Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Remote Access vs. Dish Online???


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 16 May 2011 - 07:43 PM

Both web apps can be accessed from the Dish Network site after logging in. They seem to provide the same features. Both allow you to schedule recordings on your DVR

Dish Remote Access opens in the same window and shows a sling logo in the top right corner. It shows a programming grid with all your channels. It also shows current and scheduled recordings.

Dish Online opens a new window or tab. It briefly shows a Beta login window and then goes to programming grid.

The both give access to your DVR, including the attached EHD, if any. Neither gives any indication whether any particular recording is internal or external.

Why are they both available? :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,267 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 16 May 2011 - 08:35 PM

Not certain, but it appears Dish Online will replace Remote Access after the beta.

#3 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 16 May 2011 - 10:36 PM

Not certain, but it appears Dish Online will replace Remote Access after the beta.

Could be, it's stable. If the HD quality get racketed up......could be.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#4 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 17 May 2011 - 04:19 PM

Wish they'd make up their mind and perfect one of them. Sure be nice to have a "favorites", it would load much faster with only the channels you wanted to look at. Would be very helpful when logging in from a phone, just way too much to scroll through. The original Sling log on seemed like it had more options, these just seem to be going in the wrong direction.

#5 OFFLINE   TheFoxMan

TheFoxMan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 18 May 2011 - 12:15 PM

I just tried Dish Online, and it seems pretty robust, most of the time anyway (sometimes the guide was slow to load). However, the DVR page isn't as informative as the one on the Remote Access site... I can't see if a scheduled program is set for my OTA or Dish channel (something I like to know if I need to resolve conflicts), and the guide doesn't show which programs are scheduled to record, except for the ones scheduled online. Hopefully, these features will be added.

#6 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 18 May 2011 - 02:02 PM

I just tried Dish Online, and it seems pretty robust, most of the time anyway (sometimes the guide was slow to load). However, the DVR page isn't as informative as the one on the Remote Access site... I can't see if a scheduled program is set for my OTA or Dish channel (something I like to know if I need to resolve conflicts), and the guide doesn't show which programs are scheduled to record, except for the ones scheduled online. Hopefully, these features will be added.


I agree. Dish Remote Access seems to be better. :rolleyes:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#7 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,970 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 19 May 2011 - 09:27 AM

I tried both and I prefer Dish Online beta. I like it because I can see all my channels that have guide data including my off-air stations (I get a few OOM signals OTA). Remote Access does not show those channels.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#8 OFFLINE   bnborg

bnborg

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2005

Posted 19 May 2011 - 05:50 PM

I tried both and I prefer Dish Online beta. I like it because I can see all my channels that have guide data including my off-air stations (I get a few OOM signals OTA). Remote Access does not show those channels.


I see just the opposite. DRA shows that I am currently recording 5-01, my local OTA ABC station. Dish Online does not show that channel. :confused:
Dish Network VIP722k - Gold 250 + HD/Platinum
110,119, and 129 on Dish 1000.2
Dynex (BestBuy) 42" HDTV, Onkyo TX-SR303 Receiver

#9 OFFLINE   sremick

sremick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2008

Posted 20 May 2011 - 01:13 PM

Dish Online's interface is modern and slick, but it has about 1/100th of the features and functionality of DRA. But I guess it's beta so we have to wait it out.

Not happy about the lack of customizing, filters, tweaks, etc... and where's the "later" option? You used to be able to show a whole list of all matches to your query that were upcoming in the next 7 days or so. Not present in Dish Online. For that matter, the "Later" option is absent from the latest update to the Android app as well. :mad: Not happy about the direction things are going.

I do like how if you expand a list of episodes for a show, you see them all at once and not just 3 at a time. Now, if only it allowed sorting...

#10 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,267 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 22 May 2011 - 03:02 PM

Not certain, but it appears Dish Online will replace Remote Access after the beta.

Now I'm certain. When you log into Remote Access you get a message that Dish Online will indeed replace it very soon. I guess we'll have to get used to it :(

#11 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 22 May 2011 - 05:15 PM

Now I'm certain. When you log into Remote Access you get a message that Dish Online will indeed replace it very soon. I guess we'll have to get used to it :(


Yes...but hard to get used to when you have no browser that works on it!!!!(more than one) So i sure hope they wake up and fix its many problems.

#12 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 22 May 2011 - 06:43 PM

At least Dish admits their "Online" is beta.......the dish/sling was rolled out as ready for primetime, which it was not, yet now is much better and apparently going away.......several of the features with "Dish Online" do not work though, the watch on TV is non functional, there are reports of the recording feature not operating, and there's no clock on the page, a clock would be helpful and convenient. Dish in the message does state,
"DISH Online will include DVR scheduling and management features plus many more," which will be helpful if not imperative.
Thank you and
Best of luck

#13 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,267 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 22 May 2011 - 08:13 PM

Yes...but hard to get used to when you have no browser that works on it!!!!(more than one) So i sure hope they wake up and fix its many problems.

Amen to that. But you can get it working at least in Chrome using the IE Tab plugin.

#14 OFFLINE   AZ.

AZ.

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2011

Posted 22 May 2011 - 09:10 PM

Amen to that. But you can get it working at least in Chrome using the IE Tab plugin.


Ill try it......right from dish support " dont even try Chrome"......That was about a month ago....shouldnt they tell people when or if they upgrade somthing?????

#15 OFFLINE   Wilf

Wilf

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 289 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2008

Posted 23 May 2011 - 05:07 AM

Ill try it......right from dish support " dont even try Chrome"......That was about a month ago....shouldnt they tell people when or if they upgrade somthing?????

Works OK with the Linux version of Chrome. I did notice that the grid includes channels to which we do not subscribe, unlike the non-beta version.

#16 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,267 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 23 May 2011 - 07:15 AM

Ill try it......right from dish support " dont even try Chrome"......That was about a month ago....shouldnt they tell people when or if they upgrade somthing?????

Technically it doesn't work in chrome, so support is correct. But IE Tab is a chrome plugin which runs IE inside Chrome. So you'd actually be running it in IE within a chrome tab. But it's seamless and works well.

#17 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,214 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 23 May 2011 - 10:22 AM

Both web apps can be accessed from the Dish Network site after logging in. They seem to provide the same features. Both allow you to schedule recordings on your DVR

Dish Remote Access opens in the same window and shows a sling logo in the top right corner. It shows a programming grid with all your channels. It also shows current and scheduled recordings.

Dish Online opens a new window or tab. It briefly shows a Beta login window and then goes to programming grid.

The both give access to your DVR, including the attached EHD, if any. Neither gives any indication whether any particular recording is internal or external.

Why are they both available? :confused:


I haven't tried it yet.

Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#18 OFFLINE   WynsWrld98

WynsWrld98

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 23 May 2011 - 10:26 PM

I see more info re: a description of the program with DRA than I do with DishOnline so this is definitely a step backwards IMO. And isn't it redundant to call this Beta? isn't everything Dish produces Beta? LOL

#19 OFFLINE   sremick

sremick

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2008

Posted 24 May 2011 - 12:27 AM

I see more info re: a description of the program with DRA than I do with DishOnline so this is definitely a step backwards IMO.


There's lots of missing functionality. Besides no "Later" option, it doesn't show all episodes if you have a lot for one show and expand the group.

DRA is much, much more powerful, versatile and useful.

#20 OFFLINE   altidude

altidude

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2010

Posted 23 August 2011 - 01:07 PM

I also much prefer DRA as far as DVR management goes. The one feature I really like on DishOnline is the option to filter movies on this week by highest rating then set those to DVR. I found a bunch of good stuff to record using this filter. I'm glad I bought that 2TB EHD!

With Dish phasing out DRA, I hope they provide the current DRA management features to DishOnline. I can't even see what time a show is recording with DishOnline, only the date.

#21 OFFLINE   fpembleton

fpembleton

    Mentor

  • Unregistered / Not Logged In
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2005

Posted 28 August 2011 - 06:05 PM

Dish Remote Access went through a history of bugs since inception...I have had a 922 a couple of years. It was a process where Dish perfected Dish Remote Access through trial and error ( so it seems). The application, at the present time (before it was killed), was near perfection in my opinion. I personally could rely on it to access either recordings on my 922 or watch live tv from Dish. The interface was very customer friendly in my view so after a year or so of going through periods of unreliability and having a finished product that I became comfortable with, the Dish Online website is not what I thought I would have to live with. If it worked reliably for me that would be great but that is not even close to the case. It seems to be a hit and miss of trying to watch live TV or recorded material.. I hope Dish will consider letting DRA an option and reinstate it.
"Revenge is the weak pleasure of a narrow mind"

#22 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 28 August 2011 - 06:56 PM

Dish Remote Access went through a history of bugs since inception...I have had a 922 a couple of years. It was a process where Dish perfected Dish Remote Access through trial and error ( so it seems). The application, at the present time (before it was killed), was near perfection in my opinion. I personally could rely on it to access either recordings on my 922 or watch live tv from Dish. The interface was very customer friendly in my view so after a year or so of going through periods of unreliability and having a finished product that I became comfortable with, the Dish Online website is not what I thought I would have to live with. If it worked reliably for me that would be great but that is not even close to the case. It seems to be a hit and miss of trying to watch live TV or recorded material.. I hope Dish will consider letting DRA an option and reinstate it.

I think it has everything to do with the "Rental" business of the online venue. Remote Access had no real monetary gain for Dish TV, it is/was a application used exclusively for Dish customers to remotely view their paid for program guide and their recorded stuff. The more I think about this move it makes perfect business sense for Dish, and with some of the comments I've read here and elsewhere there is a small but vocal contingency that could care less.....the "get over it" folks. So.....I imagine Dish customers are left with the obvious, Remote Access is a thing of the past. Most will "get over it", I just hope viewers will eventually be capable of looking at their guide or DVR contents without leaving the program being viewed......the way it works now is really lame.
By the way, I logged in today to RA.......it went dark in less then a minute, so I logged in again and it worked....but, when I tried to look around or change channels it went the no connection route......Hey Dish how about a comment from someone in authority?
Oh yea, refreshing the DVR on DO is hit and miss at best.

Edited by 356B, 28 August 2011 - 07:35 PM.

Thank you and
Best of luck

#23 OFFLINE   CraigT1

CraigT1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2008

Posted 04 September 2011 - 08:24 AM

I find Dish Online very irritating now. It now shows all channels instead of just those I subscribe to like it used to and the way it was with RA. This makes for longer lists to deal with and having to sometimes double check channels to see if I get them or not. I do all of my recording setup online so this change is significant.

Craig T

#24 OFFLINE   hohlraum

hohlraum

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Mar 08, 2007

Posted 07 September 2011 - 11:29 AM

Is anyone else not able to see their timers or recorded shows from dishonline? Why did they remove the option for Remote Access before Online was fully cooked? Morons! :mad:

#25 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 07 September 2011 - 11:45 AM

There is more information here.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=196522
Thank you and
Best of luck




Protected By... spam firewall...And...