Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

could someone tell me what i need?


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 02 March 2011 - 10:22 PM

It isn't a question about "putting up with"....
It's really a question about your exact layout.
Take your diagram and add the coax lengths for each one. With this I could do more than guess, or simply pitch ideas. :)


Ok i have put the lengths on the diagram and also moved the power inserter to before the deca on the box thats closest to the dish. These lengths are pretty close. Those lengts are from dish to deca if that helps. And for the splitter, i can cut the coax to length and put them wherever is best. Also I took a pic of all the equipment, i got all the rest of it today. Hopefully it is everything i need.


Posted Image

Posted Image

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 10:49 PM

This looks to be the best:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1299127744

Attached Thumbnails

  • swmalternative2-1.jpg

A.K.A VOS

#53 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 02 March 2011 - 11:52 PM

Ok I see. I am not able to move that router easily tho. I have some other things with Ethernet cables. What is the negative numbers for?

#54 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 08:17 AM

Ok I see. I am not able to move that router easily tho. I have some other things with Ethernet cables. What is the negative numbers for?

The minus numbers at each receiver are the loss of the coax & splitters to them. As you can see they only vary about 3 dB, which is the closest they all can be.
A.K.A VOS

#55 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 03 March 2011 - 09:20 AM

The minus numbers at each receiver are the loss of the coax & splitters to them. As you can see they only vary about 3 dB, which is the closest they all can be.


So are you saying that this will be basically a near perfect setup or no? I could move the router like in your modified diagram since I wont be needing the ethernet cables to the 2 living room boxes. I still have a wii and ps3 there but I could use those wireless. I also have a access point right now in the master that I am using for the MRV and i could just move that to the LR if I didnt want to do wireless for the game systems. If this is the best setup, it will not be a issue to move the router and modem.

#56 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 09:23 AM

So are you saying that this will be basically a near perfect setup or no?

While I wouldn't say "perfect setup", it's the one that has the best/highest signal levels to all receivers, which I thought was your goal.
A.K.A VOS

#57 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 03 March 2011 - 09:32 AM

While I wouldn't say "perfect setup", it's the one that has the best/highest signal levels to all receivers, which I thought was your goal.


Yes that is for sure my goal. I will be hooking it up exactly like the edited diagram that you did. I think that it should go pretty smooth. I will post back here on Saturday with a huge thanks, and again thanks for taking the time to help me with this. It is greatly appreciated. :)

#58 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 10:19 AM

Yes that is for sure my goal. I will be hooking it up exactly like the edited diagram that you did. I think that it should go pretty smooth. I will post back here on Saturday with a huge thanks, and again thanks for taking the time to help me with this. It is greatly appreciated. :)

Not sure where the splitters are going to be, and you haven't given the coax length to the BB DECA, "but" this coax can be fairly long if needed, since the loss/frequency is much less than for the SAT signals.
A.K.A VOS

#59 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 03 March 2011 - 11:06 AM

Not sure where the splitters are going to be, and you haven't given the coax length to the BB DECA, "but" this coax can be fairly long if needed, since the loss/frequency is much less than for the SAT signals.


The bb deca will be right behind the box that is 35 ft from the dish

#60 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 11:16 AM

The bb deca will be right behind the box that is 35 ft from the dish

Yeah, but it wouldn't "have to be".
If you have a coax from the 2-way that runs to a more convenient location, even if this is a long coax, it will still work fine.
A.K.A VOS

#61 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 03 March 2011 - 12:32 PM

Yeah, but it wouldn't "have to be".
If you have a coax from the 2-way that runs to a more convenient location, even if this is a long coax, it will still work fine.


So I wouldn't need to move the router? Right now it is behind the 2 boxes that are 60 feet away. That would be cool if I left there. I have plenty of extra coax, 2 at every box and 4 in the living room

#62 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 12:36 PM

So I wouldn't need to move the router? Right now it is behind the 2 boxes that are 60 feet away. That would be cool if I left there. I have plenty of extra coax, 2 at every box and 4 in the living room

That was the point I was trying to make.
SAT levels are more important to the receivers than the DECA levels are to the DECAs.
Going three sides around Robinhood's barn, for DECA doesn't matter nearly as much as longer coax to feed a receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#63 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 March 2011 - 12:53 PM

Going three sides around Robinhood's barn, for DECA doesn't matter nearly as much as longer coax to feed a receiver.


Hey VOS, it's the 21st century... We now measure things in feet and inches. Even though it's like yesterday for you, we don't measure things today in cubits or how many times you can wrap something around the barn... :lol:

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#64 ONLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,936 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:21 PM

Actually I prefer to measure in meters.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#65 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:23 PM

That was the point I was trying to make.
SAT levels are more important to the receivers than the DECA levels are to the DECAs.
Going three sides around Robinhood's barn, for DECA doesn't matter nearly as much as longer coax to feed a receiver.


Hey VOS, it's the 21st century... We now measure things in feet and inches. Even though it's like yesterday for you, we don't measure things today in cubits or how many times you can wrap something around the barn... :lol:

- Merg



LOL! Well that is good to know. I cant wait for Saturday now.

#66 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,051 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 March 2011 - 01:58 PM

Hey VOS, it's the 21st century... We now measure things in feet and inches. Even though it's like yesterday for you, we don't measure things today in cubits or how many times you can wrap something around the barn... :lol:

- Merg

You're suggesting I should shift to furlongs & fortnights? :confused:
A.K.A VOS

#67 OFFLINE   bdubz

bdubz

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2011

Posted 05 March 2011 - 02:53 PM

@ oldschool Just wanted to let you know that I just got everything installed and setup. It all works perfectly. MRV, on demand, media share on all 4 boxes with 99% signal on all boxes. It used to only be about 90%. It is all setup like the last diagram. Thanks so much for all your help! I really appreciate it. Thanks to everyone else on this thread too. This forum is awesome!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...