Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H25 Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 08:14 PM

My in-laws are SWM so soon they will be swimming with an H25.


The could also get a H20, H21, H23 or H24 instead. Just depends on whats in that weekly shipment.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 07 June 2011 - 08:42 PM

Solid Signal told me yesterday that the activation only for new members regarding the H25 was their hold up on the H25. I am supposed to be getting a replacement H25 not from DirecTV but from the authorized independent contractor that I used to originally get my in-laws equipment. They told me they could get me an H25 and I will let everyone know what happens.


If DirecTV was sending it out you would be correct. Hopefully, I have been told reliable information.

#53 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,086 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:10 PM

If DirecTV was sending it out you would be correct. Hopefully, I have been told reliable information.

Retailers tend to know what they have in stock. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#54 OFFLINE   kcaudiofx

kcaudiofx

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2009

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:18 PM

Someone told me that DirecTV is only authorizing H25 for new customers. Does anyone know if this is true? I am suppose to be getting an H25 for a malfunctioning H24. Thanks.


Not sure about "Corporates" rules/policies but my supplier is releasing the 25's on Friday and we can activate them on any kind of account..

#55 OFFLINE   halfdead

halfdead

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2011

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:20 PM

seen the bulletin today while i was loading and h25's can now be activated on all new installs upgrades movers and like said swim capable. h25 swaps must be for h25

i installed 2 h25's today customers seem to like them for their size. they come 4 to a small box which is nice cause they dont take much space in the van.

Edited by halfdead, 07 June 2011 - 09:25 PM.


#56 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:52 PM

All the more reason to switch everything to H25s ..
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#57 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,936 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:56 PM

They are awfully cute...
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#58 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 07 June 2011 - 09:57 PM

All the more reason to switch everything to H25s ..


People want their TVs larger and their electronics hooked up to them to be smaller.

#59 OFFLINE   utlimate_ed

utlimate_ed

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2009

Posted 08 June 2011 - 12:02 PM

So, aside from the adapter cable issue, is there any reason to not want a H25 over the other recievers? I'm getting my mover installation on Saturday and I'll be adding a second HD DVR (fingers crossed for an HR24) and an HD receiver.

If they give me an H25 for the receiver, should I just be doing a happy dance?

#60 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,936 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 June 2011 - 12:07 PM

If you are running Category 5 cable and not using SwiM-based networking, then you would not want an H25.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#61 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 June 2011 - 01:54 PM

If you are running Category 5 cable and not using SwiM-based networking, then you would not want an H25.

Although you could just purchase the coax/Ethernet bridge, and you'd be set.

#62 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 08 June 2011 - 03:51 PM

Although you could just purchase the coax/Ethernet bridge, and you'd be set.


Do you have a link to such a product. Thanks.

#63 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 June 2011 - 03:56 PM

Do you have a link to such a product. Thanks.

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=

#64 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 08 June 2011 - 04:03 PM

Jeremy, not sure if your link is messed up or not but isn't this what you meant to link to?

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=

Search for the broadband DECA if neither link works.

Edited by Beerstalker, 08 June 2011 - 04:10 PM.

Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#65 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 June 2011 - 04:06 PM

Jeremy, not sure if your link is messed up or not but isn't this what you meant to link to?

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=

The broadband DECA.

That is what I linked to. I had to edit it right after I posted, you probably saw it before the edit.

#66 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 08 June 2011 - 04:58 PM

Jeremy, not sure if your link is messed up or not but isn't this what you meant to link to?

http://www.solidsign...Components&sku=

Search for the broadband DECA if neither link works.


Thanks, I forgot that was the name for the device. That would simply add DECA to your SWM setup. Correct?

#67 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,117 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 08 June 2011 - 05:28 PM

Thanks, I forgot that was the name for the device. That would simply add DECA to your SWM setup. Correct?


It allows your DECA network to access your ethernet network and vice-versa. So if you have an H25 on your SWM/DECA network and a H21 hooked up via ethernet they could see each other.

The thing they were trying to get at is the H25 does not have an ethernet port, so you have to use DECA in order to use it with Whole Home DVR. If all of your other receivers were already hooked up using ethernet, and you didn't have a DECA adapter the H25 would not be able to see your other receivers. Adding this Broadband DECA would bridge the two networks and start letting the H25 see the others.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#68 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 June 2011 - 04:36 PM

Does the H25 come with the component video dongle?


Yes and No .. It's my understanding that the Retail units (SolidSignal, etc.) will in fact include the component cable. I suspect DIRECTV or other installers should have them on the truck for installation if necessary .. although your mileage may vary.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#69 OFFLINE   ilikehd2011

ilikehd2011

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2011

Posted 10 June 2011 - 07:34 PM

looks like it's available now at solid signal. $99.99

#70 OFFLINE   Valve1138

Valve1138

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2008

Posted 11 June 2011 - 06:03 AM

Excellent.

Does anyone have the actual dimensions of this? I suppose they would be in the First Look.

edit: Was their a first look for the H25? Couldn't find one via search.

#71 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,081 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 11 June 2011 - 06:17 AM

Excellent.

Does anyone have the actual dimensions of this? I suppose they would be in the First Look.

edit: Was their a first look for the H25? Couldn't find one via search.


Width: 8.66" Height: 1.12" Depth: 5.75" Weight: 1.19lbs

DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#72 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,480 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 11 June 2011 - 07:05 AM

Excellent.

Does anyone have the actual dimensions of this? I suppose they would be in the First Look.

edit: Was their a first look for the H25? Couldn't find one via search.


All the First Looks are located in this forum, H25 included.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#73 OFFLINE   geaux tigers

geaux tigers

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 550 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 11 June 2011 - 11:01 AM

Yes and No .. It's my understanding that the Retail units (SolidSignal, etc.) will in fact include the component cable. I suspect DIRECTV or other installers should have them on the truck for installation if necessary .. although your mileage may vary.


Thanks. My in-laws H25 is being shipped to them and I will let you and everyone else know if the dongle is included.

#74 OFFLINE   utlimate_ed

utlimate_ed

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2009

Posted 13 June 2011 - 11:57 AM

I did get an H25 as the stand alone receiver. It is indeed a small little box. Did not get a component cable dongle with it. However, I have no need for one. All my new receivers came from the installer's truck.

#75 OFFLINE   Vette1992

Vette1992

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2006

Posted 13 June 2011 - 01:32 PM

Mine has already shipped from Solid Signal. Since I am local to them I should have it tomorrow!

Dwayne




Protected By... spam firewall...And...