Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Upgrade to 922 from 722 - Do I lose my HD recordings


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   haydenad

haydenad

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 10 March 2011 - 01:48 PM

If I upgrade to a 922 from a 722 do I lose all my recordings that I have stored on the external HD attached to my 722?

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 March 2011 - 02:27 PM

should not, but as usual you should activate 922 first and keep for while 722 active too, then connect 722's EHD to 922 and check, if it's not working - call CSR and ask to 'refresh' EHD support for the new DVR

Edited by P Smith, 11 March 2011 - 03:04 PM.


#3 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 894 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 10 March 2011 - 04:57 PM

I have both, 722k and the 922. I switch my EHD between receivers with no issues.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#4 OFFLINE   PhantomOG

PhantomOG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 171 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2007

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:52 PM

Last Saturday, I upgraded from a 622 to a 922. As there was an installer involved and I was upgrading, I'm not sure what order of activation/deactivation went on between the 2 receivers but I had no issues -- even though the installer had no idea about whether the EHD would work and keep the recordings.

I was even impatient and plugged the EHD into the 922 right after the install was completed and it worked right away.




spam firewall