Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H25 Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 11:00 AM

To many sports bars and hotels need more boxes that what a SWIM system can put out.


???? You can stack multiple SWiM modules and have hundreds of tuners attached.

And one of the reasons they came out with a SWiM-32.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,712 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:12 PM

To many sports bars and hotels need more boxes that what a SWIM system can put out.


As RAD said SWiM is stackable, there's no limit to how many tuners you can setup using SWiM.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#23 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:31 PM

And in that:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1307287773


That is the cable they will need. Where can I get one for my in-laws? Thanks.

#24 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:39 PM

That is the cable they will need. Where can I get one for my in-laws? Thanks.

:shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#25 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:50 PM

Proprietary Cables are good ideas as long as they are available. Otherwise it is like running a steak house but only selling the side dishes.

#26 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,912 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 12:52 PM

I've actually asked someone that I think can give me an answer. However, it's the weekend. I wouldn't expect a response before tomorrow.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#27 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:06 PM

I've actually asked someone that I think can give me an answer. However, it's the weekend. I wouldn't expect a response before tomorrow.


Doug, thanks you are a gentleman and scholar like always.

#28 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,912 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:12 PM

Ok, I did get one response from someone else. Looks like you can get them from DIRECTV for around $8 once you have an H25 on you account. So it may be a two step process.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#29 OFFLINE   waterdragon

waterdragon

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: May 07, 2008

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:32 PM

The 10 pin cable is to heavy and makes a bad connection. I have been to a couple service calls because of that cable.

#30 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:45 PM

The 10 pin cable is to heavy and makes a bad connection. I have been to a couple service calls because of that cable.


Agreed, the cable should have been made with a much more secure connector, or hardwired. Its great if you get it working and never touch it, but move it to dust or clean, its gonna screw up.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#31 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 01:50 PM

Agreed, the cable should have been made with a much more secure connector, or hardwired. Its great if you get it working and never touch it, but move it to dust or clean, its gonna screw up.

I guess I got lucky because mine doesn't have these problems.
A.K.A VOS

#32 OFFLINE   halfdead

halfdead

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2011

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:47 PM

yeah thats the cables they gave me with my first box.theyve been lost in the van ever since

#33 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,089 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:52 PM

I guess I got lucky because mine doesn't have these problems.


I am guessing it is the box, since the second cable I got from DirecTv has the same issue as the first one did. The cable doesnt feel loose, or fall out, but one of the colors drops out, and I need to wiggle the cable to get it back on.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#34 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,637 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 05 June 2011 - 02:58 PM

I am guessing it is the box, since the second cable I got from DirecTv has the same issue as the first one did. The cable doesnt feel loose, or fall out, but one of the colors drops out, and I need to wiggle the cable to get it back on.

That sounds like mine was with "the first" cable.
A.K.A VOS

#35 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:29 AM

Someone told me that DirecTV is only authorizing H25 for new customers. Does anyone know if this is true? I am suppose to be getting an H25 for a malfunctioning H24. Thanks.

#36 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:42 AM

Someone told me that DirecTV is only authorizing H25 for new customers. Does anyone know if this is true? I am suppose to be getting an H25 for a malfunctioning H24. Thanks.


H25's are supposed to be used for new customers only. As you have a H24, you should get a H24 as a replacement.

Let us know what shows up.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#37 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,563 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:43 AM

Someone told me that DirecTV is only authorizing H25 for new customers. Does anyone know if this is true? I am suppose to be getting an H25 for a malfunctioning H24. Thanks.


I read that, too, but don't think it was more than an educated guess. You may be the first (here) to put that to rest! Bonne chance, Mon. le tigre!
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#38 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,912 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:45 AM

Someone told me that DirecTV is only authorizing H25 for new customers. Does anyone know if this is true? I am suppose to be getting an H25 for a malfunctioning H24. Thanks.


Ah yes, I seem to remember this as well. Not sure if it's changed yet or not. I suspect that if SolidSignal gets them that that condition may not be true at that point.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#39 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,267 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:45 AM

As RAD said SWiM is stackable, there's no limit to how many tuners you can setup using SWiM.


I thought there was some signal loss per SWiM?
Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#40 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,912 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 10:48 AM

As RAD said SWiM is stackable, there's no limit to how many tuners you can setup using SWiM.


I thought there was some signal loss per SWiM?


I think the practical limit is not more than 3 or possibly four, but maybe it's higher. I'm sure that "unlimited" is not accurate, but I don't know what the theoretical limit is.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




spam firewall