Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD $10.00 - Do I need it?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Dimitsana

Dimitsana

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2011

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:32 AM

Dish Network raised the "America's Top 120" from 34.00 to $44.99.

My question is:
When I view, for example CNN the "HD" 200 and the non HD 200, I see no observable difference in resolution or, anythinh else. I know HD has more pixels and more Interlace or progessive scan info. But, if my eyes see no big difference does it make any sense to pay DISH $10.00 for HD?. So I am thinking I should eliminate the $10.00 HD I now have to reduce my cost.

I have the VIP211-HD receiver.
Any thinking about the above? Is this doable?

I thank you!
Kosmas

My programming now is is HD = $ 10.00
America's Top 120 = $ 34.99
Greek ERT World = $ 14.99
$ 59.98

Tax = 3.42

TOTAL = $63.40

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:36 AM

Call them and thy can give you free hd
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   Dimitsana

Dimitsana

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2011

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:45 AM

Kevin,
I think they charge a one time fee of $99.00 for "life-Time" free HD and that ain't no gift.

#4 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:50 AM

If you can't see it, why pay for it?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#5 OFFLINE   TommyF@DISH Network

TommyF@DISH Network

    Legend

  • DISH Representative
  • 132 posts
  • LocationLittleton, CO
Joined: Jan 05, 2011

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:51 AM

Kevin,
I think they charge a one time fee of $99.00 for "life-Time" free HD and that ain't no gift.


The gift itself isn't the cost, but rather no cost for HD. The $99 fee is only one option. The other one is a 2 year contract w/ Credit Card Autopay and Paperless. It is true you can get the free HD that way you can keep it, but not pay anything.

You could also remove it if it came down to it to save that $10, if you'd like to PM me an account # or phone # I can check the account out for you and see what can be done to help.

Tommy Faust
Social Media Representative
Sunday-Wednesday 6:00a-5:00p (MST)


#6 OFFLINE   Dimitsana

Dimitsana

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2011

Posted 31 March 2011 - 10:57 AM

Thanks for the suggestions.
However, can you tell me should there be an observable difference when I view, let say CNN 200 HD and CNN 200 without HD?
Thanks

#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,691 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 31 March 2011 - 11:21 AM

Thanks for the suggestions.
However, can you tell me should there be an observable difference when I view, let say CNN 200 HD and CNN 200 without HD?
Thanks


What kind of TV? Is it an HDTV?

What size of TV?

Is your Dish receiver configured to output at HD resolution?

If you don't have an HDTV, then there's no point.

If you have a small HDTV, you might not see a difference either.

If you don't have the receiver configured to output HD then you definitely can't see a difference.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#8 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,132 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 31 March 2011 - 11:26 AM

Dish Network raised the "America's Top 120" from 34.00 to $44.99.

My question is:
When I view, for example CNN the "HD" 200 and the non HD 200, I see no observable difference in resolution or, anythinh else. I know HD has more pixels and more Interlace or progessive scan info. But, if my eyes see no big difference does it make any sense to pay DISH $10.00 for HD?. So I am thinking I should eliminate the $10.00 HD I now have to reduce my cost.

I have the VIP211-HD receiver.
Any thinking about the above? Is this doable?

I thank you!
Kosmas

My programming now is is HD = $ 10.00
America's Top 120 = $ 34.99
Greek ERT World = $ 14.99
$ 59.98

Tax = 3.42

TOTAL = $63.40


Are you sure you have an HD set?

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#9 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 31 March 2011 - 12:15 PM

Are you sure you have an HD set?



:new_Eyecr:new_Eyecr:new_Eyecr:new_Eyecr

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#10 OFFLINE   tymekeeper

tymekeeper

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 158 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 31 March 2011 - 01:19 PM

Also, if the tv is an HD set, be sure it is set to output the 9:16 and not 4:3 and also that you are not using a zoom level on the TV or Dish box. CNN in SD should have black bars on the side and CNN HD should be full screen.

#11 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,820 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 31 March 2011 - 06:38 PM

There is a HUGE difference. So if you can't see one, you have some setting or connection wrong, or do not have an HD TV.

#12 OFFLINE   finniganps

finniganps

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,517 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 01 April 2011 - 10:58 AM

There is a HUGE difference. So if you can't see one, you have some setting or connection wrong, or do not have an HD TV.

I agree completely.

#13 OFFLINE   MattScahum

MattScahum

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 151 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2010

Posted 01 April 2011 - 11:35 PM

There is a HUGE difference. So if you can't see one, you have some setting or connection wrong, or do not have an HD TV.


dont wanna break the bandwagon, but I agree 100%. what I suggest is all assuming you have an hdtv, which I would hope as to not make the thread pointless..
-as was posted you should see black bars on the side of the CNN SD channel and it shoudl take the whole screen up with the CNN HD channel...am at a friends house who has dish and took the liberty of checking that out to confirm it is the same as my D* and it is.
-make sure you are using component video(red,blue,green) cables or an HDMI(the preferred option) to set it up. you can have it set to red,white,yellow composite and the signal for all intesive purposes would be equal. check that connection.
-go to your menu and check your resolution settings...should see options for at the least 720p, 1080i and I would check them both..

If you do all of that and STILL do not see a difference between a SD and an HD picture then unfortunately there isn't much you can do aside from removing the HD. I have a feeling it wont be necessary and if you are happy with the service you get I would either do the 2 yr agreement and set up ABP and PL billing. Or just pay the $99 as you are basically paying for 10 months of HD to never pay for it again.
Even though I am an employee, my thoughts/comments/ideas are mine and not affiliated whatsoever with Directv as a company/employer/etc.

~TV Setup~

Panasonic 42PZ80U
Onkyo TXSR606
Xbox 360 250gb Slim
Samsung BDP-1500 Blu Ray
DirecTV HR24-500 HD DVR
Monster Power 1600
Harmony One remote

#14 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 08 April 2011 - 10:37 AM

There is a HUGE difference. So if you can't see one, you have some setting or connection wrong, or do not have an HD TV.



There is even a difference if you only have an SDTV like I do.Dish Network's MPEG4 picture is a better picture than their MPEG2 picture.:)

I have my 722k/w MT2 hooked up 480i Component and Ch.3 RF.;):D

#15 OFFLINE   Mike500

Mike500

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,340 posts
Joined: May 10, 2002

Posted 08 April 2011 - 10:54 AM

Of the two smaller HD sets, I have an older Sharp 26 inch and a ViewSonic 22 inch. There is a very distinct difference on the 26 inch. It has only component video, no HDMI. The 211 is set at 1080p.

There is not so much a difference on the 22 inch.

The 42 inch Panasonic plasma is fantastic on the other 211.

As a long term customer of 12 years and one who has always paid on time and NEVER asked for anything special, Dish gave me the complete upgrade for FREE with FREE HD for LIFE only the 24 month commitment. They activated the paperless billing but waived the credit card autopay requiremend. The also waived the $99 charge.

it doesn't hurt to ask for a supervisor, if you have an issue with a CSR.

#16 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 11 April 2011 - 12:35 PM

Funny how the OP stopped replying...
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#17 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,933 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 12 April 2011 - 10:14 PM

There is even a difference if you only have an SDTV like I do.Dish Network's MPEG4 picture is a better picture than their MPEG2 picture.:)

I have my 722k/w MT2 hooked up 480i Component and Ch.3 RF.;):D


Ditto! I can see a huge difference between SD & HD versions of some channels on my 14 year old Trinitron, especially sports on RSN's. Not so much on the news channels. CNN is not the best network to compare HD and SD. Their SD version is letter-boxed so you see a 16x9 image on a 4x3 screen (FNC as well). The good thing with these channels is an SD viewer does not lose the sides of the picture and the proportions are not distorted. The local channels OTOH are cropped, some "cable networks" have little or no true HD content on their HD versions (virtually all the "music channels" are the worst offenders). If most of the HD versions were like MTV, paying for HD would be a ripoff!

BTW: You should be getting several other channels for your $10 that are not in the top-200, I believe they are called HD Platinum. With "Free-for-all" you get all the "Top-xx" channels that are available in HD without the Platinum channels.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#18 OFFLINE   DanB_DISH

DanB_DISH

    Cool Member

  • DISH Representative
  • 27 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2011

Posted 13 April 2011 - 04:00 PM

Just another possible thought is the picture quality may be lacking because of the quality of cable you are using. I recently upgraded my living room TV to a 50 inch Sanyo. At first I didn't see much of a difference and was noticing intermittent pixellation on all of my channels. I upgraded my cable to one I bought from Sears for around $30 which was capable of handling more frames per second. The picture was not only much clearer the pixellation stopped completely. If you'd like assistance in this matter you can feel free to PM myself or Tommy and we can get a better quality picture for you.
Daniel Busa
DISH Internet Response Team
3:00PM-11:00PM (MST)
Tues.-Sat.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...