Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ROKU new and old users?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,363 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:20 PM

Wow, I din't know Netflix had multiple streams. The Netflix quality on my Apple TV2 is pretty darn good. To me it looked a tad better than my Roku HD. PS3 quality must be phenomenal. :new_Eyecr


They are both 720p. Your OPPO should upscale that to 1080/60p. You should get a better PQ on the OPPO than you do on a Roku or Apple box. I do. By far.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   jameskelly

jameskelly

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2008

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:23 PM

I have it about eight months now, and it is pretty nice. No issues at all. I have the XD version. There are a lot a channels to choose from. Some are junk though. The biggest ones are Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, and Crackle. Rotten Tomatoes is a movie trailer preview channel of what is coming soon. It's pretty nice. Also NASA is in HD. Enjoy.

#28 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,232 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:31 PM

I have a ROKU XDS, Apple TV, Panny Blu-Ray player and Sony Bravia with built in "channels".

The ROKU is pretty much the best for versatility and access. Lots to choose from.

I must admit though, I am starting to use the Sony Bravia streaming capabilities (Netflix, Amazon VOD, etc) more and more. Because there are no cables and external boxes involved, the PQ wins hand down.

The Apple TV is good for ease of use but there are not as many channels to choose from.

The Panny Blu-Ray player is great but navigation is a bit cumbersome.

If I had a choice between all of them, I would still choose the ROKU. It's just an all around good box for streaming stuff.

#29 OFFLINE   Hutchinshouse

Hutchinshouse

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,632 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 29 July 2011 - 02:39 PM

They are both 720p. Your OPPO should upscale that to 1080/60p. You should get a better PQ on the OPPO than you do on a Roku or Apple box. I do. By far.

Rich


I'm currently old school. I have the Oppo BDP-83.

Soon I will have the BDP-93. I'll buy the 93 around the time I upgrade my TV.

Currently I'm feeding the Apple TV2 through my Faroudja HD video scaler. Picture quality is pretty darn good too.

#30 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,290 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 29 July 2011 - 03:03 PM

They are both 720p. Your OPPO should upscale that to 1080/60p. You should get a better PQ on the OPPO than you do on a Roku or Apple box. I do. By far.

Rich

The new Roku 2 XS and XD stream Netflix at 1080p like the PS3. So the Roku 2 beats Oppo for Netflix PQ.

#31 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 29 November 2011 - 01:38 PM

I really don't like Sammy products, so you can be sure that I'm not making this up. There's still a lot to dislike about the 5500s. The remote is almost impossible to use by feel in a dark room, the counters on the front of the displays just stop sometimes. Don't know why, but it keeps happening. I can't get sound sometimes if I switch from playing a disc to NetFlix streaming content. Have to shut them down and start all over. Sounds like a piece of junk, doesn't it? But the PQ is well worth all those problems. Best I've ever had.

Rich


Looks interesting. just 2 questions. Does it have a " front" usb port, and can I play AVI' movie files on this model? I currently have a sam that does, but I was looking for a BD that upscales regular DVD's. If it can't play the avi's it is a dealbreaker for me. Yes, alot of sams have alot of quircky issues, but the PQ is very good.

thanks in advance

#32 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,363 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 November 2011 - 02:56 PM

Looks interesting. just 2 questions. Does it have a " front" usb port, and can I play AVI' movie files on this model? I currently have a sam that does, but I was looking for a BD that upscales regular DVD's. If it can't play the avi's it is a dealbreaker for me. Yes, alot of sams have alot of quircky issues, but the PQ is very good.

thanks in advance


Aw, now I gotta get up and look, wait one...yup, it does have a USB port in the front panel. I opened the flap to look at it and the Sammy turned itself, my TV and my AV system on... :lol:

About the AVI movie files. I have no idea what they are, but here's a
link to the 5500 I have, perhaps you can figure that out or call them and ask them. There is also a BD-D5500 out now that does 3D.

I can't say enough about how well the C5500 I have upscales standard DVDs and NetFlix content. I would think the D5500 does as well.

Rich

#33 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 09 December 2011 - 04:55 PM

Aw, now I gotta get up and look, wait one...yup, it does have a USB port in the front panel. I opened the flap to look at it and the Sammy turned itself, my TV and my AV system on... :lol:

About the AVI movie files. I have no idea what they are, but here's a
link to the 5500 I have, perhaps you can figure that out or call them and ask them. There is also a BD-D5500 out now that does 3D.

I can't say enough about how well the C5500 I have upscales standard DVDs and NetFlix content. I would think the D5500 does as well.

Rich


AVI is a type of file you can load on a usb stick and play it back. This is how I watch video's from Graboid. My current samy has a front usb and plays these files back like a dream.

Thanks for checking, seriously, did opening up the front panel fire it up?

I guess I will have to call or do a google search, as it lists many, but I need to be sure..............[ about the AVI"S]

Edited by satcrazy, 09 December 2011 - 05:00 PM.


#34 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,363 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:19 PM

AVI is a type of file you can load on a usb stick and play it back. This is how I watch video's from Graboid. My current samy has a front usb and plays these files back like a dream.


So much I don't know...Thanx for explaining.

Thanks for checking, seriously, did opening up the front panel fire it up?


Seriously, it sure did. Just one of the many odd things I've seen it do. And when the BD player comes on, the TV comes on and the AV system comes on. I've learned to live with this thing because it does it's basic job so well.

I guess I will have to call or do a google search, as it lists many, but I need to be sure..............[ about the AVI"S]


You could try calling them up, that should be a confidence builder....:lol:

Rich

#35 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 14 December 2011 - 11:18 AM

So much I don't know...Thanx for explaining.



Seriously, it sure did. Just one of the many odd things I've seen it do. And when the BD player comes on, the TV comes on and the AV system comes on. I've learned to live with this thing because it does it's basic job so well.



You could try calling them up, that should be a confidence builder....:lol:

Rich


According to a google search [ yeah, I heard about the CS at samsung, lol] It does support AVI's, so does the d5500.

#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,363 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 14 December 2011 - 01:16 PM

According to a google search [ yeah, I heard about the CS at samsung, lol] It does support AVI's, so does the d5500.


That D5500 isn't getting the good reviews that the D5700 is getting. Don't know how much you can go by the reviews, but I have read a lot of them and some seemed like the reviewer knew what he was talking about. Wish I had a link to some of them. Amazon's reviews seem to liberally sprinkled with reviews by people who don't have a clue, so I usually take them with a grain of salt.

Rich

#37 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 14 December 2011 - 03:39 PM

That D5500 isn't getting the good reviews that the D5700 is getting. Don't know how much you can go by the reviews, but I have read a lot of them and some seemed like the reviewer knew what he was talking about. Wish I had a link to some of them. Amazon's reviews seem to liberally sprinkled with reviews by people who don't have a clue, so I usually take them with a grain of salt.

Rich


OK, assuming they all play AVI's by front usb port, I would ask which one does the best upscaling of standard DVD's ? I don't stream as my dsl is too slow, so that's a non issue for me. I just don't want to have to replace all my regular dvds.

#38 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,363 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 15 December 2011 - 10:58 AM

OK, assuming they all play AVI's by front usb port, I would ask which one does the best upscaling of standard DVD's ? I don't stream as my dsl is too slow, so that's a non issue for me. I just don't want to have to replace all my regular dvds.


Most of the reviews I've read raved about the upscaling on DVDs and NetFlix content. That was pretty much the same across the board on the Sammys. From the most expensive to the cheapest. I only have experience with the C5500s, but I need another one and I'm trying to decide between the D5500 and the D5700.

Apparently, they all use the same remote, so buying a newer model doesn't resolve those issues.

If I didn't have a NetFlix sub, I'd be happy with a Panasonic. They seem to upscale standard DVDs as well as the Sammys do, it's in the NetFlix content that you really see the upscaling difference. The remote on the Pannys is a bit of a PITA, too. Not nearly as bad as the Sammy remote, tho.

Rich

#39 OFFLINE   satcrazy

satcrazy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
  • LocationGreat lakes, NW Pa.
Joined: Mar 15, 2011

Posted 15 December 2011 - 12:45 PM

Thanks rich.

#40 OFFLINE   fpembleton

fpembleton

    Mentor

  • Unregistered / Not Logged In
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2005

Posted 22 December 2011 - 05:58 AM

I have had the XDS for about a year. I am very satisfied. Anytime I have had a question that I am unable to find the answer, the support group is first class and very prompt in responding. Not sure about the .avi file compatiblity. Good question. I know of a software product you can install on a pc and it will play .avi wirelessly to the Roku.
"Revenge is the weak pleasure of a narrow mind"

#41 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,496 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 22 December 2011 - 06:53 AM

...I know of a software product you can install on a pc and it will play .avi wirelessly to the Roku.

It would be nice to know that information.

.


~ 13 Years on DBSTalk ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...