Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

could someone tell me what i need?


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:15 AM

I called to get the multi room parts today. I have had it running through routers since it first came out but never really worked that good. The lady asked what all i had and told me that all i needed was 3 decas and a filter. But what about the router, how does that work. I also told her that i need on demand on the receivers. Looking at the diagrams on this site, looks like there is much more involved.

I currently have:
1 - hr20 (dont care about this one)
2 - hr21
1 - hr22
The lnb with the 4 lines coming out
1 - zinwell multiswitch

What else am i going to need to have multiroom with on demand on 3 of the 4 dvr's? Or was the lady right with the stuff ordered? Please help me out with this, it is kinda confusing. It looks like there are many different setups and I would just like to know what will work in my house.

Sorry for the noob questions :D

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:22 AM

You need SWM (either SWM LNB or SMW-8/16), 5 DECA dapaters and 1 PI (or 4 adapters and a BB DECA).

#3 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:22 AM

I called to get the multi room parts today. I have had it running through routers since it first came out but never really worked that good. The lady asked what all i had and told me that all i needed was 3 decas and a filter. But what about the router, how does that work. I also told her that i need on demand on the receivers. Looking at the diagrams on this site, looks like there is much more involved.

I currently have:
1 - hr20 (dont care about this one)
2 - hr21
1 - hr22
The lnb with the 4 lines coming out
1 - zinwell multiswitch

What else am i going to need to have multiroom with on demand on 3 of the 4 dvr's? Or was the lady right with the stuff ordered? Please help me out with this, it is kinda confusing. It looks like there are many different setups and I would just like to know what will work in my house.

Sorry for the noob questions :D


  • changing over to a SWiM system, so a new LNB & PI
  • 4-way Splitter to feed everything
  • 3 DECAs
  • One broadband DECA
This whole upgrade should be $199 from DirecTV.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,868 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:25 AM

And for what you need that's a bargain. I'd take it.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:29 AM

  • changing over to a SWiM system, so a new LNB & PI
  • 4-way Splitter to feed everything
  • 3 DECAs
  • One broadband DECA
This whole upgrade should be $199 from DirecTV.


I have the new lnb but no power inserter and the 3 decas already. So would this still be a bargain to pay $199 or should i just look on ebay for the parts? So I need a seperate deca to have for the router??

Thanks for the quick replies

#6 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:32 AM

I have the new lnb but no power inserter and the 3 decas already. So would this still be a bargain to pay $199 or should i just look on ebay for the parts? So I need a seperate deca to have for the router??

Thanks for the quick replies


You can use a regular DECA and the appropriate PI, or get the BB DECA dapater.

#7 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:41 AM

I have the new lnb but no power inserter and the 3 decas already. So would this still be a bargain to pay $199 or should i just look on ebay for the parts? So I need a seperate deca to have for the router??

Thanks for the quick replies


If you want to finish it yourself, you will still need the green-label 4-way splitter. If you want Video on Demand, MediaShare, and iPad App functionality, you will need the broadband DECA as well. You'd then connect the 3 DVRs and one BB DECA to the splitter .. a receiver DECA at each of the 3 receivers and an Ethernet connection from your BB DECA to your router.

If you know what your doing, then the 4-way Splitter plus BB DECA kit will be cheaper if you do it on your own it sounds like based on what you already have.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:43 AM

I have the new lnb but no power inserter and the 3 decas already. So would this still be a bargain to pay $199 or should i just look on ebay for the parts? So I need a seperate deca to have for the router??

Thanks for the quick replies

Well you can always do a DIY setup.
You need to check that your LNB is marked with a green label for DECA, or you'll need a filter for it.
You'll need the green labeled splitter.
And as posted a separate BB DECA.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:46 AM

So is this all i would need extra since i have the lnb and 3 decas? Sorry guys I cant post links yet. Is there anything else i will need to get mrv + on demand with 3 recievers? Also can i use my same dish if i just switch out the lnb?


(DIRECTV APPROVED 8 WAY SPLITTER FOR SWM (SWiM) SYSTEM)

h t tp://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220746807574&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

(New Directv 21V Power Inserter PI-21 For SWM-LNB)
h t t p://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230590057195&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

(DirecTV Broadband Deca-On Demand for your DVR Internet!)
h t t p://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300531511551&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

#10 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:50 AM

So is this all i would need extra since i have the lnb and 3 decas? Sorry guys I cant post links yet. Is there anything else i will need to get mrv + on demand with 3 recievers? Also can i use my same dish if i just switch out the lnb?


(DIRECTV APPROVED 8 WAY SPLITTER FOR SWM (SWiM) SYSTEM)

h t tp://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220746807574&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

(New Directv 21V Power Inserter PI-21 For SWM-LNB)
h t t p://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230590057195&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

(DirecTV Broadband Deca-On Demand for your DVR Internet!)
h t t p://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300531511551&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

You'll first need to check the LNB as I've posted.
I wouldn't use an 8-way splitter if only a 4-way is all I need, since this causes more loss.
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:54 AM

You'll first need to check the LNB as I've posted.
I wouldn't use an 8-way splitter if only a 4-way is all I need, since this causes more loss.


Ok not sure on the lnb i don't have it here. I know it is a 5lnb with 1 coax out but not sure if it has a green label or not.

Will the 4 way splitter take care of both antenna inputs on three receivers? Also how would i hook up my hr20 (no mrv)

#12 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:58 AM

You'll need to use the second coax for OTA .. Can't put OTA & SWiM/DECA on the same Coax.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#13 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 11:59 AM

Ok not sure on the lnb i don't have it here. I know it is a 5lnb with 1 coax out but not sure if it has a green label or not.

Will the 4 way splitter take care of both antenna inputs on three receivers? Also how would i hook up my hr20 (no mrv)

SWiM is a signal wire [coax] system, so you on;y need one coax to each receiver.
You might as well get a DECA for your HR20 [find out which one you have since it connects differently] as this will give internet access and you can turn off sharing so it isn't part of your MRV.
If you don't want this, then you'll need another filter to block the DECA signal from overloading the SAT tuner.
A.K.A VOS

#14 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:00 PM

You'll need to use the second coax for OTA .. Can't put OTA & SWiM/DECA on the same Coax.

Think this was for SAT #1 & #2 of the old legacy system.
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:04 PM

SWiM is a signal wire [coax] system, so you on;y need one coax to each receiver.
You might as well get a DECA for your HR20 [find out which one you have since it connects differently] as this will give internet access and you can turn off sharing so it isn't part of your MRV.
If you don't want this, then you'll need another filter to block the DECA signal from overloading the SAT tuner.


So if the lnb is not green label will it still work? what is needed

#16 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,762 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:06 PM

So if the lnb is not green label will it still work? what is needed

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=
A.K.A VOS

#17 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:08 PM

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=


and i also would need one of those for the hr20-700? or no

#18 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:14 PM

So is this everything i will need?

Posted Image

#19 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:18 PM

if you plan to connect your HR20 .. That would mean 4 DVRs. You would need to get the 8-way splitter to add your BB DECA .. OR a 2-way splitter that could be used @ any of the 4 receiver locations.

The latter might even be better if you already have an Ethernet port close to one of your DVRs.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#20 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 28 February 2011 - 12:20 PM

if you plan to connect your HR20 .. That would mean 4 DVRs. You would need to get the 8-way splitter to add your BB DECA .. OR a 2-way splitter that could be used @ any of the 4 receiver locations.

The latter might even be better if you already have an Ethernet port close to one of your DVRs.


I have a router sitting on top of 2 of my dvrs with Ethernet cables going to each. So i should just get a additional 2 way?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...