Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20/21/22/23/24, H21/23/24/25 & R22 (National Release) - Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
619 replies to this topic

#426 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 June 2011 - 09:23 PM

Thanks. It does say SL3, but I am going through the setup again, and right now I'm locked out as it's getting Sat. Info.... but I didn't see a way to activate a menu choice as to type of dish- on the H25 it looks like it might be auto-detect.

It could be, but I don't see why it would be different on the H25.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#427 OFFLINE   jes

jes

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 910 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2007

Posted 03 June 2011 - 11:42 PM

It's pretty dumb that the yellow button and the info button do the same thing now. Who was the idiot behind that stupid idea?

It's almost certainly an interim thing; migration of functions take time. I totally dislike the duplication, but trust that the programmers of the software are anything but idiots.


While migration of functions can be interim and take time, they have no place in the customer's version of a product, unless the customer is willing to make a compromise to get their hands on another desired feature sooner. Interim things belong in in-house testing, Alpha, Beta (CE), etc... that's the whole point of the development/testing process. The reflection on the programmer and responsible management is not that they are idiots, but that they lack customer experience. They have likely never dealt one-on-one with a customer and would not survive in that arena.

We joke about "if it compiles, ship it!" :D, but that joke rarely flys in the real world...
DirecTV since March 1998, HD since Oct. 2003

#428 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 12:50 AM

You keep saying that, but the yellow button has brought up closed caption options for a long time now, and it was the same 4 keystrokes to turn it on or off. Manually toggling CC was EASIER to use before the change, and it had nothing to do with macros. Because you didn't know how to bring up CC (relatively) quickly doesn't give your reason of not using it before, so the change was for the good, any merit.


I keep saying it because it's true. I probably used it 5 or 6 times ever (outside of a quick test to see if it worked) before the change. I've used it at least 6 times since the change. And I do find the change welcome despite the fact that you seem to know what is better for me personally than I do.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#429 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 664 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 04 June 2011 - 07:33 AM

We turn CC on and off regularly and was concerned about what the new procedure would be like, especially as my wife often watches TV when I'm sleeping, and if she's not happy, I'm not going to be happy. Having lived with it now for 2 weeks, it really is not a big deal. Was the original "yellow button" technique easier? Yes. Is this a pain in the neck and a significant step back? No.

SMK

#430 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,545 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 June 2011 - 07:56 AM

I keep saying it because it's true. I probably used it 5 or 6 times ever (outside of a quick test to see if it worked) before the change. I've used it at least 6 times since the change. And I do find the change welcome despite the fact that you seem to know what is better for me personally than I do.

I agree that the new Channel Banner with its drop down menus will get some DirecTV customers curious. It is a shame that its layout and contents didn't have the input of their customers.

Because Managing Recordings/Rec Mgr should have been one of the drop down menu.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#431 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,254 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 08:02 AM

Because Managing Recordings/Rec Mgr should have been one of the drop down menu.


Having that on "Menu", one button press away, isn't enough?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#432 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,545 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 04 June 2011 - 08:25 AM

Having that on "Menu", one button press away, isn't enough?

You argue that for everything in the banner.

DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#433 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,254 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 08:51 AM

You argue that for everything in the banner.


No I don't "argue that for everything in the banner" you must have me confused with someone else. I'm asking what the difference is between Menu>Manage Recordings and Info>Manage Recordings. It would still be the same amount of key presses.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#434 OFFLINE   shmengie

shmengie

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
  • LocationCity of Angels
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 04 June 2011 - 09:43 AM

i searched the thread for "media share" and "mediashare" and didn't find anything. so...

prior to this release, if i was listening to music, i could left-arrow to up one level in the media share menu. now, left-arrow just takes me out of media share completely, and back to live tv.

most unwanted behavior!

#435 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 09:54 AM

Media Share still has some work to be done on it from what I can tell.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#436 OFFLINE   PkDog

PkDog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2009

Posted 04 June 2011 - 02:42 PM

A simple compromise that would make just about everyone happy would be for the CC item to be the default selected item when the banner comes up.

We CC'ers would have very quick access (very few keystrokes) to turn CC on or off and everyone would still have the banner.

Even better would be for the" turn CC on" commands to act as a toggle (like they used to) -- that way a single macro command could be used to just toggle CC.

#437 OFFLINE   Burt

Burt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jul 14, 2005

Posted 04 June 2011 - 03:21 PM

A simple compromise that would make just about everyone happy would be for the CC item to be the default selected item when the banner comes up.

We CC'ers would have very quick access (very few keystrokes) to turn CC on or off and everyone would still have the banner.

Even better would be for the" turn CC on" commands to act as a toggle (like they used to) -- that way a single macro command could be used to just toggle CC.


Agreed! Either of these suggestions would be a great improvement. If only someone would listen.

Burt

#438 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,254 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 03:30 PM

Agreed! Either of these suggestions would be a great improvement. If only someone would listen.


I like both suggestions as well. As far as DirecTV listening, they do but there are some things that they just want their way on regardless of how bad an idea we tell them it is. Things like the ToDo list. We used to have one button access to it but they took it away. A couple of years of complaining now and we still don't have it back.

Also there's the HD-GUI coming that we can look forward to. Who knows, this whole discussion could be moot when that arrives.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#439 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 June 2011 - 05:51 PM

A simple compromise that would make just about everyone happy would be for the CC item to be the default selected item when the banner comes up.

That's ridiculous. When I press Info, I want info on the program I'm watching. Not CC selections.

#440 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,917 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 04 June 2011 - 09:16 PM

Things like the ToDo list. We used to have one button access to it but they took it away. A couple of years of complaining now and we still don't have it back.

I've suggested LIST>LIST many times. :D

#441 OFFLINE   PkDog

PkDog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2009

Posted 05 June 2011 - 05:34 AM

That's ridiculous. When I press Info, I want info on the program I'm watching. Not CC selections.


The suggestion isn't ridiculous. What is ridiculous is having the yellow button, which used to bring up CC control, now bring up a caption with Info as the default option.

I modify my suggestion to have CC as the default when the yellow button is pushed and Info when Info button pushed.

#442 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,254 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 09:40 AM

I've suggested LIST>LIST many times. :D


And you're not alone. :D
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#443 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,545 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 05 June 2011 - 11:46 AM

The Question Is . . . . .

What does the YELLOW Button do next?


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Bsm: HR24-1, Den HR24-2, MB: HR24-5, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#444 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,917 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:47 PM

The Question Is . . . . .

What does the YELLOW Button do next?

Probably control PIP for the new HR34, unless they come out with a new remote control with dedicated PIP buttons, which I doubt they will.

#445 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:33 PM

I modify my suggestion to have CC as the default when the yellow button is pushed and Info when Info button pushed.

I'd be fine with that. But since the Yellow button is going to be doing something else, DirecTV probably didn't want anyone getting used to that.

#446 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,887 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 05 June 2011 - 07:10 PM

I'd be fine with that. But since the Yellow button is going to be doing something else, DirecTV probably didn't want anyone getting used to that.


I know you and RP have stated this categorically- but could that not be changed?

Isn't there some law that requires CC have easy access?

Via jpm's iThing (pad)
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#447 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 07:22 PM

I know you and RP have stated this categorically- but could that not be changed?

Could what be changed?

Isn't there some law that requires CC have easy access?

Yes, but it's vague. Also, although the law has been signed by Obama, I believe the "grace period" is still in effect.

#448 OFFLINE   CPanther95

CPanther95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2007

Posted 06 June 2011 - 06:41 AM

My HR21-100 has gotten extremely slow to respond to remote commands. Been like that since Saturday. Probably going to have to reboot soon. I've not seen it this slow in a loooong time.


Rebooting didn't help mine. Since the update, most of my DVRs have an unbearable lag between button presses and a response by the receiver. Then sometimes, it will have actually received all the commands and will execute them all 5 or 10 seconds later in rapid fire.

I'm also in the "CC is much worse" camp. This is a frequent use item that just got far more cumbersome. 7 buttons to turn on (would have been 6, but they placed the unneeded "DirecTV subtitles" ahead of CC) and 5 buttons to turn off. Adding in the intermittent reception of the remote signal makes it an ordeal.

CC has been around for over 20 years. We don't need a reminder that it is an available feature, we just need to be able to quickly activate and deactivate it. Personally, I'd rather the Format button be a dedicated CC toggle.

#449 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,734 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 06 June 2011 - 06:57 AM

I know you and RP have stated this categorically- but could that not be changed?

Isn't there some law that requires CC have easy access?

Via jpm's iThing (pad)


Don't think the word easy will be in there, easy for one might seem difficult for another. I'm very hard of hearing and need CC all of the time so since I never turn it off, I never have to turn it on. For people who use it only part of the time, you're right that it would be nice to have easier access.

#450 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,930 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 06 June 2011 - 08:07 AM

I'm also in the "CC is much worse" camp. This is a frequent use item that just got far more cumbersome. 7 buttons to turn on (would have been 6, but they placed the unneeded "DirecTV subtitles" ahead of CC) and 5 buttons to turn off. Adding in the intermittent reception of the remote signal makes it an ordeal.


You must mean clicks because it only takes:

{INFO} or {YELLOW}
{RIGHT ARROW}
{DOWN ARROW}
{SELECT}

which is four buttons regardless of mode.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...