Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

advice needed on connected home


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nancyh1980

nancyh1980

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2011

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:36 AM

This is has been one of the most frustrating experience. My grandmother's (4) TVs are connected to DirecTV service. (3) of them has the latest HD DVR and the 4th one has the digital box.
Each TV location has unused Cat5E cable going back to central area.
Due to her age, for mother's day, I would like to get her the ability to:
1) Directv: record and watch on different TVs
2) Netflix: watch on all TV.
I was not there but the 1st and 2nd Directv contractor arrived and stated that they need to return. Of course, each time, they leave mud prints....
I have a close friend who does high-end low voltage wiring (IP MP cameras...). I talked to him and he told me just tell him what to run and do for the setup and it is not difficult to run or add wires.
Experts, thanks for your time and help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 April 2011 - 07:59 AM

We've got all kinds of info here: http://www.dbstalk.c...splay.php?f=137

It would really help for you to list exactly what hardware/models she has too.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,442 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 15 April 2011 - 08:01 AM

Which digital box on the 4th TV?

If they all have ethernet, it should be as simple as plugging the ethernet into each box (assuming the other ends are all connected to your router), activating networking on the boxes and then calling D* and getting MRV activated (for $3 per month).

That will solve #1.

For #2, you need to have a box that can deliver Netflix (D* receivers don't do that), and that's a whole different configuration issue.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#4 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,850 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 April 2011 - 08:04 AM

Which digital box on the 4th TV?

If they all have ethernet, it should be as simple as plugging the ethernet into each box (assuming the other ends are all connected to your router), activating networking on the boxes and then calling D* and getting MRV activated (for $3 per month).

That will solve #1.

For #2, you need to have a box that can deliver Netflix (D* receivers don't do that), and that's a whole different configuration issue.

(3) of them has the latest HD DVR

These may be DECA but we just don't know yet :shrug:
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...