Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dead DECA


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,031 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 01 March 2011 - 12:29 AM

The DECA box feeding my HR22-100 lost all its lights this evening and the picture on both the HR24-100 an H24-200 is badly pixelated. System test on HR24 shows dish alignment error. Network is functioning and the DECA box at the router is alive. Me thinks I need to do a call and get a truck rolling on this. At one point as I was trouble shooting this the system test shows the SWM was defective, but later tests did not show this.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,974 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 March 2011 - 01:00 AM

Go ahead and make the truck rolling, no reason to wait.

#3 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 08:48 AM

The DECA box feeding my HR22-100 lost all its lights this evening and the picture on both the HR24-100 an H24-200 is badly pixelated. System test on HR24 shows dish alignment error. Network is functioning and the DECA box at the router is alive. Me thinks I need to do a call and get a truck rolling on this. At one point as I was trouble shooting this the system test shows the SWM was defective, but later tests did not show this.

The DECA on the HR22 has three LEDs, are they all green?
With the HR24, you can test the DECA network by using the front panel. Press guide & > buttons at the same time [may take more than one try] and you'll see the test menu, coax.
The first screen shows all the nodes [DECAs] and the loss between them and the 24.
The second screen [PHY MESH] shows a matrix of the bit-rates between nodes.

Since the 24 seems to be giving various errors [or not], this may be the problem.
SWiM & DECA have nothing to do with each other.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:16 AM

She said all the lights are off. I would vote for this being above her pay grade, and would suggest a truck roll as well.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#5 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:19 AM

She said all the lights are off. I would vote for this being above her pay grade, and would suggest a truck roll as well.

So were the poorly streaming shows coming from the HR22?
There may be just too many squirrels running around to know what's going on.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:33 AM

Hence my suggestion of a truck roll.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,974 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:53 AM

Hence my suggestion of a truck roll.


Copycat :D

#8 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:56 AM

Yes, Mr. Smith, in this case I agree with you.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,974 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 March 2011 - 10:59 AM

J/k , no need to followup.

#10 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,031 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 01 March 2011 - 01:29 PM

Well guys, thanks for that confidence in what pay grade I am at, oh, and by the way, the computer I am sitting at was built by me, and I run all my own cabling. I did let D* put in the DECA cloud since I hate to crawl under the house. Anyway, last night the pixelation was off the satellite, the SWM power block was on and active, it was the DECA box at the HR22 that was dead so the HR22 was also as far as the network was concerned. I was having a great issue in getting MRV to work at all between my HR24 and H24, both of which were working just bad pictures.

Now this am everything is working again like nothing happened so guess I was in the twilight zone for a while. !devil12:

I have to admit, building a computer is a lot like cooking, read the ingredient list, identify what you need and put it all together. :grin:

Edited by seern, 01 March 2011 - 01:37 PM.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


#11 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 01:39 PM

Great to hear it all worked out!
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#12 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 01 March 2011 - 01:43 PM

Well guys, thanks for that confidence in what pay grade I am at, oh, and by the way, the computer I am sitting at was built by me, and I run all my own cabling. I did let D* put in the DECA cloud since I hate to crawl under the house. Anyway, last night the pixelation was off the satellite, the SWM power block was on and active, it was the DECA box at the HR22 that was dead so the HR22 was also as far as the network was concerned. I was having a great issue in getting MRV to work at all between my HR24 and H24, both of which were working just bad pictures.

Now this am everything is working again like nothing happened so guess I was in the twilight zone for a while. !devil12:

I have to admit, building a computer is a lot like cooking, read the ingredient list, identify what you need and put it all together. :grin:

Your pay grade is high enough to chase squirrels. :lol:
If there is a next time:
on the HR22, reboot it and see if the LEDs come back.
If you want to "geek out", go to a 24 and press the guide & > "buttons" at the same time and go into the coax networking menu. There are two tests/screens. One slows the DECA/nodes and the loss between them and the second show the bit-rates in a matrix.
If you post them, I'll tell you what they mean. :)
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,031 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 01 March 2011 - 04:31 PM

Thanks VOS, will do that.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


#14 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,031 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:15 AM

Well, there was a next time. This morning when I checked the HR22 the DECA box was dead again. Per VOS suggestion I reset the unit and it is back running. We had wind and rain last night but this did no effect my HR24 so I am wondering if something is starting to go wrong with either the HR22 or the DECA box attached to it. The DECA box at the router is working fine and never had a problem.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


#15 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:22 AM

Well, there was a next time. This morning when I checked the HR22 the DECA box was dead again. Per VOS suggestion I reset the unit and it is back running. We had wind and rain last night but this did no effect my HR24 so I am wondering if something is starting to go wrong with either the HR22 or the DECA box attached to it. The DECA box at the router is working fine and never had a problem.

I think you're in the right neighborhood.
Without swapping things around, I'm not sure you could tell which is it.

OK, do you have a volt meter?
If so, wait for this to happen again and see if the HR22 has 12+ volts on the SAT #1 input.
If yes [without a reset BTW] then the DECA is bad.
If no, then the HR22 is the problem.
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,031 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:29 AM

No, VOS, I do not have VOM that works. Mine gave up the ghost years ago and since I have stopped building audio equipment had no need for one. They are cheap, so guess I should get a new one in case it happens again.

Thanks for that very quick reply.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


#17 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 10:34 AM

No, VOS, I do not have VOM that works. Mine gave up the ghost years ago and since I have stopped building audio equipment had no need for one. They are cheap, so guess I should get a new one in case it happens again.

Thanks for that very quick reply.

"If I were to guess", it's the HR22 that stops outputting the voltage.
A.K.A VOS

#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,974 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2011 - 02:31 PM

"If I were to guess", it's the HR22 that stops outputting the voltage.


Is there any method to measure the voltage ?

#19 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,948 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 03:34 PM

Is there any method to measure the voltage ?

With a [VOM] meter, yes, but not in the receiver itself.
A.K.A VOS

#20 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,974 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2011 - 04:21 PM

Would be beneficial for our members to describe the process ? Would it require to open DECA box and measure the voltage inside of it?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...