Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Connecting HR23 and H23 to existing setup


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   psczbug

psczbug

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 26 February 2011 - 01:33 PM

Hi all.

Got great deal from DTV for additional receivers, unfortunately received HR23 and H23 instead of new receivers. Oh well, these are for secondary rooms.

My Question. Do I need Deca boxes for these recievers to connect them to my whole home setup. My current setup. SWIM DISH, Deca box connected to SWIM Splitter and my network, HR 24 and H24 units connected to SWIM Splitter via coax. I do have ethernet available at all my televisions.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 26 February 2011 - 02:11 PM

Yes each would need a DECA to connect to the coax network.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   psczbug

psczbug

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 26 February 2011 - 02:42 PM

Thanks. I will call DTV and get them to send me 2 DECA boxes. Since I am not very patient, will it work (till I get DECA boxes) to have a mixed environment, DECA currently through HR24 and H24 boxes and connect HR23 directly to ethernet?

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,573 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 26 February 2011 - 03:20 PM

You might be able to get them working if you connect via the router serving the DECA network. Worth a try, but it shouldn't be that long before you get the DECA from DirecTV.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...