Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Solid Signal marketing DECA as networking over Coax


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,542 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 07 March 2011 - 01:18 PM

See post #9 above.:) Click on the image.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 02:24 PM

This will work for cable.

http://www.amazon.co...k/dp/B001N85NMI

#23 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 03:21 PM

Wow, that's pricey!

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#24 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 03:41 PM

Wow, that's pricey!

- Merg


Hey, you said they would likely be more expensive. :lol:

#25 OFFLINE   HiDefGator

HiDefGator

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 07 March 2011 - 05:07 PM

This will work for cable.

http://www.amazon.co...k/dp/B001N85NMI


It seems like all of these devices are in transition to a new model or something. Even on the Amazon link it says shipping usually in "1-3 months". SolidSignal emailed me back about one they would have available "soon".

Thanks for all the info. I did order a pair that were available today made by another company. Hope it works for my friend.

#26 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 06:31 PM

Hey, you said they would likely be more expensive. :lol:


Just forgot how pricey they still are. I was even thinking maybe $150 on the high end...

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#27 OFFLINE   poppagene

poppagene

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 06:34 PM

This will work for cable.

http://www.amazon.co...k/dp/B001N85NMI


If you're good with networking, you can pick up a couple of Verizon Fios routers (such as the Actiontec MI424WR) and set them up in bridge mode. This will effectively turn them into MOCA adapters with the advantage that you get 4 ethernet ports on the outer end to connect with (only 3 on the end connected to your home networks router as one port is used for this connection).

These are often available used on ebay for quite a bit cheaper than the netgear units.

#28 OFFLINE   HiDefGator

HiDefGator

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 07 March 2011 - 06:53 PM

Just forgot how pricey they still are. I was even thinking maybe $150 on the high end...

- Merg


I only paid $162 for the pair.

#29 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,298 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2011 - 08:47 PM

The coax for Ethernet is coming back !

[Some old network guys should remember it; I would add it was nightmare when did Arcnet cabling between buildings :( ).

#30 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 09:06 PM

The coax for Ethernet is coming back !

[Some old network guys should remember it; I would add it was nightmare when did Arcnet cabling between buildings :( ).


Might have been a nightmare, but at least it worked. We had one run over 400' between two buildings to connect two networks together.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#31 OFFLINE   djrobx

djrobx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 501 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2009

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:57 PM

The coax for Ethernet is coming back !

[Some old network guys should remember it; I would add it was nightmare when did Arcnet cabling between buildings :( ).

Don't forget your T's and terminators! We don't need no stinkin hubs!

#32 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,298 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2011 - 11:29 PM

Those OK, but that skew in power lines, man !

#33 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,657 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 08 March 2011 - 07:57 PM

Just curious, anyone doing this currently seeing any speed issues?

Thanks

#34 OFFLINE   djrobx

djrobx

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 501 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2009

Posted 08 March 2011 - 11:16 PM

No. In my tests I was seeing ~90mbps throughput, just as I do on a non-DECA 100mbps link. Only notable difference is 3-9ms of latency.

#35 OFFLINE   901racer

901racer

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 09 March 2011 - 06:23 AM

No. In my tests I was seeing ~90mbps throughput, just as I do on a non-DECA 100mbps link. Only notable difference is 3-9ms of latency.


Same here, pretty close to 100mbps throughput with 3-6ms of induced latency....

#36 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,657 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 11 March 2011 - 08:07 PM

No. In my tests I was seeing ~90mbps throughput, just as I do on a non-DECA 100mbps link. Only notable difference is 3-9ms of latency.


Same here, pretty close to 100mbps throughput with 3-6ms of induced latency....

Thanks, I just set this up today for my office computers and I can confirm that it does work. Pretty slick having satellite and internet signals on the same coax cable. Nice job D*.




spam firewall