Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20/21/22/23/24, H21/23/24/25 & R22 (National Release) - Issues/Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
619 replies to this topic

#561 OFFLINE   kude

kude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2007

Posted 07 July 2011 - 08:59 PM

My HR20-700 received 0x4aa not 04a7, at 2:29am while I was watching a show.


Me too. Anything unique about 0x4aa?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#562 ONLINE   onan38

onan38

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 243 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 07 July 2011 - 11:04 PM

My HR21-100 is scrolling the guide really fast.Fastest i've had for awhile and is taking the channel numbers i'm putting in really well. But i will give it time to settle in and hope in 12 or so hours it will be as fast as it is now. (Fingers crossed.) LOL!


Well so far so good guide speed and putting in the channel numbers seem to be fine on my unit.

#563 OFFLINE   Laker44

Laker44

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2008

Posted 08 July 2011 - 06:58 AM

Yes, I figure that's the case as well. It's just too bad that it was fine before this software issue a couple of weeks ago.

I'm just posting to see if anyone else has this problem as well. SkippyJasper above actually might be on the same boat as me.


I am having the same issue you're having, on my HR21-700. Was slow before the software update, but nothing like this. The software fix for this issue didn't help me.

Edited by Laker44, 08 July 2011 - 10:50 AM.


#564 OFFLINE   gilviv

gilviv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 358 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 07:11 AM

Both my boxes received the updates 48 hours ago, they seem to be working much better now. Let's see how long this last?:confused:

DirecTV since July 2006, WholeHome & HDDVR Service
Slimline5 SWM-LNB Dish to:
3x HR24/100s #1 w/AM21N via HDMI to LG 42LH90/240hz Full LED, #2 w/AM21N & #3 both via HDMI to 2-LG 32LK330/60hz LCDs
1x HR23/700 via HDMI> Sharp 26" LCD


#565 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,583 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 07:18 AM

I received the update abut 48 hours ago on my DVR's, and they seemed to be back to normal upon rebooting. As a matter of fact, my HR23 seemed faster than it had ever been.

Last night, however, my HR23 slowed way down again - especially the dreadful first channel change out of standby. :nono:

My HR24 seems a little slower this morning as well.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#566 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 08 July 2011 - 07:30 AM

I received the update abut 48 hours ago on my DVR's, and they seemed to be back to normal upon rebooting. As a matter of fact, my HR23 seemed faster than it had ever been.

Last night, however, my HR23 slowed way down again - especially the dreadful first channel change out of standby. :nono:

My HR24 seems a little slower this morning as well.


Try a reboot and avoid using standby for now which might be triggering the slow down. Standby doesn't save any power and I never use it, except by an occasional inadvertent push of the remote button.
See this.
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#567 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,583 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 07:35 AM

Try a reboot and avoid using standby for now which might be triggering the slow down. Standby doesn't save any power and I never use it, except by an occasional inadvertent push of the remote button.
See this.


I'll try it, but it will be a pain. I'll have to do it manually, or re-program all of my remotes.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#568 OFFLINE   kd4ao

kd4ao

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2004

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:02 AM

Yesterday morning my HR20 received 0x4aa and the HR24 received 0x4a8. Both appear to be working great.
Bob

HR-24 200 Wired Network, 42" Toshiba LCD, Bose 321
HR-20 700 Wireless Networked, 32" Sylvania LCD
H-20 100 22" Sony LCD
SWM-16, 3 Rcvrs in my Apt. & 5 Rcvrs in 2 Neighbors Apts.
AU-9
APC Battery backups on all TVs/Rcvrs and SWM PI
Network is Cisco Valet Plus wirelessly linked to LinkSys
WRT54gs router running DD-WRT firmware Repeater Bridged

#569 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,290 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:25 AM

Me too. Anything unique about 0x4aa?


Not really, except that the HR20 is on a different sequence than the HR21 etc. The previous version was 0x4a9 IIRC.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#570 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 08 July 2011 - 09:54 AM

Is anyone else having issues with fast forward and rewind? A couple things I've noticed:

I used to be able to press fast forward 4 times really fast to get it going at it's fastest pretty much immediately. But since this release, it will go to 2x, then 3x, then back to 2x, then 3x, then 4x. Just a minor annoyance that adds maybe a minute to my TV viewing each day.

The other is where if you press the 30 second skip/slip button when fast forwarding to skip to the next time mark or bookmark, it will sometimes go backwards instead. This is the most annoying of the two issues (to me anyway).


Is nobody else having these issues with watching recorded programs? I've also recently noticed that pressing the button to go back 6 seconds will sometimes put me in rewind mode, or even go back towards a previous bookmark (both the intervals and the manually added ones)

I received version 0x4a8 this morning and it's still happening.
Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#571 OFFLINE   Athlon646464

Athlon646464

    Hall Of Fame

  • News Hound
  • 2,583 posts
  • LocationUxbridge, MA
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 11:30 AM

Is nobody else having these issues with watching recorded programs?


Not me - just the slow to respond issues here.

1 HR34-700, 1 C31-700, 1 HR24-500
Original install on April 20, 2008 - HR34 & C31 installed on August 24, 2013 - HR24 installed on July 23, 2010

Press any key to continue, or any other key to cancel.


#572 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,610 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 11:43 AM

Is nobody else having these issues with watching recorded programs? I've also recently noticed that pressing the button to go back 6 seconds will sometimes put me in rewind mode, or even go back towards a previous bookmark (both the intervals and the manually added ones)

I received version 0x4a8 this morning and it's still happening.


Does the 500 ever turn on by itself? You don't have an external drive on it, do you?

Rich

#573 OFFLINE   bobfrapples

bobfrapples

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 07, 2011

Posted 08 July 2011 - 11:47 AM

Is nobody else having these issues with watching recorded programs? I've also recently noticed that pressing the button to go back 6 seconds will sometimes put me in rewind mode, or even go back towards a previous bookmark (both the intervals and the manually added ones)

I received version 0x4a8 this morning and it's still happening.


I have this problem. I haven't noticed my HR24-500 turning on by itself, and I don't have an external drive.

#574 OFFLINE   steevew6

steevew6

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 03:08 PM

Got the update for my HR20-700 yesterday morning......remote response time is much improved!!

#575 OFFLINE   shuye

shuye

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2008

Posted 08 July 2011 - 03:34 PM

I got 0x4aa yesterday on both of my HR20's.

I have 1 external HD, a 1TB Seagate drive in a Rosewill enclosurse on my HR20-700 that has worked without an issue for over a year now.

Yesterday I noticed that after receiving the software update, the HR20-700 was not seeing the external drive.

I tried the following:

1. Leave external HD on, unplugg HR20 for 20-30 seconds and then plug back in. HR20 goes through self-check screens and boots up, still looking at internal drive.

2. Unplug External Drive and HR20. Plug in External Drive, let it boot up, then plug in HR20. Still not working

3. Unplug HR20 last night and left it unplugged overnight. Plugged HR in this morning and still seeing the internal drive.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Steve

#576 OFFLINE   allenn

allenn

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 702 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Nov 19, 2005

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:25 PM

HR22-100 faster than it was before update, but still slow on channel changes and bringing up the menu or recorded list.

PrimeStar/DIRECTV subscriber since 10/30/1994.
Roswell, GA (Atlanta Area)
2 D* HR24-100s and AM21s
MRV - D* SWiM LNB, PI-21 module, and Wireless DECA Cinema Connection Kit (CCK-W)
Linksys WRT310N


#577 OFFLINE   ATARI

ATARI

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:46 PM

The verdict on the new software: HR20 -- the same, HR21 -- slower

#578 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,908 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 08 July 2011 - 10:01 PM

See no speed change on my NR HR21-100 between 04a6 to 04a7. Still slow.

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#579 OFFLINE   zamzickles

zamzickles

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 09 July 2011 - 01:46 AM

HR20-700 & HR22-100 both previously slow, both rebooted after first slice. Again for the actual update the following night. And again, spontaneously Fri at 7:45 PM both units reset WHILE RECORDING SHOWS. Now both are 80% unresponsive to remote commands. I'm quite ready to ship all this crape back to them.
Old Dog, New Tricks

#580 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 09 July 2011 - 02:23 AM

I have 3 HR20-100's

Last night the one in our living room updated - it is now VERY slow in responding to remote control inputs - really almost unusable...

I have tried a couple of reboots to see if that would help.

I also found I cannot turn off the front panel light using the usual < and > buttons.

Haven't tried the other 2 yet.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...