Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20/21/22/23/24, H21/23/24/25 & R22 (National Release) - Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
619 replies to this topic

#361 OFFLINE   wrj

wrj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:09 AM

I asked the same question. Finally called D* and the rep had no info on it. He put me on hold and said that option is gone. I'm bummed. That was an important feature to me.


Isn't the purpose of a bookmark to be able to get to it when you want? Sounds like DirecTv screwed up. Hopefully, they will catch this error and fix in the next release.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#362 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,603 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:31 AM

Oh, I'm definitely being patient, just a little annoyed is all, but I'm easily annoyed :lol:

I've also noticed the "caching" you mention. Switching back to previously watched channels doesn't appear to kick off the "resolution hunt."


It bothered me too so I just use 1080 only and let the TV do the conversions. Looks great on all channels. Just turn off "Native".

#363 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,478 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:11 AM

It bothered me too so I just use 1080 only and let the TV do the conversions. Looks great on all channels. Just turn off "Native".


Then the receiver is doing the converting, not the TV!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#364 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,517 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:26 PM

It bothered me too so I just use 1080 only and let the TV do the conversions. Looks great on all channels. Just turn off "Native".


If you're using 1080 only, there aren't any conversions (save for one if your TV isn't native 1080).

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#365 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,202 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:51 PM

They should just force everyone who was at two seconds to 4 seconds.


No!:eek:

I'm quite happy with two seconds for the banner. If I want to actually use the menu choices I push the info button.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#366 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,174 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 May 2011 - 12:59 PM

My HR21-100 has gotten extremely slow to respond to remote commands. Been like that since Saturday. Probably going to have to reboot soon. I've not seen it this slow in a loooong time.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#367 OFFLINE   billgrayny

billgrayny

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
  • LocationIthaca, NY
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 30 May 2011 - 03:26 PM

I got the NR several days ago and all was well. Then last night my H21 lost all audio. I had to cycle the audio setting on the setup menu from Dolby to off (audio returned) and back to Dolby to get the audio back while in the Dolby setting.

Edit: The issue got worse before it got better. Turns out, every time I changed channels I would loose audio - at least on the HDMI output. Cycling the Dolby Digital audio control would restore audio, but only until I next changed channels. Having Dolby on or off didn't make any difference. Whatever mode it was in, audio would die after channel change.

I used Menu Reset, and right now audio is ok again.

Edited by billgrayny, 31 May 2011 - 05:26 AM.
Additional Info


AU9S SlimLine to SWM8
HR44-700 HDMI to VIZIO VW42LF, Native ON
0x079E, 1.5 TB WD15EARS eSATA HDD
DD5.1 Audio via optical to AV Rcvr
DECA, TVersity
H21-100 HDMI to VIZIO VX37L, Native ON, 0x4736


#368 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,603 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 03:38 PM

Then the receiver is doing the converting, not the TV!


OK.

#369 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,603 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 03:40 PM

If you're using 1080 only, there aren't any conversions (save for one if your TV isn't native 1080).


Yep, I had it backwards as Laxguy said.

#370 OFFLINE   DonDeAgo

DonDeAgo

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2008

Posted 30 May 2011 - 05:13 PM

I have not beeen able to download anything using video on demand since the last software update. When I run system test it says everything's OK but it does not work for me anymore. Also it may be too much to hope for but someday I hope to see the caller ID feature work for me. It hasn't worked since DTV replaced my HR 21-700 with an HR 21-100.

#371 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 May 2011 - 05:33 PM

If you're using 1080 only, there aren't any conversions (save for one if your TV isn't native 1080).

Sure there are, on channels that broadcast in 720p.

#372 OFFLINE   jes

jes

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2007

Posted 30 May 2011 - 06:10 PM

I have not beeen able to download anything using video on demand since the last software update. When I run system test it says everything's OK but it does not work for me anymore. Also it may be too much to hope for but someday I hope to see the caller ID feature work for me. It hasn't worked since DTV replaced my HR 21-700 with an HR 21-100.


Selftest will pass even if there is a network problem... Check the Info details (below Run Selftest) and see if you've got a good connection.
DirecTV since March 1998, HD since Oct. 2003

#373 OFFLINE   IjustWannaPlay

IjustWannaPlay

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2007

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:37 PM

I asked the same question. Finally called D* and the rep had no info on it. He put me on hold and said that option is gone. I'm bummed. That was an important feature to me.


What am I missing? I use to use the yellow button to get to bookmarks which I set in a recorded show. How do I do it with this new release (0x4a6)?

DVR: HR22-100


So how are bookmarks deleted with the new release?

#374 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:57 PM

So how are bookmarks deleted with the new release?


That's a good question. I was never able to get it to work in the previous release however.
I read a post previously in this thread which sounded like there's no longer the capability to delete bookmarks.
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#375 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,105 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 31 May 2011 - 07:13 AM

Pretty good NR. Caused me a couple small problems but no big ones. Just out of curiosity, since they put up all those options on the banner, wouldn't you think they could have put up the ToDo list there too?

Rich

#376 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,694 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 31 May 2011 - 08:44 AM

Pretty good NR. Caused me a couple small problems but no big ones. Just out of curiosity, since they put up all those options on the banner, wouldn't you think they could have put up the ToDo list there too?

Rich

Exactly!

#377 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,105 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 31 May 2011 - 09:59 AM

Exactly!


I'm beginning to think there's a conspiracy...:lol:

Rich

#378 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,202 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 31 May 2011 - 10:48 AM

Just out of curiosity, since they put up all those options on the banner, wouldn't you think they could have put up the ToDo list there too?

Rich


Well, yes, they could have. But the new banner already has information overload. ToDo can be accessed with the List button easily.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#379 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,909 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 31 May 2011 - 11:20 AM

Well, yes, they could have. But the new banner already has information overload. ToDo can be accessed with the List button easily.


What key sequence would that be exactly?
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#380 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,674 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 May 2011 - 11:43 AM

Pretty good NR. Caused me a couple small problems but no big ones. Just out of curiosity, since they put up all those options on the banner, wouldn't you think they could have put up the ToDo list there too?

Rich

Yeah, I like the banner with its drop down menus. As to its contents, well that's another matter.

I too hope that make lots of improvements to it over the course of improving their software.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00





spam firewall