Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM 3 LNB Split?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   aganno

aganno

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2011

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:01 AM

Directv just installed a SWM 3 Dish/LNB, which goes to 8 Way Wide Band Splitter and all is working. My question is if I go over 8 tuners can that signal be split? I asked the installer and he said yes with an additional SWM 8. Is this correct, because the dish has its own multiswitch built in.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:06 AM

No, you will need a legacy LNB and a SWM16 to exceed the 8 tuner limit.
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#3 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,271 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:01 AM

No, you will need a legacy LNB and a SWM16 to exceed the 8 tuner limit.


Or a legacy LNB with the four outputs split going to two SWM-8's.

However, matt's suggestion is better as the SWM-16 would be much easier to setup and can bridge a DECA network as well.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#4 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:46 PM

Yes, there are many possible combinations but the take home point is that there is no way you are going to get more than 8 tuners* out of a SWM LNB.

*9 tuners if you want to be technical about it, which I'm sure you do. :D
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#5 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,035 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:58 PM

Yes, there are many possible combinations but the take home point is that there is no way you are going to get more than 8 tuners* out of a SWM LNB.

*9 tuners if you want to be technical about it, which I'm sure you do. :D


??9 tuners?? only 8...

#6 OFFLINE   netraa

netraa

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 483 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:22 PM

No, you will need a legacy LNB and a SWM16 to exceed the 8 tuner limit.


Correct, if you don't use the 3 legacy ports on a swm8....

#7 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 14 April 2011 - 05:29 PM

??9 tuners?? only 8...


It's a dedicated guide data tuner. Look at your SWM strengths on the IRD's signal meters. ;)
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#8 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,035 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:31 PM

No, it's not really a tuner in the same sense as the other eight, which are in the receivers. It's a dedicated guide SWM CHANNEL. Every tuner connected to the SWM receives it.

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,655 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 April 2011 - 08:01 PM

No, it's not really a tuner in the same sense as the other eight, which are in the receivers. It's a dedicated guide SWM CHANNEL. Every tuner connected to the SWM receives it.

We're getting down to splitting hairs here, "but" each receiver has a network "tuner" that it a narrow band tuner for the guide data. The DVRs actually have three internal tuners, two for recording and one just for the guide data and other info in the stream.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 15 April 2011 - 01:50 AM

We're getting down to splitting hairs here, "but" each receiver has a network "tuner" that it a narrow band tuner for the guide data. The DVRs actually have three internal tuners, two for recording and one just for the guide data and other info in the stream.


Agreed;

"Splitting hairs" indeed ... :D

But to engage in such "hair splitting" just once more. I guess the more accurate way of explaining it is that the basic SWiM module or LNB uses up to eight separate RF channels to distribute programming to as many as eight independent satellite tuners in aggregate (up to two for each DVR, 1 for a STB receiver).

A ninth RF channel (~974 MHz) from the SWiM is common to all receivers and is used by a special narrowband "Network Tuner" aboard each of them.

#11 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,035 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:40 AM

Correct. But for normal explanations (how many tuners can you drive per SWM LNB), it's accurate to say 8 tuners, not 2+1 per DVR and 1+1 per receiver which is correct from an electronics perspective. And certainly not 9..

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,655 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:56 AM

I'm not going to try to split this hair any finer.
ALL SWiM outputs can handle eight tuners and no more.
The SWiM-16 & SWiM-32 have multiple outputs, but are still limited to EIGHT tuners on each.
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   liquidctv

liquidctv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:21 PM

Does DirecTV have a good solution to 9-tuner installs?

For swim, they will throw a swim-16 at it. For legacy, it's just, "show up and figure it out."

It's dicey to chain 6x8's off each other. It only gives you 12 outputs, and if the 6x8's are slightly bad, you will have errors.

The proper solution, which is to install 4 power-passing splitters, means $12 in additional material costs, and it's not clear that DirecTV reimburses for this.

So, what do you guys do on 9-tuner installs (aka upgrades)?

#14 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:28 PM

Does DirecTV have a good solution to 9-tuner installs?

For swim, they will throw a swim-16 at it. For legacy, it's just, "show up and figure it out."

It's dicey to chain 6x8's off each other. It only gives you 12 outputs, and if the 6x8's are slightly bad, you will have errors.

The proper solution, which is to install 4 power-passing splitters, means $12 in additional material costs, and it's not clear that DirecTV reimburses for this.

So, what do you guys do on 9-tuner installs (aka upgrades)?


SWiM-16 it. Legacy receivers get replaced with SWiM capable ones.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#15 OFFLINE   liquidctv

liquidctv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2010

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:17 PM

Yeah? What if they have a bunch of D-11's?

#16 ONLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,818 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 April 2011 - 08:10 AM

In a conversion to SWM, D11's would be replaced with D12s.




spam firewall