Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Converting from SWM LNB to SWM-16


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 02 March 2011 - 01:42 PM

I currently have a SWM LNB and 4 DVR's and 1 HD Receiver.

One DVR has a single tuner enabled because of the tuner limit of the SWM LNB. (8 tuners).

I have a couple of questions.......

Is it better to power the SWM 16 thru the "Power Port" or just use SW-1/Power Port ?
I could run 1 less Rg-6 cable....If I use the SWM-1/Power.

Is there an advantage to balance the number of tuners between SW-1 and SW-2 ?
Or should I be concerned with cable length to each receiver ?

The shorter RG-6 runs are upstairs to 3 DVR's (Approx 30 ft each).
The longer runs are down to the first floor, 1 DVR (Approx 55ft) and 1 HD Receiver (Approx 45ft).
I have a distribution closet on the second floor and the run back to the SW-16 is approximately 45 ft.

I have my SWM-16 and 2-4 way green label splitters and will perform the conversion when the weather breaks and I can safely remove siding...

I would prefer to do it the best way, if there is one... even if that means pulling and extra RG-6 cable to power the SWM-16 and or Balancing the system.

Thanks for you time and responses

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C41 Clients and 1-C41W Client


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 01:52 PM

"Frankly" I'd do it the easiest way and be done with it.
Your coax runs aren't long enough to matter nor does "balancing".
While I might balance them, this is more because I wouldn't have to think later if I wanted to dick around with more receivers.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   David Ortiz

David Ortiz

    There for Jeter's flip play

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,194 posts
  • LocationFresno, CA
Joined: Aug 21, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 02:18 PM

Ideally you would only split the signal as much as you had to. If using the dedicated power port on the SWiM-16 allowed me to use a 2-way instead of jumping to a 4-way splitter, or use a 4-way instead of jumping to an 8-way splitter, I would want to use the dedicated power port.

#4 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 02 March 2011 - 02:51 PM

"Frankly" I'd do it the easiest way and be done with it.
Your coax runs aren't long enough to matter nor does "balancing".
While I might balance them, this is more because I wouldn't have to think later if I wanted to dick around with more receivers.


Vos

I might want to add an H-25 in the Kitchen for the better half..

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C41 Clients and 1-C41W Client


#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 02:53 PM

Vos

I might want to add an H-25 in the Kitchen for the better half..

If/when you do, you'd simply need to know/remember what the tuner count is on each of the outputs.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 02 March 2011 - 02:56 PM

Ideally you would only split the signal as much as you had to. If using the dedicated power port on the SWiM-16 allowed me to use a 2-way instead of jumping to a 4-way splitter, or use a 4-way instead of jumping to an 8-way splitter, I would want to use the dedicated power port.


Dave

While I currently have 2-4 Way green splitters.........

I could power it with a separate RG-6 line and for now, use a 4 Way and a 2 Way Splitter.

I would need one 4 way to connect 3 receivers and the B.B. Deca

I could use a 2 way for the other two receivers.... Until we find an H-25 for the Kitchen..........

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C41 Clients and 1-C41W Client


#7 OFFLINE   lzhj9k

lzhj9k

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2009

Posted 02 March 2011 - 03:01 PM

If/when you do, you'd simply need to know/remember what the tuner count is on each of the outputs.


Vos

Yes 8 per SWM output for a total of 16..

I currently have 9 tuners on my SWM LNB with one DVR set up with a single tuner only....

I would still be under the 16 if I add an H-25 for the kitchen.

Now,,,, If I could get an HR34-700 then who knows what the georgraphy would look like....

Mike

 

HR-34  HR-23  H25  2-C41 Clients and 1-C41W Client


#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 02 March 2011 - 03:08 PM

With nine tuners now, and the lengths you posted, this just seems like a no brainer for now. And by this I mean almost any way you connect things will work fine.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...