too long to fit on the the screen, you may have to scroll down.

I know I was able to find the DBSTalk show which looks pretty good on the big screen.


Doug,

FYI... I haven't rebooted my HR20-700s or my HR21-700 but I did a search for DBSTalk Show and the only option I had in smart search was a keyword search.

Another thing to note, while I do have internet connectivity, TV Apps, and MRV working, I was part of the MRV beta and I use the RJ45 connection instead of DECA for my internet connectivity. Thus far I haven't had an issue with any service using this method. Is it possible this feature requires DECA? If so I think that would be weird....

#29 OFFLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 508 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:45 PM

Guess I will try a reboot. I am connected internet and supported MRV also.


There is not specific search Icon. Just use the smart search feature and it came up on my HR-24 you tube videos. Just tried my HR-20 and works the same. Smart search brings up a youtube search options.

Edited by camo, 08 February 2011 - 12:58 PM.

2-HR24-500
SWM Slimline Dish, MRV Ethernet, media share
70" Sharp AQUOS LC70LE640U
55"LG LH90, 47"JVC LCD's 32" Vizio plasma.
Onkyo SR876 SR receiver


#30 OFFLINE   dwcolvin

dwcolvin

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 668 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 12:47 PM

For those of you with a broadband connected HR2x DVR (or R22), you should now have access to Youtube videos via Smart Search...


Numa Numa on demand... ain't technology great! :lol:

DIRECTV and NFL-ST since 1994, Slimline w/SL5 LNB, SWiM-16
HR44-700; 2x HR24-500; HR22-100; H25-500; C31-700; GenieGo
Gigabit Ethernet (DirecTV DECA); 2.4 and 5GHz 802.11n; HD Slingbox


#31 ONLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,749 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:02 PM

My HR20-700 wasn't getting YOUTUBE so I did a restart, but YOUTUBE is still not an option.
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

#32 OFFLINE   jmunick1

jmunick1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:11 PM

UPDATE: AFTER REBOOTING MY RECEIVERS I NOW HAVE YOUTUBE ON ALL RECEIVERS.

I didn't have YouTube access on any receiver until I rebooted.

Very cool once you get it!

Thanks!

#33 OFFLINE   videoboy77

videoboy77

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2008

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:20 PM

You Tube is working for me... But some videos I can't access.

When I search for TWiT and try to watch one of the videos it says Unable to Access Media. Videos by other users play fine but the official twit podcasts won't play.

Any ideas?

#34 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,297 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:35 PM

MediaShare already uses DLNA .. It's not a perfect product at present, though. Now that DIRECTV can decode Youtube videos, perhaps they will start working on a better DLNA player.


It would be nice if the format choices included AVI and MKV.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#35 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,316 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:44 PM

I've been using this feature for a couple weeks now. Comes in handy for getting a second look at some of those Super Bowl commercials. And especially the Glee See the USA in your Chevrolet commercial, which was extremely well done. I even found a clip of the original commercial with Dinah Shore from 1952.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#36 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,986 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:56 PM

Searching for some HD video and found this. Asteroid Impact(HD).



#37 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 721 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 02:15 PM

There is not specific search Icon. Just use the smart search feature and it came up on my HR-24 you tube videos. Just tried my HR-20 and works the same. Smart search brings up a youtube search options.


Running 0x456 on my 20-700. TVApps work, MRV and everything else.

Did a reboot. TVApps work. No YouTube on Smart Search. I got it on my 24's which I used via the keyword for the last month before the update.

I have it on my 22-100, not on my 20-700. I can provide screen shots if necessary.

Doug- What does your contact at DirecTV say?

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#38 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 02:18 PM

Running 0x456 on my 20-700. TVApps work, MRV and everything else.

Did a reboot. TVApps work. No YouTube on Smart Search. I got it on my 24's which I used via the keyword for the last month before the update.

I have it on my 22-100, not on my 20-700. I can provide screen shots if necessary.

Doug- What does your contact at DirecTV say?



"it should be available to all."

Perhaps there is some glitch. A shortcut to the list might be to try searching for 'AAAAA' That will clearly find "nothing" but you should see both 'Keyword' and 'youtube' search options on the list.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#39 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 721 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 08 February 2011 - 02:24 PM

"it should be available to all."

Perhaps there is some glitch. A shortcut to the list might be to try searching for 'AAAAA' That will clearly find "nothing" but you should see both 'Keyword' and 'youtube' search options on the list.


Okay, tried that, and BBC. I then tried "BROTT". :) Only lists Keyword.

I guess I'll let this go for 24hrs and see what happens tomorrow.

11 DirecTV HD-DVR's including a Genie and GenieGO


#40 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,145 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 08 February 2011 - 02:28 PM

"it should be available to all."

Perhaps there is some glitch. A shortcut to the list might be to try searching for 'AAAAA' That will clearly find "nothing" but you should see both 'Keyword' and 'youtube' search options on the list.


It has been my experience that the internet connected features can be very flaky at times and you just have to wait it out for it to correct itself.

For instance, on multiple occasions I have had issues with VOD where attempting to get to VOD from the main menu gets me a "channel 1000 not available" error and when that happens some VOD channels work (by manually tuning to them) whereas others do not, seemingly with no rhyme or reason as to why some work and others don't. It can happen on any one of my DVRs and the others will be working correctly. Reboots don't fix the issue, but eventually, for whatever reason, it corrects itself.

Could it be a similar issue?

Edited by raott, 08 February 2011 - 02:39 PM.

SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR




Protected By... spam firewall...And...