Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New DVR, but how to hook up DECA?

hdmi

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ToBeFrank

ToBeFrank

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: May 15, 2009

Posted 16 April 2011 - 05:51 PM

I received a free DVR upgrade (HR22) to replace the H23 receiver in my bedroom. I have a HR20 in my living room. The HR20 and the H23 are currently networked with DECA. The H23 that I'm replacing has one cable input and one DECA attached. Directv did not send me everything so I can hook up both tuners. I have a few questions:

  • I think I need a splitter and one more DECA?
  • Does the splitter go before the two DECAs and then the DECAs outputs into the DVR tuner inputs?
  • Then one DECA ethernet output goes to the DVR ethernet input?


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 16 April 2011 - 06:04 PM

If you have DECA then you must have a SWM install. With that, you only need one cable to enable both tuners in the DVR.

I'll let others with more DECA knowledge answer the other questions. :)
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#3 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 16 April 2011 - 06:11 PM

Hook up the HR22 exactly the same way as the H23 is.

Thats it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#4 OFFLINE   ToBeFrank

ToBeFrank

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: May 15, 2009

Posted 16 April 2011 - 06:28 PM

Thanks guys. I thought it was like the HR20 but it's not. I'm good to go.

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 16 April 2011 - 07:11 PM

Thanks guys. I thought it was like the HR20 but it's not. I'm good to go.


I'm assuming that your HR20 is a HR20-100. That is a special cat that requires a modified setup for DECA than any of the other receivers, hence the reason you have a splitter and "appear" to be using both SAT inputs on the HR20.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hdmi

spam firewall