Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dead DECA


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 04:38 PM

Would be beneficial for our members to describe the process ? Would it require to open DECA box and measure the voltage inside of it?

The DECA connects to the SAT input, so what needs to be measured is the SAT input [center pin to shield] with the DECA removed.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#22 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 March 2011 - 04:46 PM

Then therefore two possible outcomes - no voltage from DVR and drop (perhaps to 0V) under load, by connecting DECA.

#23 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 March 2011 - 05:04 PM

Then therefore two possible outcomes - no voltage from DVR and drop (perhaps to 0V) under load, by connecting DECA.

Yes, on the DVR side and if neither then it's on the DECA side, but this is where I doubt a rebooting would always get it back.
A.K.A VOS

#24 OFFLINE   seern

seern

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,034 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 06:48 PM

I tend to agree VOS, if it was the DECA, then kick starting the 22 would not do much since it,, DECA, is not seeing the voltage vs the DECA fine and the 22 stops outputing the voltage.

Sharon
HR24-100
HR34-700

All units in DECA cloud
H24-100 removed from service


#25 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,270 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 07 March 2011 - 07:53 PM

One of my DECA units lights were out one day after about a month of service
It was an intermittant connection on the short coax into the DECA unit.
The cable is very short and with the DECA unit tucked behind the HR20 and parallel to it, it had just enough stress to make an intermittant connection.

Moved it away from the HR20 so it wasn't parallel and problem solved. Its the cable that comes attached to the DECA unit with the shrink wrap so the assembly was marginal.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...