Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Single lnb help

hr24

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rushrush1

rushrush1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2011

Posted 21 March 2011 - 09:29 PM

I recently hooked up a single lnb 18 inch dish for a friend on his boat. He went this route due to cheap dish and I told him the 101 bird got most sd channels but no locals(Louisville ky sd locals on 119). He said that's fine , he didn't want the big slimline like I have, also wanted to spend as little as possible . While hooking it up this weekend him and his wife ask me , how will we watch the Derby? Now he wants locals even if just for the derby. My question is can I go to dishpointer and aim this single lnb and pick up 119.

Thanks
Bo

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Wisegoat

Wisegoat

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 803 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 21 March 2011 - 09:51 PM

Not with the 18" dish. Needs 101 for guide data. Have him put up some rabbit ears for OTA if possible.

#3 OFFLINE   eakes

eakes

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 350 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 21 March 2011 - 09:56 PM

Yes, you can re-aim and receive 119, but why not get an old PhaseIII dish which capabilities of 101, 110 and 119. There are a number of those around and you may be able to obtain one for free from someone who has upgraded to Slimline for HD.

The Phase III fits the same mast as the 18 inch dish and is only slightly larger. It will give him 101 and 119 (110 has almost nothing now) full time.

#4 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,226 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 21 March 2011 - 10:52 PM

Yes, you can re-aim and receive 119, but why not get an old PhaseIII dish which capabilities of 101, 110 and 119. There are a number of those around and you may be able to obtain one for free from someone who has upgraded to Slimline for HD.

The Phase III fits the same mast as the 18 inch dish and is only slightly larger. It will give him 101 and 119 (110 has almost nothing now) full time.


No, as wisegoat posted, you can't do that. All systems need to be pointed at 101 otherwise the receiver won't get the data needed to operate (not just guide data).

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 March 2011 - 10:56 PM

Booting time each receiver start from 101W;

so, yeah better then Phase-III dish you'll not find !

#6 OFFLINE   rushrush1

rushrush1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2011

Posted 22 March 2011 - 03:07 PM

Thanks guys , I'll see if he wants to spend $ for phase 3.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hr24

Protected By... spam firewall...And...