Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Free Sling Adapter?


  • Please log in to reply
181 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 26 May 2011 - 10:10 AM

Hub needs to be powered.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 26 May 2011 - 11:50 AM

That's where I was headed. Thanks.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#53 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 26 May 2011 - 12:09 PM

Got ours 2 days ago. Plugged it into the laptop cooler with USB hub built in and it works nicely. Plus, the cooler fan blows through it to keep it cool next to the overheating 722.

There is no rebate form on the web site. :-( I hope they don't pull the deal or play some game around submitting the rebate!
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#54 OFFLINE   apinkel

apinkel

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: May 28, 2004

Posted 26 May 2011 - 03:10 PM

Got ours 2 days ago. Plugged it into the laptop cooler with USB hub built in and it works nicely. Plus, the cooler fan blows through it to keep it cool next to the overheating 722.

There is no rebate form on the web site. :-( I hope they don't pull the deal or play some game around submitting the rebate!


You need to sign into your account with dish. On the left side you'll see a link called "Sling Adapter Reward" that tells you if you've met all the requirements. Looks like we will be able to submit the request thru the website once all requirements are met (i.e. after 45 days).

#55 OFFLINE   koralis

koralis

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 295 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2005

Posted 27 May 2011 - 01:29 PM

Is there an additional monthly surcharge for owning the sling adapter?


Trying to figure out if a 622 -> 722k upgrade is worthwhile or not. :)

#56 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 27 May 2011 - 02:38 PM

Is there an additional monthly surcharge for owning the sling adapter?


Trying to figure out if a 622 -> 722k upgrade is worthwhile or not. :)


There is no additional monthly charges incurred for the sling adapter!

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#57 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 27 May 2011 - 06:27 PM

I am posting this also here since Mary helped me get the sling adapter in the first place.

OK I need some help! I just received my Sling Adapter it is installed and the info comes on the screen (TV) telling me that it’s installed. I go on line to try to watch a program on my computer and it is a no go! I don’t see anything saying “Watch live TV” after I select “Dish remote Access”.
What am I not doing!
On another note is there a light on the unit (sling) that shows it’s powered on? If so I have no light on the sling.

I am hard wired to the internet. But on my account it shows no high speed conected nor sling conected in my account infromation online.

#58 OFFLINE   slickshoes

slickshoes

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Sep 20, 2009

Posted 30 May 2011 - 06:29 PM

Again, if I got one 3 months ago, am I out of luck on the rebate?

#59 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,253 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 30 May 2011 - 06:35 PM

I am posting this also here since Mary helped me get the sling adapter in the first place.

OK I need some help! I just received my Sling Adapter it is installed and the info comes on the screen (TV) telling me that it’s installed. I go on line to try to watch a program on my computer and it is a no go! I don’t see anything saying “Watch live TV” after I select “Dish remote Access”.
What am I not doing!
On another note is there a light on the unit (sling) that shows it’s powered on? If so I have no light on the sling.

I am hard wired to the internet. But on my account it shows no high speed conected nor sling conected in my account infromation online.

Sounds like you might be using Chrome. It will work in IE and Firefox, I think. It will only work in Chrome if you use the IE Tab add-on.

#60 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 333 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 30 May 2011 - 07:36 PM

Hub needs to be powered.


Hopefully this doesn't sound argumentative, because that is not the intention, but my hub is not running the optional power supply. (Does that mean it is "bus" powered?) Anyway, when I first bought the laptop cooler I was all set to just order it up from Targus, but I haven't needed it. On the other hand, if I do get it someday, that would give me some extra powered USB ports for charging phones, etc.!

http://www.targus.co...px?sku=APA09USZ

#61 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:41 PM

Hopefully this doesn't sound argumentative, because that is not the intention, but my hub is not running the optional power supply. (Does that mean it is "bus" powered?) Anyway, when I first bought the laptop cooler I was all set to just order it up from Targus, but I haven't needed it. On the other hand, if I do get it someday, that would give me some extra powered USB ports for charging phones, etc.!

http://www.targus.co...px?sku=APA09USZ


In my experience the hub needed to be plugged into an external power supply. My USB WiFi adapter and Sling adapter would not both work through the hub without the external power supply.

#62 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:54 PM

That's my experience as well.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#63 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,991 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:55 PM

Again, if I got one 3 months ago, am I out of luck on the rebate?

Yes.

Ask again, and the answer will still be yes.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#64 OFFLINE   Jim148

Jim148

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 333 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2004

Posted 30 May 2011 - 08:57 PM

Thank you for the additional information. I only have an external hard drive and the DISH Sling Adapter connected.Maybe since you have a USB WiFi adapter that makes enough difference in current draw to require an AC adapter. Maybe I will just "bite the bullet" and get one and be done with it. Heck, it is under $20 and, even with shipping, I suspect it is still under $20!

#65 OFFLINE   Dario33

Dario33

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 487 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2008

Posted 31 May 2011 - 10:52 AM

Glad I checked in here (had been a couple weeks). Ordered mine via online chat just now...should arrive in 1-2 days. :up:

#66 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 01 June 2011 - 03:24 PM

My adapter came in today and I'm looking to connect to my receiver.

Is there a difference if you hook up to a regular vs HD receiver?
I guess I mean more along the lines of internet speed.
I have 1.5 mbps... should I connect to my standard reciever?
I thought I read somewhere that if you connect to an HD receiver with low internet speeds, you'll get lots of lag.

#67 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 01 June 2011 - 03:36 PM

My adapter came in today and I'm looking to connect to my receiver.

Is there a difference if you hook up to a regular vs HD receiver?
I guess I mean more along the lines of internet speed.
I have 1.5 mbps... should I connect to my standard reciever?
I thought I read somewhere that if you connect to an HD receiver with low internet speeds, you'll get lots of lag.


Sling adapter is only compatible with VIP722 & VIP722K receivers. It will not work on an SD receiver! To veiw HD content need Network Bandwidth upload/download of 4 Mbps or better.
To view SD content need Network Bandwidth upload/download of 800 Kbps or better.

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#68 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 01 June 2011 - 03:57 PM

My upload speeds are nowhere near that and the Sling adapter works fine.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#69 OFFLINE   jedi5

jedi5

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2010

Posted 01 June 2011 - 04:16 PM

Sling adapter is only compatible with VIP722 & VIP722K receivers. It will not work on an SD receiver! To veiw HD content need Network Bandwidth upload/download of 4 Mbps or better.
To view SD content need Network Bandwidth upload/download of 800 Kbps or better.



Sorry, when I said standard I meant non HD receiver. I have both the 722 and 722K so my question was more along the lines of should I connect to 722 or 722K with my 1.5 speeds. Don't really care about watching HD on my iPad or iPhone I care more about lag.

Also this is a stupid a question but to connect it is just as simple as USB to receiver, right?
Do I need an ethernet cable connecting to my either of my receivers?

#70 OFFLINE   MaryB@DishNetwork

MaryB@DishNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 361 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2011

Posted 01 June 2011 - 04:21 PM

Sorry, when I said standard I meant non HD receiver. I have both the 722 and 722K so my question was more along the lines of should I connect to 722 or 722K with my 1.5 speeds. Don't really care about watching HD on my iPad or iPhone I care more about lag.

Also this is a stupid a question but to connect it is just as simple as USB to receiver, right?
Do I need an ethernet cable connecting to my either of my receivers?


Yes, the receiver does need to be connected to the internet! Yes, all you do is connect the USB on the sling to the receiver! It is plug and play!!!

Either the 722 or 722k, they will work the same, it is a matter of your preference only!

Edited by MaryB@DishNetwork, 01 June 2011 - 04:33 PM.

Mary Catherine Brady
Team Lead- Dish Internet Response Team

Sunday-Thursday 1:30pm-10:00pm (MST)

 


#71 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:44 PM

Can anyone tell me the type of powered hub's that work with this sling adapter. I have tried three so far all 2.0 and high speed, and had no luck with the sling powering up when pluged into them.

#72 OFFLINE   klang

klang

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,268 posts
  • LocationNear Houston, TX
Joined: Oct 14, 2003

Posted 01 June 2011 - 06:51 PM

Can anyone tell me the type of powered hub's that work with this sling adapter. I have tried three so far all 2.0 and high speed, and had no luck with the sling powering up when pluged into them.


Is your receiver connected to the internet and configured? I don't think the Sling Adapter will power up if the receiver isn't 'online'.

#73 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 01 June 2011 - 09:37 PM

Yes, it is. I had to unplug the harddrive since the 722k only comes with one USB in the back and sling is working!

#74 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,541 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 02 June 2011 - 01:49 PM

I plugged my Sling Adapter into the USB on the front - works great.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#75 OFFLINE   Dario33

Dario33

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 487 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2008

Posted 03 June 2011 - 12:45 PM

I plugged my Sling Adapter into the USB on the front - works great.

Same here - mine works like a charm.

Only problem I'm having is that for some reason I cannot see my DVR content from DishOnline (even though DVR is connected). Still need to look into this...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...