Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Vip 722 vs Vip 722K


  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,640 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 13 April 2011 - 11:10 AM

So you are saying that if my neighbor wants to switch over to Dish Network from Directv and wants a HDDVR he could end up with a 622, 722, or 722K and they may not necessarily be new units but could be refurbs? I refer a lot of people and in the last 12 months I've seen nothing but new 722K's. When they asked, or I asked for them, we were told that no new 722's were available or even being produced anymore. Since the 722K's were all that I've seen I assumed this was true.



He could but if he has done his homework he would request a 722k/wMT2 and if the Dish Network CSR said that is what you will have installed.Now when the installer arrives and tries to install something else(not what he ordered,a common lack of communication) he does not have to sign the contract,until what was promised to be installed is.:)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 13 April 2011 - 12:00 PM

Or order a 922
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#28 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,542 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 13 April 2011 - 12:39 PM

Or even better, go to a local Dish retailer and tell them what you want. You'll get new product and exactly what you order.

Lloyd
Receiver : Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey, Genie
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#29 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 13 April 2011 - 02:45 PM

Is there any advantage to Dish Network itself if you order from them or someone else? Obviously it would keep more Dish people employed wouldn't it?

#30 ONLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,542 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 13 April 2011 - 03:41 PM

The only advantage to Dish Network itself if you buy from them is that you cut their cost slightly on the equipment I think.

But who cares? Other than Dish of course. We are responsible to get the best possible deal we can with the equipment we want. Since Dish doesn't allow for the selection of equipment, then don't we owe it to ourselves to get it elsewhere?

BTW, this very same situation exists at DirecTV too. When you start up with them, you will get 'whatever is on the truck', just like with Dish. Personally I don't like that.

Lloyd
Receiver : Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey, Genie
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#31 OFFLINE   gtal98

gtal98

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2011

Posted 13 April 2011 - 05:41 PM

The advantage of having a true Dish installer is the quality of the installation - I've seen so many jobs installed by retailers that were absolute crap. I'm sure not all are this way - but many are.

And as I said before - all Dish trucks will have at least one 722/722k when they roll in the morning. If someone asks me to put one of those in instead of a 622 I will, as long as I don't need the 722(k) for a Google TV or Sling Adapter install later. I would think most installers would do this as well.

#32 OFFLINE   Ray_Schwarz

Ray_Schwarz

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jan 22, 2003

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:09 PM

:)

He could but if he has done his homework he would request a 722k/wMT2 and if the Dish Network CSR said that is what you will have installed.Now when the installer arrives and tries to install something else(not what he ordered,a common lack of communication) he does not have to sign the contract,until what was promised to be installed is.:)


I ordered a "dish it up" upgrade to a VIP722K/wMT2 for my failing VIP622 on
Monday. Just as you noted, when the installer arrived he had a refurb VIP722 to install. Thanks to the information I have gained from the forum, I convinced him there was a difference and he went back to the office and got
a 722k/wMT2 to install. He said he had worked for Dish for seven years and
I was the first customer who knew (or cared) about the difference.

One difference I have noted is the volume leveling software was on the VIP722K.

#33 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:07 AM

That's really interesting Ray and I'm glad you posted. When a cr tells you the only difference between the 722 and the 722K is the storage space you have to wonder. When I read here that the installers as well as Dish employees consider the duo DVR as a class unto itself and do not differentiate between the 622, the 722, and the 722K when it comes to what the customer wants or could best appreciate it really puzzles me. In a new install what sub could justify choosing a 622 over a 722 or 722K if the differences were explained to them as it was to me when I first joined the Dish family? Thus I always recommend ordering from an independent and do a little home work on the available HD DVR's. Have you ever went to the Dish web site and tried to get information concerning the differences between these three DVR's? On the flip side, Who in their right mind would switch to Directv (I know I know) and not insist on the HR24?

#34 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,640 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:43 AM

:)

I ordered a "dish it up" upgrade to a VIP722K/wMT2 for my failing VIP622 on
Monday. Just as you noted, when the installer arrived he had a refurb VIP722 to install. Thanks to the information I have gained from the forum, I convinced him there was a difference and he went back to the office and got
a 722k/wMT2 to install. He said he had worked for Dish for seven years and
I was the first customer who knew (or cared) about the difference.

One difference I have noted is the volume leveling software was on the VIP722K.



Congratulations Ray you have realized knowledge is power and a installer's nightmare.;)

Another difference is you can record 4 programs at the same time(2 OTA+2 SAT) while watching a prerecorded program.:D

#35 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,640 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:56 AM

That's really interesting Ray and I'm glad you posted. When a cr tells you the only difference between the 722 and the 722K is the storage space you have to wonder. When I read here that the installers as well as Dish employees consider the duo DVR as a class unto itself and do not differentiate between the 622, the 722, and the 722K when it comes to what the customer wants or could best appreciate it really puzzles me. In a new install what sub could justify choosing a 622 over a 722 or 722K if the differences were explained to them as it was to me when I first joined the Dish family? Thus I always recommend ordering from an independent and do a little home work on the available HD DVR's. Have you ever went to the Dish web site and tried to get information concerning the differences between these three DVR's? On the flip side, Who in their right mind would switch to Directv (I know I know) and not insist on the HR24?



Well I would imagine we know why,their doing it to save money but on the other hand an unhappy customer can kill a business so I guess it's a gamble.They hope they can get away with it and the customer won't know the difference.:rolleyes:

And they will be happy somewhat,at least until they find out different here.:eek2::nono2:

#36 OFFLINE   Orion9

Orion9

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:47 AM

In my experience very few customers could tell you what kind of satellite or cable box they have. They sign up for some package of channels and someone drops off the equipment required to make that work. If the box has any recording capability, it's likely that they will refer to it as a "TiVo".

#37 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:57 AM

In my experience very few customers could tell you what kind of satellite or cable box they have. They sign up for some package of channels and someone drops off the equipment required to make that work. If the box has any recording capability, it's likely that they will refer to it as a "TiVo".


Once upon a time I would agree with you. But now that many have seen friends setups and have actually been referred I see more and more questioning what they get and how to use it to its fullest. I suggest that anybody here that has a friend that is a Dish customer, especially if they have a HD DVR, check and see if they are aware of the full potential of these DVR's. Unless they are as into this stuff as much as you are they probably would greatly benefit from your insight.

#38 OFFLINE   cj9788

cj9788

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,663 posts
Joined: May 14, 2003

Posted 14 April 2011 - 02:07 PM

On the system info screen for model ID will it say 722 if its a 722 and 722K if its a 722K?

#39 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:02 PM

Yes.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#40 OFFLINE   cj9788

cj9788

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,663 posts
Joined: May 14, 2003

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:13 PM

I maybe stupid or a little slow with this question, but which is better 722 or 722k?

#41 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:42 PM

I have heard that the 722K has a different chip set but I've never read any elaboration as to which one may be better. What is the difference between the two hard drives? The 722K and its remote look different (worse in my opinion) 722 = built in OTA tuner. 722K offers $$$ dual ad on OTA tuner but nothing built in. Both take up to a 2GB external hard drive with no activation fee (for less than $100 = one of the best and smartest additions for anyone that does much recording). I have not seen any difference in the PQ between the 722 and 722K. The 722 is no longer being manufactured even though you may still see a few floating around in some warehouses. Not sure why the 722K was even born (maybe a bigger hard drive) as it seems to offer less than the 722 in it's base form.

Edited by inazsully, 14 April 2011 - 03:48 PM.


#42 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:52 PM

Perhaps it is giving us broad view to the OP question, but real E* reasons still unknown.

[regarding manufacturer's guess - no need do that, just get it here]


Where do you find such a suffix? On the DVR itself?

I do not see in System Info or Counters.

Another difference I think I noticed: The 722K has better case ventilation. It has vents on the bottom. This makes a laptop cooler under it more effective.
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#43 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,221 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:02 PM

Where do you find such a suffix? On the DVR itself?

I do not see in System Info or Counters.

Another difference I think I noticed: The 722K has better case ventilation. It has vents on the bottom. This makes a laptop cooler under it more effective.

That would be a question for DTV forum ... Yes, it is on a label/bottom/SC bay/sys info screen ... three digits after a dash ...

#44 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:34 PM

That would be a question for DTV forum ... Yes, it is on a label/bottom/SC bay/sys info screen ... three digits after a dash ...


Yes but your post was here in the Dish forums. :)
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#45 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,221 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 April 2011 - 08:07 PM

Yes but your post was here in the Dish forums. :)

Perhaps I was carelessly respond to inazsully's post ... post#14 is what you need ;)

#46 OFFLINE   Tiny

Tiny

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 72 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2009

Posted 20 October 2012 - 09:48 AM

Called dish for a DVR upgrade and i found out its a vip 722 I thought it was a 722k its to be delivered monday but Id rather have the 722k u think they would give a 722k replacement and i send back 722.... thanks

#47 OFFLINE   HDlover

HDlover

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2006

Posted 21 October 2012 - 11:12 PM

Tell them you want the 722k with the OTA module included. If not, the 722 gives you one OTA tuner included.

#48 OFFLINE   wyy183

wyy183

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2012

Posted 22 October 2012 - 01:06 AM

Tell them you want the 722k with the OTA module included. If not, the 722 gives you one OTA tuner included.


When I had a 722 that was giving fits, they came out with a 722K on the truck (about a year ago.) I do/did OTA recording, on a regular basis. They (CSR) told me that it would be ~$50 for OTA module. I finally convinced her to pass me to a supervisor, who agreed that I should not have to pay for the module since I already had it in my previous (defective) receiver.

The 722K is faster than a 722. They have the same size hard drive.

I had multiple 722's and 722K's.

FWIW - the same OTA module works in the 922 as well.

#49 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 348 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 22 October 2012 - 11:25 AM

I had a 612 (solo of course) and when it started acting up I upgraded my sys to a 722K. CSR told me the difference was the duo factor and HD size. I should have researched, so it was my fault, but I sure miss having OTA in the living room (but not enuf to pay $50 for it LOL)

#50 OFFLINE   tdfxman

tdfxman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 16 November 2012 - 12:16 AM

newbie question, I read the whole thread.

722k/wMT2

I think that is the 722K with the OTA module installed.

Is that right? I have read other threads where the installer has given the person one who asked.

Also, how do you know if you get a new 722k or a refurb one? What is the easiest way to tell?

I have an install coming up from DTV for 11 years. This has been some fun reading about Dish.

We had the tivo and used season pass all the time. It appears "timers" are the new word to get used to? Or is Dish Pass, I have not gotten to that yet in my research, is the same thing?

I hope this switch goes well.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...