Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

IE9 32-bit


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 8,869 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 26 April 2011 - 11:48 AM

I have windows 7 Ultimate on two computers and both recently upgraded to IE9, one of them works fine at DBSTalk on both 32 and 64-bit versions of IE9 the other will only access DBSTalk on the 64-bit version.

This has to be a simple setting but I cannot figure it out on my own.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   LarryFlowers

LarryFlowers

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,290 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 26 April 2011 - 04:36 PM

Scott this may seem kind of obvious but have you gone to the Java.com web site and tested your Java installs?
Larry R. Flowers
Winder (Atlanta) GA
Twitter @larryflowers
HR20-700 HR23-700 H24-100
1st DirecTV Receiver Install Nov 1994
i'm a PC Guy

#3 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 8,869 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 26 April 2011 - 05:00 PM

Thanks Larry, I'll give that a try in the morning when I get in. I'm kind of lost when it comes to certain things and it worked then the IE9 update and it didn't work.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#4 ONLINE   makaiguy

makaiguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 608 posts
  • LocationAiken, SC
Joined: Sep 24, 2007

Posted 27 April 2011 - 06:31 AM

vBulletin bulletin board software, which this site uses, does NOT utilize Java. It uses JavaSCRIPT. (I administer another Bulletin board.)

Despite the similarity in name, Java and Javascript are two different things. Your Javascript implementation is built into your web browser, and can at best be turned on and off via a browser setting, but not updated except by updating your browser.
DirecTV customer since 1997
HR24-500, HR22-100
I don't do buddy/friends lists, don't ask.

#5 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,413 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 27 April 2011 - 08:04 AM

^^^ Wrong.

Javascript is self-updating independent of the browser and can be done manually.
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#6 ONLINE   makaiguy

makaiguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 608 posts
  • LocationAiken, SC
Joined: Sep 24, 2007

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:13 AM

^^^ Wrong.

Javascript is self-updating independent of the browser and can be done manually.


No, JAVA (actually the Java Runtime Environment which runs on your machine) can be updated here: http://www.java.com/...nload/index.jsp

Show me a reference re where and how you update Javascript that does something other than updating your Java, thus making the same mistake you are.

Edited by makaiguy, 27 April 2011 - 11:27 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1997
HR24-500, HR22-100
I don't do buddy/friends lists, don't ask.

#7 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 8,869 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 27 April 2011 - 02:12 PM

I have updated my Java, there must have been a pretty recent release because I was one off and after I can still access only using the 64-bit IE9. I am going to see if there is something with javascript that would make it not load.

It's wierd when I try with the 32-bit, I click my bookmark, it goes to the address bar, the circle spins and then stops like it's there and then nothing happens.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE





spam firewall