Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Renaming channels


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 07 April 2011 - 08:29 AM

I renamed a couple OTA channels because Dish had them wrong. Is there a way to use lower case letters when entering the new names?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,168 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 07 April 2011 - 10:05 AM

NOPE.

#3 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 07 April 2011 - 01:41 PM

Thanks for confirming as I did not see any way to do it.

#4 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,795 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 07 April 2011 - 06:37 PM

It would be nice if Dish would implement an alternate set of lowercase characters you could toggle for the renaming.

I once renamed a recording and didn't like that you couldn't choose what to capitalize and what not to capitalize.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#5 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 07 April 2011 - 09:22 PM

I hear ya.
Dish does use lowercase letters, so it can be done. But just not by the user.

#6 OFFLINE   renegade

renegade

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 03 December 2011 - 03:21 AM

Actually, if you scroll through the letters using the number keys, you'll get uppercase letters, then the digit, then lowercase letters. Seems like a lot of button-pushing, but it works.

Dish 1000.4 Eastern Arc: 61.5/72.7/77 with 119 wing dish
3 - ViP 211k/1TB external drive
Solo 508 DVR - Let's Pay More Fees! <-retired
Solo 301E <-retired

subscriber since 2/2000
AT200/Superstations/East-West distant nets
HD for Life since 3/2011
OTA antennas pointed at two markets: 32 channels
dedicated to getting Superstations in HD on Dish Network


#7 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,843 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 04 December 2011 - 11:41 AM

Learn something everyday. Will have to try that, thanks!

#8 OFFLINE   eurosport84

eurosport84

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 05 December 2011 - 11:42 AM

Actually, if you scroll through the letters using the number keys, you'll get uppercase letters, then the digit, then lowercase letters. Seems like a lot of button-pushing, but it works.


Very cool. Thanks, I didn't know that. :)
eurosport

#9 OFFLINE   Mike109

Mike109

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2010

Posted 08 December 2011 - 01:54 AM

Actually, if you scroll through the letters using the number keys, you'll get uppercase letters, then the digit, then lowercase letters. Seems like a lot of button-pushing, but it works.


Thanks,
It worked for me.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...