Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How to hook up SL3k4nr0-01 SD receiver


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   zperkins

zperkins

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 19, 2011

Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:02 AM

Total novice here. I was given a direct tv dish (SL3k4nr0-01) and wanted to set it up on my cabin. I was going to use a SD receiver.

Do I need anything special to hook it up? or does the receiver just connect directly to the dish.

I ask because my dish at home has a power inserter. Not sure if I need one for this as well. Google/DBSTalk searches say no, but most are regarding HD receivers.

Thanks,
Zac

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,148 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:23 AM

Doing a quick google search on the number you provided does not get results. But very close is a 3LNB SWiM LNB assembly.

Look at the LNB. If it has one coax connector on it, you will need a power inserter, and an SWIM compatible receiver (SD would be a D12). If it has 4 coax connectors, then it does not need a power inserter, and can be used with any legacy receiver.

Also keep in mind, your terms of service only permit an account to have service at one physical address at any given time. You can't have a receiver running at your cabin at the same time one you have them running at your house.

#3 OFFLINE   zperkins

zperkins

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 19, 2011

Posted 19 May 2011 - 08:31 AM

Doing a quick google search on the number you provided does not get results. But very close is a 3LNB SWiM LNB assembly.

Look at the LNB. If it has one coax connector on it, you will need a power inserter, and an SWIM compatible receiver (SD would be a D12). If it has 4 coax connectors, then it does not need a power inserter, and can be used with any legacy receiver.

Also keep in mind, your terms of service only permit an account to have service at one physical address at any given time. You can't have a receiver running at your cabin at the same time one you have them running at your house.


Thanks for the response! You told me exactly what I wanted to hear. The SL3k4nr0-01 does have 4 coax.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...