Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Is time warner cable combinig local atsc off air channels ?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jorb

jorb

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 09 February 2011 - 09:07 PM

I recently helped my neighbor with a Time Warner cable box problem.
When I arrived on the scene there was a analog cable box hooked up to a Sony 50" hi def tv 16x9.
The box was not channging channels and was stuck on channel 3.
So I unpluged the box and was able to get it to function properly.

But I was wondering why did Time Warner hook-up a analog box to a hi def tv. According to my nieghbor he had it for 5 years and was paying $7.99 / month. I figured the reason was ppv that he never used.

I told him he could save $7.99 / month and just go directly into the rf cable f-connector port and dump the box, he agreed.

I scanned for channels and the tv locked on to the normal cable channels, but it also locked onto the local off air atsc digital channels. The tv displayed them as c2 ,c2.1 ,c2.2 ,c2.3 ,c3 ,c4 ,c5 ,c1.5 ,c6
,c7 ,c8 ,c9 ,c10, c11 ,c11.1 ,c12

The channels with the points are local off air atsc digital channels the others are cable channels.

I called the cable company and they told me that they did not combine local off air atsc digital channels with cable channels.

Is the coax cable acting as a antenna? I don't think so.

Does'nt the cable company have to send out a unscrambled QAM signal for a QAM tuner in the tv to pick-up the signal and display it as c2.1 Which is a local off air atsc digital channel.

jorb

Edited by jorb, 09 February 2011 - 09:48 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,693 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 09 February 2011 - 10:59 PM

Not sure they HAVE to send Clear QAM, but many do . That's what you're seeing - not ATSC over cable (unless you have a very different TVC local division)

He might want to keep that cable box, BTW. Cable companies have a nasty habit of moving clear QAM channels around - thus requiring rescanning.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,007 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 10 February 2011 - 12:37 AM

He should probably get a new HD converter box to replace that old analog one... as Scooper said, Time Warner does move those around.

Also... they sometimes mess up the mappings so you might not get them on your expected local channel # but some odd looking number.

-- My cat's breath smells like cat food.


#4 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,402 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 11 February 2011 - 11:06 AM

Depending on your neighbor's likes/dislikes, it might be to his advantage to trade the old cable box for a new one. Even if he doesn't choose to subscribe to any of the extended packages, he'll get a ton of SD channels to replace the analog ones. Then, too, he might choose to spend the extra bucks to get the HD package(s).
It's worth looking into.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 11 February 2011 - 07:57 PM

Cable companies are required to retransmit, unencrypted, any OTA broadcast channels they use on their system, yes.

Commercial & Residential Satellite System Design & Installation
DirecTV, Dish Network & Free-To-Air


#6 OFFLINE   jorb

jorb

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 11 February 2011 - 10:19 PM

Cable companies are required to retransmit, unencrypted, any OTA broadcast channels they use on their system, yes.


Then they are retransmitting duplicate local station signals.

c2.1 ,c2.2 ,c2.3 which are clear QAM channels the last two being subchannels of the same station.

c3 is the same as c2.1 but is a down converted 4:3 ratio signal. I think they do this for analog NTSC tuner tv customers without set top boxes. If this is true that means QAM tuners can also see analog signals. I thought a tv with a QAM tuner means it has a digital cable ready tuner, meaning only capable of seeing digital signals.

jorb

#7 OFFLINE   jorb

jorb

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 11 February 2011 - 10:47 PM

He should probably get a new HD converter box to replace that old analog one... as Scooper said, Time Warner does move those around.

Also... they sometimes mess up the mappings so you might not get them on your expected local channel # but some odd looking number.


I informed him about getting a hd box which he mite do. The thing is he has been watching 4:3 ratio content in wide scaled mode for so long he can't tell the difference between 16:9 and 4:3 ratio content. They should of never put scalers in hd tv's it really screwed-up people in that they are not looking at how old camera lens were and how new camera lens are. As far as a wider field of view goes.

jorb




spam firewall