Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Coax


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:26 PM

Much appreciated, I'll do that. :D Need to install an ird in the bedroom anyway. Any suggestions on where to acquire the right RG-6 cables for the install?


Depends if you have SWM or standard, and how long the run is. If you have SWM, and the run is under 100 feet, any RG6 with compression connectors will be fine. Lowes, Home Depot, Wal Mart, Solid Signal, and probably monoprice.com all sell them. You can even use RG59 if you already have it in your wall, with SWM, if the cable is in good shape.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   AttiTech

AttiTech

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 499 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2011

Posted 30 March 2011 - 07:50 PM

Depends if you have SWM or standard, and how long the run is. If you have SWM, and the run is under 100 feet, any RG6 with compression connectors will be fine. Lowes, Home Depot, Wal Mart, Solid Signal, and probably monoprice.com all sell them. You can even use RG59 if you already have it in your wall, with SWM, if the cable is in good shape.


Alright, It's probably about 15 feet or so and no SWM.

#3 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,087 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 30 March 2011 - 08:18 PM

15 feet you can use any RG6 or even RG59 in a pinch. Just get them with compression connectors for waterproofing and better connection. That said, I have in a pinch, used a 25' chuck of old used RG59 with twist on F connectors over the winter after a rat (no kidding) chewed through one of my RG6 runs. I had the same signal readings on the RG59 as the RG6QS (one was hooked to each tuner), so other than DirecTv's over the top requirements to prevent callbacks on tech installs, in the real world, its not that important.

I really think compression connectors are the way to go, just because of their waterproofing, and the fact they dont damage the coax end like crimp on connectors can (and most pre-made coax sets use crimp on). It will work tho, if thats all you have.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"





spam firewall